Customer Reviews for

CHASING AMANDA (Mystery/Suspense)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Fascinating Read!

Chasing Amanda is a well-crafted suspense novel. In this page-turner, Melissa Foster accurately describes the emotional turmoil suffered by a mother who has tragically lost a child. In Chasing Amanda, Ms. Foster weaves a complex tale by capturing the fragility of severa...
Chasing Amanda is a well-crafted suspense novel. In this page-turner, Melissa Foster accurately describes the emotional turmoil suffered by a mother who has tragically lost a child. In Chasing Amanda, Ms. Foster weaves a complex tale by capturing the fragility of several poignant relationships – wife and husband, mother and son, sister and brother, neighbors and friends—into one riveting main theme. Brava Melissa Foster, Chasing Amanda is a superb novel.

posted by Dr-BE on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Chasing my Wasted Time Back

One would have to assume that if anyone gave this book, "Chasing Amanda," five stars they are not avid readers. Foster committed the perfect crime by throwing a whole bunch of characters into a book, but not developing them fully, and by making the main character, Molly...
One would have to assume that if anyone gave this book, "Chasing Amanda," five stars they are not avid readers. Foster committed the perfect crime by throwing a whole bunch of characters into a book, but not developing them fully, and by making the main character, Molly, a dysfunctional, "psychic" idiot who doesn't speak well for the world of clairvoyancy. I have never disliked a main character so much in my life! This book was selected for a book club; otherwise, I would have stopped reading it. The entire book seems to have been written by someone with rampant ADHD who hasn't taken their medication--meaning the content was all over the place. Our book club selected this book as a mystery, but it behooves me to say that Foster spills the beans on the guilty party pretty quickly, or I am used to reading thrillers and mysteries that leave me guessing. Then you just follow along reading the insanity of all parties involved. As a matter of fact, a pastor keeps a challenged child locked up in the house or cellar for twenty years because that's what the family wanted, and she finds two (2) other people ("friends") who are willing to assist her keep this child from society. I can see why this book is print on demand and you have to pay for it first...

posted by Tutor4AZ on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    A Fascinating Read!

    Chasing Amanda is a well-crafted suspense novel. In this page-turner, Melissa Foster accurately describes the emotional turmoil suffered by a mother who has tragically lost a child. In Chasing Amanda, Ms. Foster weaves a complex tale by capturing the fragility of several poignant relationships – wife and husband, mother and son, sister and brother, neighbors and friends—into one riveting main theme. Brava Melissa Foster, Chasing Amanda is a superb novel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Chasing Amanda is a riveting story. Molly Tanner, unknowingly witnesses the kidnapping of a young girl who is later found dead. The horrid tragedy haunts her nine years later, as her mind is flooded with memories and regrets when another young girl is missing. Molly experiences the knowing, a form of ESP that gives her clues as to the condition and whereabouts of this little girl. She risks everything--her marriage, credibility, and even her life-to rescue her alive. Pros: This book is very well written. The characters are developed nicely, the storyline is consistent and the pacing is fast and mesmeric. The imagery is fabulous. I could picture the scenes quite clearly. It has been quite some time since I've enjoyed a book this much. Cons: Can't think of a single one. Overall: Highly recommended. I was totally captivated by this story and its characters. I also have Melissa Foster's novel, Megan's Way, in my TBR stack. I look forward to reading it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Phychic regret fuels thriller in "Chasing Amanda"

    Without cracking open a page, I knew "Chasing Amanda" was going to be a great book. I had recently read Melissa Foster's "Megan's Way" and was so wrapped up in her writing style, that I knew she wouldn't disappoint. She didn't, in fact, I found it difficult to decide which book I loved more!


    "Chasing Amanda" is a book about regret, redemption, "gifts", the balancing of family and doing what's right, and so much more. Melissa is a master storyteller who can lead us masterfully from the horrors of a child's abduction to the resolution of another's with the finesse of a writer whose work is far beyond her years. She will have you drawn in like a lamb and have your emotions twisting inside of you before you know what's hit you!


    Characterization is key in this novel and it is achieved to such a fine point that each person is "living" and breathing in our minds. My favorite, of course, is Molly who has to live with seeing and not helping with a child's abduction. Molly's paranormal gift of "seeing and knowing" help her in her journey to understand many things, but it also makes some things in life more complex. As we are drawn into the complexities, and we're given different perspectives through the stories of different people that Melissa sets up, we struggle to sort out who the real villain is!


    Ms Foster's ability to keep the ending a secret from the reader is a lot of the powerfulness of her novel. The suspense will kill you! In a good way... One of the fascinating elements of the novel is Molly's relationship to the small town she finds herself in. We can understand this small town mentality...the secretive ways that so many townspeople hold dear...and the barriers to newcomers they put up. To live with the resistance of these people lends a tension to the story that works.


    Melissa is at the top of her game in writing this suspense thriller. It's great fun to read, engrossing and exciting with many characters that will grab you and claim your attention. The element of not knowing who the "bad guy" is until Molly finds out in the end, is wonderful because it keeps us working on the mystery.


    There are lots of women mystery/suspense writers, not so many with the element of paranormal...and not so many who come close to writing as well as Melissa Foster. "Chasing Amanda" has already won several awards for best women's novel, suspense/thriller, paranormal. You better check it out, soon!


    5 stars for a great book and an author with a great future!


    Deborah/TheBookishDame

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Great Book!

    After reading Megan's Way, I knew this would be another terrific read. I was kept on my toes the entire book as you try to figure out who is the kidnapper. This author is great at keeping you wanting to read and read and not stop. I look forward to many more books by Melissa Foster.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Loved it!!!!!

    Highly recommend it. I loved it. I found it hard to put down. It had a twist at the end that I didn't expect.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    This is a CAN'T MISS READ!

    "Chasing Amanda"by Melissa Foster

    It is now eight years ago since Molly witnessed the abduction of a little girl in a Walmart parking lot. Molly has had the hardest time getting over this traumatic situation, as she felt she could have done more to help this little girl. Molly, her husband Cole, and her son, Erik, decided to move away from Philadelphia, the town where this occurred eight years ago, to a new town, called Boyd, for a fresh start for Molly. Here they are making a new life with new people, a new home, and new surroundings. Molly wasn't running away from what happened, but it was a part of her and of the families healing, as it had affected them, as well, with Molly's distress.
    A local Pastor, Pastor Lett, has also helped Molly work through the traumatic situation Molly witnessed. Pastor Lett called Molly's recovery process, 'cleansing the chaos from her mind'. Molly could live with that, and her visits were getting less and less with her. Molly was making progress. However, Molly still had visions. Molly called them "The Knowing". These visions Molly had were not happening very often at the moment, thankfully
    Every morning Molly goes for a run through the woods. This one morning she had a vision of a little girl named Tracey being abducted. When Molly returned from her run, she found out it was true, and "The Knowing" was back. The visions were back.
    This book takes us through all of the search efforts to find Tracey. No one could find her, and Molly continued having "The Knowing" haunting her. She kept getting visions of Tracey over and over as to what was happening to her, but couldn't quite make the details out clear enough. Molly was being hard on herself about seeing the abduction back in Philadelphia again, and made a pact with herself this time she was going to try to help more with this abduction of Tracey. This time she was not going to keep so quiet about what she saw and knew.
    The visions kept coming to her. She couldn't make them out clear enough yet to be able to tell exactly what and where Tracey might be.
    Molly did eventually go to the police and told them a little bit of what her capabilities were. She was laughed at by some, but taken more seriously by one of the Officers.
    This story twists and turns and goes in every different direction than what you might expect it to go through. I thought I knew who the abductor was, and how the entire story plays out. I was completely fooled and shocked as the story unfolded and all the answers came out.
    Melissa Foster's masterful writing talent weaves a story that pulls you in and keeps you reading right to the end. You can't 'just' put her books down because you want to know how everything unfolds. This book 'IS' a "Can't Miss" read!
    Melissa Foster's other book she has written, "Megan's Way" is being made into a movie at this moment. I can't see why this book has not been chosen to be made into a movie as well. Melissa Foster is an author to watch. Her masterful writing abilities result in amazing stories. I look forward to reading more of what she writes. I can't wait to read her next book
    This book was "FREE" from the Author, Melissa Foster, in exchange to read this book and write a review about it. It is NOT required for my review I write to be either positive or negative, but, "of my own opinion." I was NOT provided with "ANY" monies to accept, read or write the review. Following FTC guidelines.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Loved it

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    This book seems interesting

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    Do you know the feeling when you're reading a book you love and

    Do you know the feeling when you're reading a book you love and you want for it to end because you need to find out what happens? However, something tragic occurs once you get what you want: you have no more book to experience, wonderful world, vivid characters, twisted storylines ... only a resonating message.

    This is what I feel about Chasing Amanda by Melissa Foster.

    If you want to publish traditionally or self-publish, Chasing Amanda is a novel that you must read to enrich your storytelling. As writers, you can study this book for its magical story, the three-dimensional characters, and writing style (which is enchanting).

    Chasing Amanda follows the story of Molly Tanner. Molly carries the guilt and devastation from when she witnessed a child's abduction, and only days later realised that the child's body she heard on the news was Amanda-the girl she let be abducted.

    Nine years later, another girl, Tracey Porter, disappears. Molly can't separate herself from this case for two reasons. She feels connected to Tracey because of Amanda. Second, Molly is seeing visions of things that tie her to Tracey. The visions bring her closer to what might have happened to the innocent girl. They become stronger, pushing her determination further.

    Molly won't let Tracey be taken like Amanda was. And although she knows her marriage might fall apart because of the irrational things her husband thinks she's doing, Molly knows she never had a chance to walk away-she must help find Tracey.

    That's the book description, the necessary part of any book review, but I want you to take away more than that. I love reading book reviews that inspire me, make me want more of the book because of how it stands as a piece of art, a story, a message, a show of courage, heroism, love, hate ... I hope this review shows you how much more this book is than a `story'.

    Chasing Amanda will stay with you. It plays out like a movie, but it has the beauty of artwork. Melissa Foster deserves all 240-odd five- and four-star reviews from Goodreads for this novel. The narrative is excellently crafted (yes, I envy her talent massively), the characters are deep and real, the story-W-O-W- is gripping, twisted, and it'll shock you.

    I wish I read this book a long, long time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1