Customer Reviews for

The Cabinet of Curiosities (Special Agent Pendergast Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Very very good book

The best of the first three by far and I liked the first two just fine. Very interesting plot, with Pendergast at his best and more of a developed character now. It will leave you scampering for 'Still Life with Crows,' and then on to 'Brimstone,' where things really '...
The best of the first three by far and I liked the first two just fine. Very interesting plot, with Pendergast at his best and more of a developed character now. It will leave you scampering for 'Still Life with Crows,' and then on to 'Brimstone,' where things really 'heat up.'

posted by Anonymous on February 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

One of the most annoying books I have ever read.

I really wanted to like this book but there were two BIG problems i had with it. The biggest was the new main character. Pendergast becomes the main hero of the series in this book and I can't stand him. The main "FBI Agent" has no boss, is rich, drives around with a ch...
I really wanted to like this book but there were two BIG problems i had with it. The biggest was the new main character. Pendergast becomes the main hero of the series in this book and I can't stand him. The main "FBI Agent" has no boss, is rich, drives around with a chauffeur, can apparently time travel through his imagination, knows EVERYTHING, not just has several hobbies he has studied, he seems to know EVERYTHING, seems arrogant, and apparently has no faults. He is one of the most unlikeable characters I have ever come across. I mean why not just turn him into superman but get rid of kryptonite? (SPOILER) At one point after being gut shot by a .45, having his elbow shattered by the same .45, and still weak from being stabbed in the chest, he preforms surgery on himself. COME ON! I realize there is supposed to be some kind of supernatural element in these books but this character is just terrible.

The second big problem I had with the book is EVERY CHARACTER basically turns into the same character. From the security guard to the head of the museum of natural history every character is (even if sometimes secretly) either an opera fanatic, loves old poetry or "arts" that would be considered to be something only the upper class elitists of the city's population would know anything about or enjoy, and will at some point quote some obscure mantra or passage from a book that 99% of the world would have never heard of. The only thing that really seems to separate "good guys" from "bad guys" (Pendergast being the exception) is that the bad guys are always made out to be snobs. The only reason I finished this book was because I really liked the idea of the story. I am not going to bother continuing the series with Pendergast taking the lead. However I did like and do think that the first two books in the series Relic and Reliquary are both worth reading. Although in Reliquary Pendergast really seems to start coming into his own as a really annoying, and "to perfect" of a hero. If you like books where the main character has basically no faults and the secondary characters all seem to be the same character and recycled from previous books then this is the book for you.

posted by 7792745 on August 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Very very good book

    The best of the first three by far and I liked the first two just fine. Very interesting plot, with Pendergast at his best and more of a developed character now. It will leave you scampering for 'Still Life with Crows,' and then on to 'Brimstone,' where things really 'heat up.'

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    excellent

    I didn't hold out much hope for this book as the earlier two novels in the series proved to be a dissapoint, but i throughly enjoyed this novel. it was compelling and interesting. these guys write awesome thrillers and have captivated my interest.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    Thier best book by far

    I would have to say this is the best book they have written. I felt as if I was in the story, they did a great job at making this story suspensful. It was very creepy and I couldn't put it down. I am a fan of all of thier books, and I think they did a great job of describing the story. This is a great read for anyone who love these books and I definetly recommend reading this one.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    One of the scariest books I've read in a long time!

    The premise behind this book will really scare you...and make you think. More than Relic or Reliquary, Cabinet of Curiosities starts to give us a look at the Pendergast history, and the driving force behind all of Agent Pendergast's actions. Another great addition to the series that will keep you guessing until the very last pages!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    One of the most annoying books I have ever read.

    I really wanted to like this book but there were two BIG problems i had with it. The biggest was the new main character. Pendergast becomes the main hero of the series in this book and I can't stand him. The main "FBI Agent" has no boss, is rich, drives around with a chauffeur, can apparently time travel through his imagination, knows EVERYTHING, not just has several hobbies he has studied, he seems to know EVERYTHING, seems arrogant, and apparently has no faults. He is one of the most unlikeable characters I have ever come across. I mean why not just turn him into superman but get rid of kryptonite? (SPOILER) At one point after being gut shot by a .45, having his elbow shattered by the same .45, and still weak from being stabbed in the chest, he preforms surgery on himself. COME ON! I realize there is supposed to be some kind of supernatural element in these books but this character is just terrible.

    The second big problem I had with the book is EVERY CHARACTER basically turns into the same character. From the security guard to the head of the museum of natural history every character is (even if sometimes secretly) either an opera fanatic, loves old poetry or "arts" that would be considered to be something only the upper class elitists of the city's population would know anything about or enjoy, and will at some point quote some obscure mantra or passage from a book that 99% of the world would have never heard of. The only thing that really seems to separate "good guys" from "bad guys" (Pendergast being the exception) is that the bad guys are always made out to be snobs. The only reason I finished this book was because I really liked the idea of the story. I am not going to bother continuing the series with Pendergast taking the lead. However I did like and do think that the first two books in the series Relic and Reliquary are both worth reading. Although in Reliquary Pendergast really seems to start coming into his own as a really annoying, and "to perfect" of a hero. If you like books where the main character has basically no faults and the secondary characters all seem to be the same character and recycled from previous books then this is the book for you.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of Their Best

    I read this book and I loved it so much that I read it a second time. Preston and Child are some of my favourite writers and I would recommend them to anybody. They are some of the best writers and I love to reread all of their books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Fabulous and Exciting!

    Loved this book! I just finished it and it was the first of the Preston and Child books that I have read and I am currently adding all their books to my cart and buying them. It was fantastic, I was hooked from the first few pages. It was very interesting and captivating, I couldn't put it down! FABULOUS! It was so hard to not look ahead and try to figure out the book. I HIGHLY recommend reading this book even if you read no other Preston and Child book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Thrill ride with every page turned!

    This book is a thriller from the first few pages! I found no slow spots throughout the book, story line very intriging, I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a great thriller!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Loved it!!

    Two of the best authors i've ever read. I love

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    One of my faves!

    I love Agent Pendergast and these stories. This one is easily read on its own. Not much back story comes into play with the current story, but I would read all the series, because they are that good!
    This has an interesting story and the characters are great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed reading this one. It is always nice to get back to the characters that you know. That being said, I did not like this as much as the first two in the series. Pendergast seemed too artificial in this book. Also, I think it was D'Agosta and the doctolady that made the other teo so good. Still, I will give Pendergast another shot, because the next book in the series sounds good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Amazing

    Best book by these authors in my opinion. Read every single one they have out. Pendergast is incredible and such an intricate and unique character. Definitely a must read for anyone who loves reading and enjoys being kept on their toes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great Book! Not the cover I expected.

    Was waiting for this to came back in hardcover. Was expecting a dust jacket. Went one for two. Glad the book is so much better than the cover.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Excellent thriller

    The Pendergast books are the best thrillers I have read in years. Some of these reviews say Pendergast is too unreal, no one can survive that many accidents, but that is what is so fun; it's just Harry Potter in a black suit. Great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Another good one...

    I am trying to read these in order, and I must say, it didn't take much to get me hooked with this book. From the initial "find" to the fast paced conclusion, I enjoyed this read very much. I will continue to read this series, and any Preston & Child offering I find. Very good reads!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Great read

    First of the series i read - couldnt put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Loved the technical jargon

    This is the first Pendergast book I have read. I don't usually like mysteries, but absolutely loved it. The writers, Preston and Child, really have it together. The research is extensive and extremely interesting. I am now reading Reliquary and again very in depth technical jargon. I'm hooked on Pendergast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Attention Grabbing

    Fast moving, unexpected, thoroughly enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pray you're never stranded on a desert island with only one book by this author....

    Total drivel.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Bad writing if well researched

    These guys are very smart. They learned a lot in those Ivy League colleges they attended, but their writing is ponderous. Characters are one- dimensional and stereotypical. For a thriller, it's way too long--just how many descriptions of specimens in the museum's archives do we have to read before the plot progresses? Do we have to know the geographical details of Manhattan to such a minute degree? Okay, okay,they can download MapQuest. We get it. Descriptions of those over 40 is way off. A 54 year is described as shuffling in the manner of a 154 year old. Jerry Seinfeld is 53. President Bush and David Letterman are 60, just six years older than the murdered museum curator. Would anyone describe these vital men as elderly? Then there's the 96 year old Miss Havisham stereotype dithering away in black bombazine. I know a 94 year old women who plays online bridge and Scrabble in her Danish modern decorated home. I've never seen her in black bombazine. Maybe one can't expect much from fiction written by a committee

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18