BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Caddy for Life: The Bruce Edwards Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Caddy For Life

    I've read close to a hundred Nook Books. However, this is my first review. This is simply a story about friendship and courage. Yes, the game of golf serves as a background. Even if you are not a fan of the sport, if you have a soul you will love the book. Read this, you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    One of the best books I have read!

    Most guys my age grew up with Arnold, Jack, Lee, and Tom. John Feinstein's story CADDY FOR LIFE gives you a perspective of Tom's Watson's career thru the eyes of a regular guy: Bruce Edwards. Besides being one of the first "professional caddies" Bruce Edwards has a charm, work ethic, and easy demeanor that makes him very likable which Feinstein does a good job of describing. This story does not get old as I have re-read it three times and also have it on tape so I can listen to it on trips. The story makes you laugh with Tom and Bruce and sometimes cry as they deal with Bruce's ALS which he deals with with maturity, class and humor. This story is well written and you won't be disappointed! There is not a time I see the Philadelphia Eagles on TV that I don't think of Bruce Edwards! Nice job Mr. Feinstein. Keep writing more golf stories!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational

    I grew up watching Watson in his dominant days, and caddies weren't very well known then. But there was always this same guy on Tom's bag. And when I went to my first tournament in person, it was clear how close they were in how they interacted with each other and the gallery as they walked the course. Was shocked and a little sad when Bruce ended up on Greg Norman's bag, but this book gives us that story and how that eventually didn't go so well.

    This book is a great read, very inspirational and heartbreaking at the same time. It's not just for golfers, but true golf fans will eat it up. Tom & Bruce were clearly lucky to have each other in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Amazing

    I've been in the game of golf for a number of years now, but this book is readable to even the person who hasn't the slightest clue about golf. Great work by the author. I can't sing enough praises about the book, which eventually got me to shed a few tears

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    A MUST READ!!!!!

    Summary:¿Caddy For Life¿ is a story about Bruce Edwards and Tom Watson. Tom is a professional golfer and Bruce Edwards is his caddy (or his assistant if you don¿t know what a caddy is). This wonderful biography starts out explaining the early life of Bruce Edwards and what life is like for a beginning caddy. It is a very in depth look at what it¿s like to be a professional golfer and a professional caddy. Bruce gets a great opportunity one day to work with a new up and coming golfer named Tom Watson. Tom likes the work that Bruce does and asks him to keep caddying for him. They begin to develop a great relationship, not just on the golf course, but off, too. Tom begins to become one of the top golfers on the tour. Bruce is still his caddy and is making good money because of all of Tom¿s wins. He builds a huge house and gets married. This is where his life begins to take a downward turn. Multiple things will happen that will are not good things. His house catches on fire and burns down, his wife files for a divorce, and while all this is happening he is told that he has cancer. For most people this would slow them down, but for Bruce it didn¿t. He had to change some of his daily activities. He also would skip some events so he could rest, even though he really didn¿t want to do this. Tom felt very bad and this story of Tom and his caddy became one of the greatest in golf ever. Learn what happens and learn the outcome of this great story made even better by John Feinstein. Critique:This is one of the best books that I have ever read, and the best book about golf that I have ever read. It is great to get such an in depth look at what it is like to be on the PGA tour. It is just great. John Feinstein is the best author for books about golf. He has written so many great ones and this is one of the best. This is such a great story I would suggest it to anyone no matter if they play golf or if they don¿t. There is some golf terminology that you might need to know, but you can pick it up if you don¿t know it yet. The book has a little excess information and I don¿t think it was necessary for that information but that doesn¿t even come close to all the good things in this book. IT IS A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    The Importance of the Caddy and Friendship

    I loved this book. It describes how the caddy assists the Pro golfer. But most of all the important chemistry and bond that is forged. Tom Watson is a great human being, and now I know Bruce Edwards is too. He followed his dream, despite what his family thought. He lived a rich life, the way he wanted, and made many friends along the way. I respect him for this and am sadden for his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    INSPIRATION ON THE 19TH HOLE

    HOPE YOU WILL GET THIS WONDERFUL BOOK BECAUSE IT WILL GIVE YOU HOPE AND STRENTH AND INSPIRATION. BRUCE EDWARDS FACED ALOT OF STRUGGLES AND THIS BOOK AND HIS LIFE WILL OFFER YOU ALOT OF HOPE AND GIVE YOU ALITTLE SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT AS WELL AS IMPROVE YOUR GAME AND PROVIDE YOU WITH SOME INTRESTING GOLF TRIVIA. 'CADDY FOR LIFE' MIGHT EVEN MAKE A NICE BIRTHDAY GIFT FOR THAT SPECIAL SOMEONE!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1