Customer Reviews for

The Christian Science Monitor Magazine

Average Rating 4.5
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Yea! I've been waiting for the Monitor to go back online

I'm very pleased to be able to read the Monitor on my iPad. When the online version is as good-looking as the print version, I'll be even happier. I wish there were an easy to use index since I never read the print version from front to back. Anyhow, it's great to read ...
I'm very pleased to be able to read the Monitor on my iPad. When the online version is as good-looking as the print version, I'll be even happier. I wish there were an easy to use index since I never read the print version from front to back. Anyhow, it's great to read you online! Thanks.

posted by 6433841 on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Way too expensive

Let me think, $26 per year for the print edition delivered to my house, or $71.88 per year for the Nook ebook version. Hmmm, tough choice...

posted by 3356456 on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Yea! I've been waiting for the Monitor to go back online

    I'm very pleased to be able to read the Monitor on my iPad. When the online version is as good-looking as the print version, I'll be even happier. I wish there were an easy to use index since I never read the print version from front to back. Anyhow, it's great to read you online! Thanks.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Great news source for citizens of the world

    I am an American and my husband is Chinese-American. We both love the Monitor's balanced, thorough, professional, unbiased coverage of world news. The Monitor is a great source of information about all kinds of topics, large and small. It helps us stay current in 2012, when trying to keep up with the overwhelming feed of news and information coming at us is, as they say, "like trying to drink from a fire hose."

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Excellent Source for Unbiased News

    The CSM provides thoughtful, balanced, and deep coverage of national and international events. The writing is outstanding and the topics are thought-provoking. It is a news source you can absolutely trust, which is rare in our world today.

    As always, this magazine provides clarity without sensationalism and highlights not only the many facets of the challenges our world faces, but what is being done to solve them.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Honest Reporting of the News

    I have received the Christian Science Monitor for years. I like the way that they report the news, but best of all, I like the pictures, because each picture tells a story in itself. I am happy that the Christian Science Monitor is now on E-Readers and that I can have it with me at all times. It is honest reporting of the news.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    More than just news, a helpful magazine/newspaper

    I believe part of the Monitor's mission is not just to report the news but in the case of bad news being proactive to show some potential solutions. I think Monitor writers and editors do this by highlighting how people are coping with what seems like a desperate situations and finding solutions. I like this because it doesn't leave you with the feeling that there is all kinds of bad in the world, but that hope and solutions are out there. I had a small experience with this about 20 years ago. It was during the time when the Soviet Union had just collapsed and there was a very real threat of widespread famine in Russia. A friend who worked as a program manager for a charitable foundation was tasked with delivering thousands of pounds of wheat to a orphanage in Russia. It appeared to be an impossible task and would very likely fail. However, at that time the Monitor published an article titled "North Dakota Farmers Send Aid to St. Petersburg". It was the perfect road map on how to get this food aid to the orphanage. Without the help of the wonderful people featured in this article the aid would never have reached the orphanage. It was a great article which to me highlights the solutions oriented nature of the Monitor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    The sanest news reporting on the planet!!!

    If you see the world as a puzzle, there exists no better guide through the maze of dissonant voices than The Christian Science Monitor whose journalists are not only able to both articulate and synthesize opposing positions, but also neutralize extremes all the while diminishing no one. For over 57 years of my personal readership (from age 13 to 71) the Christian Science monitor has sustained my steadfast belief that balanced news interpretation is possible. Only the format has changed, not the mission.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Reliably informative.

    As a university professor teaching critical thinking, I rely on this publication for non-biased, courageous (their reporter was captured a year or so ago!), and current information about world events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    High Quality Real "World" News

    The Christian Science Monitor has something for everyone. Originally a "newspaper" now a news magazine. The Monitor has its own overseas news bureaus in many countries and parts of the world. The Monitor covers countries you rarely see in the news anywhere else. Great section on tech issues and real people making a difference all over the world. Tells the story behind the story and examine trends in thought on a wide variety of topics. Amazing worldwide photo essays. Great buy in print or on-line. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    High Quality, Unbiased, Really Interesting Reporting

    The Christian Science Monitor Magazine delivers well-researched, balanced news stories that help me understand not only the facts, but the significance of developments. I often find that the Monitor includes aspects of a story that I don't see in other news reporting. I have found over many years that the reporting is accurate and unbiased. I especially like the fact that it has a "whole world" view, reporting on events and developments that are significant to people everywhere. I guess it's because of the Monitor's long history and excellent reputation that its journalists have excellent access to many sources, and they're good at getting interviews with key people and insights on what's happening beneath the surface. The Monitor also often reports how people or organizations are working on solutions to problems and includes ways to support them, like links to their websites. I also love the other columns and features that cover a range of interesting and timely ideas and developments, from personal finance to cultural topics --books, movies, art, music, etc. It's a good read, and makes me feel not only more knowledgeable about what's going on in the world, but more engaged and empowered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Excellent Source for News - Read it!

    The Monitor is an exceptional publication in a time of greatly diminishing journalism. The editors and writers take an analytical view of what's going on in the world - not just reporting facts (no longer possible in our 24/7 and online news worlds) - and offer a depth of perspective and breadth of coverage that's difficult to find elsewhere. There are also few publications that cover international issues before they become crises. Reading the Monitor every week gives me a good picture on what's happening in African and South American countries on an ongoing basis, not just when a hurricane strikes or a war breaks out and threatens Americans' personal interests. Well written and balanced, this is a news outlet that can make us all more thoughtful global citizens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2015

    Best News Magazine

    By far the best, right in the middle newsweekly. Excellent international articles. A little more than the other weekly news magazines but you pay a little more for a lot better journalism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You've read the rest, read the best!

    CSM is exactly what I've come to expect in journalism. Don't be fooled by their name, they have the best world coverage in the world. On parallel with their larger peers (NYT, BBC, etc). You get an unbiased look at the world, I challenge you to find a better newspaper. I'm confident you will not. I am excited this is on the nook touch, but to take full advantage its best read on the nook color.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Fairest of the fair

    I have read the Monitor for thirty years, and have watched it change from a black-and-and white "fat" daily to a sleek, succinct 4-color publication--along with various electronic formats. Although its format has changed, it has kept the hallmarks for which I cherish it--as balanced reporting as one can expect, a keen eye for trends as well as a sharp, clear awareness of the details that contribute to trends, and a rock-solid belief that we--humans, that is--can, and should do better. Although the amount of content has certainly changed, the content itself has remained the same. Let's face it, people, much of "daily news" is blather--words to fill up space. The Monitor has never engaged in blather, and the honed version that I receive every week is a polished, well-crafted jewel, dense with information and thoughtful commentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend - unbiased news reporting

    I always turn to this newspaper when I want truly unbiased news reporting. This publication mostly reports the stories that I happen to be interested in at any given moment. I like the organization of the material: it's easy to read, in-depth without being "too much information" on a topic. I trust this publication to be truthful and honest journalism. (That's refreshing these days.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Best and Most Balanced Reporting!

    This weekly news magazine is the best one on the market. It contains articles on national and international news, cultural matters, including films, beautiful photography, and more. It is not a religious magazine, but it does write from the standpoint of educating the reader and looking for ways to solve problems. It is the best way to get news!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Uplifting Journalism

    I read somewhere that the Christian Science Monitor focuses on being "solution based journalism". That is exactly why I read it and why I feel uplifted after reading every issue. Somehow the whole definition of the press' purpose in our country has changed over the years to being one that feels it should fan the fires of fear and traumas. I'd rather be the kind of person who looks for solutions to the world's problems and who celebrates others who are doing the same. The Christian Science Monitor gives me hope that our world has a chance of improving and progressing. Instead of feeling ashamed of being part of the human race, it makes me feel inspired by the efforts of my fellow man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Highly, highly recommended

    This is the wonderful and thoughtful antidote to all of the negative, sensationalist, vituperative media that we otherwise have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    The world is a better because of The Christian Science Monitor

    With honest, detailed, balanced, and in depth reporting, the Christian Science Monitor provides highly valued, accurate, and helpful information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    The best thing you can read!!

    If you want to know the real story behind the headlines--read the Monitor. It has the best balanced coverage of any news periodical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    The only unbiased newspaper left

    If you want to read unbiased reporting about events all over the world, and you want to know why what you're reading is important, and if you want to hear ideas about how to make the world a better place, subscribe to and read this newspaper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12