Customer Reviews for

Halo: First Strike

Average Rating 4.5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(254)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Deeply Thrilling; Deeply Insightful

Eric Nylund's thrilling sequel to Halo: The Flood relates the cosmic struggles of the genetically enhanced super-soldier known as the Master Chief as he fights his way back to Earth following the destruction of a gargantuan alien construct known as Halo. Along the way h...
Eric Nylund's thrilling sequel to Halo: The Flood relates the cosmic struggles of the genetically enhanced super-soldier known as the Master Chief as he fights his way back to Earth following the destruction of a gargantuan alien construct known as Halo. Along the way he meets many other humans in a similar predicament, such as the tough-as-nails UNSC marine, Sergeant Avery Johnson. These two men become the conduits for a theme that not only applies to the futuristic galaxy of Halo but also the segmented and earthbound society of today- the value of individual life in the light of the greater good. A military-style location and date heading at the start of each chapter helps not only with keeping track of events light-years from each other, but also sets a no-nonsense mood that is quite fitting for this book. Also, the author uses the Master Chief's own thoughts, the reactions of others toward him, and a flashback to masterfully paint a complete picture of this soldier as not just a freak of human necessity but a cool, calculating, killer as well as an ethical, compassionate child who was stolen from his parents and raised to defend humanity. Thrilling ground engagements and space battles against technologically superior aliens create a sense of urgency of the Master Chief's purpose as well as making the book very suspenseful, colorful, and exciting. One of the few things that I disliked about this book also greatly contributes to the value of the novel as a whole. Throughout the story, many brave souls are lost in their dedication to protecting humanity, which illustrates the book's main concept of individual life versus the greater good. Though this does improve the story, one cannot help but feel loss at the deaths of the characters that have been so positively portrayed by the author. In this book, anybody who is interested in what goes on in the Halo universe beyond the games will find a setting that fits seamlessly into the franchise. More specifically, First Strike is a direct bridge between the stories of Halo and Halo 2, which enhances the experience of playing from one game to another. For anyone who has enjoyed this book or any of the Halo games, I would also recommend Halo: Contact Harvest, Halo: The Fall of Reach, Halo: The Flood, Halo: Ghosts of Onyx, and Halo Evolutions.

posted by GomesDT on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

To below

Definitley halo4 is so freaking awesome But my favorite is the SAW. That is badass Ps assassins creed 3: you suck!

posted by 16928071 on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Deeply Thrilling; Deeply Insightful

    Eric Nylund's thrilling sequel to Halo: The Flood relates the cosmic struggles of the genetically enhanced super-soldier known as the Master Chief as he fights his way back to Earth following the destruction of a gargantuan alien construct known as Halo. Along the way he meets many other humans in a similar predicament, such as the tough-as-nails UNSC marine, Sergeant Avery Johnson. These two men become the conduits for a theme that not only applies to the futuristic galaxy of Halo but also the segmented and earthbound society of today- the value of individual life in the light of the greater good. A military-style location and date heading at the start of each chapter helps not only with keeping track of events light-years from each other, but also sets a no-nonsense mood that is quite fitting for this book. Also, the author uses the Master Chief's own thoughts, the reactions of others toward him, and a flashback to masterfully paint a complete picture of this soldier as not just a freak of human necessity but a cool, calculating, killer as well as an ethical, compassionate child who was stolen from his parents and raised to defend humanity. Thrilling ground engagements and space battles against technologically superior aliens create a sense of urgency of the Master Chief's purpose as well as making the book very suspenseful, colorful, and exciting. One of the few things that I disliked about this book also greatly contributes to the value of the novel as a whole. Throughout the story, many brave souls are lost in their dedication to protecting humanity, which illustrates the book's main concept of individual life versus the greater good. Though this does improve the story, one cannot help but feel loss at the deaths of the characters that have been so positively portrayed by the author. In this book, anybody who is interested in what goes on in the Halo universe beyond the games will find a setting that fits seamlessly into the franchise. More specifically, First Strike is a direct bridge between the stories of Halo and Halo 2, which enhances the experience of playing from one game to another. For anyone who has enjoyed this book or any of the Halo games, I would also recommend Halo: Contact Harvest, Halo: The Fall of Reach, Halo: The Flood, Halo: Ghosts of Onyx, and Halo Evolutions.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    I bought the book very exsiting

    Hey its me again Ryan Stine . I finshed the sample and i got the book and so far it awesome its very action packed and it has a lot of supenc in it ( im not a great speller). This is one of the best books in my library. Ps. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah i didnt know that master chief was going to be in here and i dont have the game halo reach or an xbox 360 but i love halo.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    AWP Awesome

    If the Covenant read this,they wouldn't be messing with our Spartans.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Love it

    Good story line, exxtremely active information and well written. I could not put the book down!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Assasins creed is for noobs

    Halo rocks!!Assasins creed sucks!Play Halo or call of duty:p

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    ABOVE AND BEYOND

    Im a big fan of the halo series and this book is a really good sequel to "the fall of reach" and "the flood". I would highly recomend this book to anyone that likes action. The book is very discriptive and really puts you in the scene. It kept me turning the pages. When i finally finished, i was deeply impressed with the story line.

    The author really makes each character in this book specail in some shape or form... master chief isnt the only main character. EVERY SINGLE character that is introduced whether good or bad, the author gives the man, woman, or alien feeling and life. Its like watching a movie in your head.

    Over all... this book is a must have

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I ment if i could put 200000000000000000000000000000000 stars I would listen to this a sniper blows up a transport by shooting an elites plasma HA!!!!!! :) :0

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Halo4

    I like "ACTION!"

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    hella frekin awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Its the best book anybody can read . Master chief always kicks butt and never loses

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Halo: First Strike

    First Strike is one of the best books I have ever read because compared to the other books in the series you couldn't tell which one is best!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Contest

    Who would win in a battle master chief or two covenent hunters anwser in comments

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    By michael curran

    This took me on ann a adventure it was so thrilling that couldnt put it down the moment picked it up i read in every place i would go to the book was so good that i lost two days of sleep over it and after slept for a day i read the rest of the series if your a halo lover then join me on face book at tamm yb curran i post hourly updates on halo feeds

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Best Book Eveeerrrrrrrrrr

    Awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Very good

    I like Sgt. Johnson. Hes funny and BA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    To below

    Thats because reach is totally inacurate. Halsey didnt find out about spartan IIIs until she was fixin up Kelly. No spartan 3 escorted her to castle base. And halsey gave cortana to john, not noble six

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    J 117

    Attention, this is master chief please respond!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    COD+XBL: Children's Online Daycare

    Don't be an idiot. Play Halo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    shambra

    Im back

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Nick to shamba

    No 3some

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    The Game Itself

    Halo is a cool game series and the book is cool



    ILikeCheese00

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16