Customer Reviews for

The Christian Science Monitor Magazine

Average Rating 4.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(228)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Yea! I've been waiting for the Monitor to go back online

I'm very pleased to be able to read the Monitor on my iPad. When the online version is as good-looking as the print version, I'll be even happier. I wish there were an easy to use index since I never read the print version from front to back. Anyhow, it's great to read ...
I'm very pleased to be able to read the Monitor on my iPad. When the online version is as good-looking as the print version, I'll be even happier. I wish there were an easy to use index since I never read the print version from front to back. Anyhow, it's great to read you online! Thanks.

posted by 6433841 on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Way too expensive

Let me think, $26 per year for the print edition delivered to my house, or $71.88 per year for the Nook ebook version. Hmmm, tough choice...

posted by 3356456 on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend - unbiased news reporting

    I always turn to this newspaper when I want truly unbiased news reporting. This publication mostly reports the stories that I happen to be interested in at any given moment. I like the organization of the material: it's easy to read, in-depth without being "too much information" on a topic. I trust this publication to be truthful and honest journalism. (That's refreshing these days.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Best and Most Balanced Reporting!

    This weekly news magazine is the best one on the market. It contains articles on national and international news, cultural matters, including films, beautiful photography, and more. It is not a religious magazine, but it does write from the standpoint of educating the reader and looking for ways to solve problems. It is the best way to get news!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Uplifting Journalism

    I read somewhere that the Christian Science Monitor focuses on being "solution based journalism". That is exactly why I read it and why I feel uplifted after reading every issue. Somehow the whole definition of the press' purpose in our country has changed over the years to being one that feels it should fan the fires of fear and traumas. I'd rather be the kind of person who looks for solutions to the world's problems and who celebrates others who are doing the same. The Christian Science Monitor gives me hope that our world has a chance of improving and progressing. Instead of feeling ashamed of being part of the human race, it makes me feel inspired by the efforts of my fellow man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Highly, highly recommended

    This is the wonderful and thoughtful antidote to all of the negative, sensationalist, vituperative media that we otherwise have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    The world is a better because of The Christian Science Monitor

    With honest, detailed, balanced, and in depth reporting, the Christian Science Monitor provides highly valued, accurate, and helpful information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    The best thing you can read!!

    If you want to know the real story behind the headlines--read the Monitor. It has the best balanced coverage of any news periodical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    The only unbiased newspaper left

    If you want to read unbiased reporting about events all over the world, and you want to know why what you're reading is important, and if you want to hear ideas about how to make the world a better place, subscribe to and read this newspaper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    best unbiased world reporting

    This newpaper was founded with the purpose "to bless all mankind". It presents worldwide topics and news information that any person may read and consider in order to be aware of the state of world thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Most Thorough, Interesting, Wide-ranging Coverage - Don't Miss It!

    In a world struggling against so many negatives, The Christian Science Monitor Magazine brings rays of hope, especially in its regular series of People Making a Difference. Turning thought to more peaceful and sometimes humorous issues, in the Home Forum section you'll find excellent warm-hearted essays from authors in different parts of the U.S., as well as a few from abroad - detailing moments of their everyday lives. The crossword puzzles are great, too. But the cover stories are the ones that grab your attention. Thoroughly researched and written with love and passion for the subjects, you'd be hard pressed to find better reporting anywhere. While you may occasionally disagree with some standpoints, as happens with any newspaper, you'll find the Monitor engaging, informative, and - especially - broadening, with its cadre of reporters contributing from all over the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Great Source of news!

    This magazine is the best for unbiased news of world, and US. I read it every week and love what they have to say about our current events going on .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Best newspaper ever

    I used to avoid the newspaper. Always bad news. But the CS Monitor does in depth reporting to a level that keeps them winning awards. If I could award them a prize, I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    my favorite newsmag

    It could be a little less secular ... really!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Excellent source for balanced presentation of international news

    What I appreciate about the Monitor is that it consistently provides an in-depth, balanced perspective of international and national news. Monitor writers strive to provide their readers with the information they need to understand what is going on in the world around them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Substantive reading

    The articles and commentaries cover a wide range of topics. I appreciate the worldwide scope and thoughtful tone of the magazine--covering such as economics, ecology, science, foreign relations, social issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Superb!

    Put this magazine at the top of your list if you are looking for informative, unbiased world news and articles spanning broad interests and age groups from early teens on up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Indispensable

    I've been a Monitor reader for many years, from the daily paper to today's weekly print version. I'm very happy they have expanded into the online world. I find the writing to be clear, rational, and above all civil. To me, it is an indispensable outlet, one I hope continues through my lifetime (and beyond!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    The very best source of news in the world

    The Monitor is probably the best news source in the world. It is for people who do not just want the "what" but also the "why." Its for people who want to read balanced journalism that does not attack or villify people but does expose behaviors and issues that create the problem. I can tell a source is balanced when sometimes I want to strangle the writers and other times I want to adopt them.

    This paper also gives readers new ways to think about the world through its creative and interesting approach to "features." And for those who want to pray each day for the world, it offers one article each edition with ideas about how we can support progress in the world through our prayers.

    No other paper/online news source offers the breadth and depth and fairness this news source offers its readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Thoughtful and balanced

    We look forward to reading the CSM every week and very much prefer the new weekly format the daily one. The articles draw on news from around the world and with a depth that few USA media outlets do (our other news sources are NPR, BBC, and Al Jezeera).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Balanced

    I always feel highly informed after reading any of the Christian Science Monitor's articles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Very much enjoyed!

    I find the Monitor a great source of objective and unsensationalized news reports that help me to understand why the events occurred, and how to understand them in the greater context as well as what their significance to my own life may be. I also like that the Monitor suggests possible solutions to problems facing the world, so that reading the news is not quite as disheartening as it used to be for me, and so that I can make intelligent and informed suggestions to my lawmakers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16