Customer Reviews for

Consumer Reports

Average Rating 3.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Get It Now!

This is my first magazine on my Nook Color. Its just like having the real magazine. The index helps jump to the content. It is easy to zoom to see the rating charts. The ArticleView feature allows you to pull up a separate window to read text just like a Nook book....
This is my first magazine on my Nook Color. Its just like having the real magazine. The index helps jump to the content. It is easy to zoom to see the rating charts. The ArticleView feature allows you to pull up a separate window to read text just like a Nook book. You can also zoom to read the text. This month's edition has SUV and Tablet reviews. They should throw in the Nook Color for the Tablet review! Great job CR and B&N.

posted by ChagrinDaddy on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Biased and unreliable reviews

Every product I have bought on CR's recommendation, I have not liked, including a top-rated crib that was recalled last year. They're biased towards Asian products, esp. those from South Korea. Their website also wrote a negative preview of the NOOKcolor without having ...
Every product I have bought on CR's recommendation, I have not liked, including a top-rated crib that was recalled last year. They're biased towards Asian products, esp. those from South Korea. Their website also wrote a negative preview of the NOOKcolor without having actually touched the thing!

posted by BostonLiberal on December 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Biased and unreliable reviews

    Every product I have bought on CR's recommendation, I have not liked, including a top-rated crib that was recalled last year. They're biased towards Asian products, esp. those from South Korea. Their website also wrote a negative preview of the NOOKcolor without having actually touched the thing!

    20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Informative but not as unbiased as they would have you think

    I enjoy reading Consumer Reports. However, I have disagreed with some of their reviews. I once saw a review of the car I owned and it listed adequate acceleration as one of the disadvantages for the car I owned, but I found my car pretty peppy. I have also had products that I had bad experiences with getting high marks and recommendations. Although they claim they are unbiased, I do find some of their reviews biased, but that could be because you are seeing the reviewers bias. But overall, they do a pretty good job. The only real issue I have with the B&N NookMagazine subscription is that it costs more per issue than ordering the physical magazine. This does not make much sense. A digital version should be cheaper because there are no printing or postage costs. Perhaps Consumer Reports should call B&N (and Amazon too) out for this.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Get It Now!

    This is my first magazine on my Nook Color. Its just like having the real magazine. The index helps jump to the content. It is easy to zoom to see the rating charts. The ArticleView feature allows you to pull up a separate window to read text just like a Nook book. You can also zoom to read the text. This month's edition has SUV and Tablet reviews. They should throw in the Nook Color for the Tablet review! Great job CR and B&N.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    not your newstand subscription

    I tried to log into cr website. Wasted much time nogo.
    called customer service. On hold 12 minutes after 20 minutes told nook subscription does not cover on line access it would be $30 more per year. Tried to cancel subscription. Told to do it iver nook site. Am in the process of doing. It is difficult and time consuming ive got 45 minutes into it and still havent cancelled
    A big pain

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    no option to receive free nook copy with print subscription

    signed up for this on a free 14 day trial, but looks like I got charged for the copy instead. There is supposed to be a free e - edition with the print copy, but doesn't seem to offer that option once the subscription is started. Have tried figuring this out from the consumer reports web page and here, with no luck. Just seems like more work than this is worth to sort out, so easier to simply cancel, and lose the $2 for the one edition of the mag. Even writing this review is not going well, gives an error message and won't allow me to submit the review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Clear, Concise and Unbiased

    Consumers Union, the company behind Consumer Reports, has been reviewing products since the late 1940s. Since they accept no advertising and always purchase the reviewed items, they are completely and uniquely without bias. They use their extensive internal testing labs and large in-house staff to perform their professional reviews. They collect repair and reliability data from their membership, using this data to inform their reviews. Many have accused them of bias, but none have withstood the ensuing court challenge.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Great Magazine For Nook Tablet

    "Consumer Reports" works well on my Nook Tablet. I can see each page in each original format and "zoom in" to read graphs and charts. And, as a benefit for my aging eyes, the text of each article is available in a large print format by just clicking on a tab at the top of the page.

    Decades ago, I would have stacks of old Consumer Report issues around the house so that when it was time to buy a new TV, I could look up the TV test results. With the Nook app, I can carry all the old issues with my on my Nook Tablet, and even bring my Nook with me when I go shopping to check the ratings of items I am looking at in a store.

    I have the old seven inch size tablet. I am guessing that Consumer Reports looks even better on the new nine inch size Nook HD+ table because it would not be necessary to zoom in to read graphs and charts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    couldn't do without Consumer Reports

    Now I have the full articles on my Nook, no data use if I have concerns while shopping.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Consumer Reports/Tablets, Cameras ,Tvs,etc.

    I canceled this because it didn't have the information I needed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Dosent work on PC!

    really? common!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Consumer Reports

    Since I am getting the e-magazine, why don't you send me the magazine in the mail. Also, why can't I use the website and log in on my pc to read the ones on my nook or have a member number on the subscription? A good idea!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Almost the same

    As a whole, the electronic version seems just as good as the physical version. You can zoom in on pictures, focus only on the articles, and still get the same information. Would definitely buy again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    cool

    i like it.. it is very helpful

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Weird

    I learned so much about fast food stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Terrible online version

    Just about useless, a complete ripoff. You may as well just scan the original magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    A very buggy version.

    This was my 926th purchase for Nook, it is a pitiful edition of magazine. A Nook customer since the beginning this magazine is indicative of today's poor Nook experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    DISAPPOINTING

    Not as good as I remember it being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Hard to read on my Nook

    The only reason I canceled the subscription is because it was to hard to read on my small Nook. I do like the magazine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Consumer reports magazine

    very good,i'm quite impressed with reviews of the tablets and ereaders. gives you all the facts and info you need,definately get this. pages could be bigger though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    I like it

    Makes that christmas list cooler

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10