Customer Reviews for

Colours In Blackness: A New Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This YA novel reminded me a bit of the Marvel ‘X-Men&rsquo

This YA novel reminded me a bit of the Marvel ‘X-Men’ series in that it’s about a group of ‘gifted’ teens who are sent to a special school to help them learn to hone their powers. The main character, Laura, suffers from terrible migraine he...
This YA novel reminded me a bit of the Marvel ‘X-Men’ series in that it’s about a group of ‘gifted’ teens who are sent to a special school to help them learn to hone their powers. The main character, Laura, suffers from terrible migraine headaches and during one of these episodes she sees a horrific vision which then comes to pass. Apparently she can predict the future and so she is sent to the school so that she can learn to control her visions and potentially avert disasters from happening. There are lots of interesting characters at the school, and of course, Laura and her friends begin to suspect that everything is not above board. Without giving it away, danger and intrigue ensue. There is also a healthy injection of sexuality in that Laura and one of the orderlies are attracted to one another, culminating in a relationship. This aspect of the book may not sit well with some, but I think most teen girls will enjoy this book. It’s part of a series, too, which is always popular with teens.

posted by Tracykrausswrtr on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good read!

A fast-paced story sbout a group of teenagers with extraordinary skills, this book will keep you entertained til the final paragraph. There's a few spelling and grammer issues, but still a goid story. I'll be reading more by this author.

posted by WendyWe on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good read!

    A fast-paced story sbout a group of teenagers with extraordinary skills, this book will keep you entertained til the final paragraph. There's a few spelling and grammer issues, but still a goid story. I'll be reading more by this author.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    This YA novel reminded me a bit of the Marvel ‘X-Men&rsquo

    This YA novel reminded me a bit of the Marvel ‘X-Men’ series in that it’s about a group of ‘gifted’ teens who are sent to a special school to help them learn to hone their powers. The main character, Laura, suffers from terrible migraine headaches and during one of these episodes she sees a horrific vision which then comes to pass. Apparently she can predict the future and so she is sent to the school so that she can learn to control her visions and potentially avert disasters from happening. There are lots of interesting characters at the school, and of course, Laura and her friends begin to suspect that everything is not above board. Without giving it away, danger and intrigue ensue. There is also a healthy injection of sexuality in that Laura and one of the orderlies are attracted to one another, culminating in a relationship. This aspect of the book may not sit well with some, but I think most teen girls will enjoy this book. It’s part of a series, too, which is always popular with teens.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Really good book!

    Just wish that the other books were free too so that I could read them!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Awesome

    Personally i thought this book was awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Great

    A really good book that I flew right threw. Cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Never met its potenial

    Thus story had some goo potentia but te writting quality is terrible. The plot is constantly knterrupted by lustful teenage hormlnes that have nithjng to wth the story itself. And why is veryone so madly in love wit the main character not to mention so emotional?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Mostly enjoyable

    I liked most of the characters in this book. My main problem was the large amount of typos which annoys me to no end. The other problem is having been a teenage girl and a bit boy crazy I still never thought of sex this much! This girls thoughts and the frequency of them would have been better suited to one of the male characters. Since the girl is 18 I don't have too much of an objection to her affair with the orderly Laden.
    Now I am going to start book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Where is book 3?

    Where is book 3?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Ahhh

    The notetoselfs made me want to punch the athor they were very irritating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Interesting novel

    Intriguing novel with interesting plot. This appears to be a series, and I will probably buy it. The majority of characters appear to be teen/ early twenties but this is a novel that has some sensual scenes hat is not appropriate for pre- teens or some teens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Not bad

    The story line was neat. It kept me reading and i am curious to read the other ones. It can get a bit confusing and all over the place , but i think after reading the following books it can make it all fall into place. Overall, not a bad read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Review

    Wanted to like this as it seemed to have an interesting concept, altho, not an original one (reminded me of Xmen). But even without the needed editing this was a bit all over the place. The authors concept of time is crazy - you think the story spreads out over a length of time to substantiate the closeness of the kids bond but as its written its only a matter of a couple weeks at most. And what kind of parents ship their kid off with strangers after one vision? With the dialog and reactions between the kids it should be aimed at young 'tween readers but due to the constant sexual references/events its not appropriate. But seems to silly for YA readers or adults. The story ends somewhat odd and abrupt, forcing you to buy the next books. Unfortunately, after reading this one I have no intetest in following this silly story further

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Anmous

    I HATE THIS BOOK IT WAS REATERD STUPID WHAT WAS THE AUTHOR THINKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I do wish a better job proofreading had been done. Too much rel

    I do wish a better job proofreading had been done. Too much reliance on spell checking perhaps. The story itself is really interesting and I don't think this author should have trouble finding a publisher! The book is really interesting in the abilities it shows and the way the people with those abilities handle themselves. No real superiority over others; just helpfulness. Thanks for a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    I gave this book a 2 because it didnt go into detail and it skips from one sene to the other over all it was confusing

    Way to confusingly all over the place

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1