Customer Reviews for

Caesar: Life of a Colossus

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Best Biography Ever

    Caeser by Adrian Goldworthy is one of the best biographies I have ever read. This book exemplifies why people still write about Julius Caeser. Goldworthy gives an immense amount of detail and information while attempting to stay neutral to the man he is writing about. He also presents both sides of the arguement of who Caeser was and why allowing the reader to make and informed decision not forcing his view on the reader. This book is definitly worth reading for anyone who has an interest in Roman history or Caeser himself although I would not suggest this book to the casual reader. Overall definitly a good book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    Excellent scholarly work

    This definitive biography on Caesar's life covers all of facets of the brilliant general's life -- childhood, personal and political relationships, political career, and a primary focus on his military record. If you enjoy reading a variety of Roman works and want to know accurate, documented, historical facts about Caesar, this book will be a rewarding read. The book helped me separate fact from fable on issues like Caesar's relationship with Cleopatra, Mark Antony, and his military exploits. The author reveals the great man's achievements and reveals the uglier side of his personality and actions. An excellent history book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A New Roman Historian

    Goldsworthy is the successor to Michael Grant, who wrote extensively about the ancient world. He does not have anything new to say about Caesar, but he writes clearly and fairly and gives the background for the events of the period. I look forward to reading his new book about the fall of the Empire.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Great And Interesting book!!!

    This was a very good biography on Caesar. I recommend it If you are into Romans and into the things that happened in the BC era. There was parts that were hard to understand and read but for the most part this book was worth the money and worth the time to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Richard Sallese Reviewer, Excellent Reading

    Ceasar was just a man with weakness, and desires of a normal man. But he was a a brillant general, stateman that every ruled the Roman World. No one has come close to matching his accomplishment.As in any great man there will who are those who dispise him out of jeously, or competitionso cesar life on the Ides of March 44 BC is murered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    This is an enthralling read. Goldsworthy succeeds in providing

    This is an enthralling read. Goldsworthy succeeds in providing the history in great detail without becoming a bore. The multitude of characters becomes difficult to follow, but Goldsworthy gives helpful reminders along the way. If I have any complaint, it is that Goldsworthy is a Caesar apologist. He spends a lot of time trying to convince the reader that he is not a Caesar apologist, but very little ends up being Caesar's fault--he even at one point calls the senators' hatred of him "irrational." The author's bias does not ultimately detract from the quality of the work, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Caesar: Life of a Colossus

    I literally only read the introduction (on my new nook that my sweet Aeyron got me for christmas! ^_^) and I'm already hooked. This book is going to be amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent bio on Caesar

    Goldsworthy meticulously pieces together Caesaer's life starting with his ancestors, then working his way through Caesar's youth, climb thru Rome's politcal scene, his military conquests, and ill-fated dictatorship. His detailed research debunks some myths and answers many questions concerning the life of one of the world histories most important figures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific biograghy

    This was a wonderful history of not only the man but the time in which he lived. Goldworthy does a great job of discribing the politics of the time and the society. He is careful to never use twenty first centry bias when describing events. He is very good at pointing out how events would have been viewed by Caesar's piers. He uses great detail that can be a bit overwelming if your not a fan of history, but even if your not I think you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Stunning!! Kudos to Adrian Goldsworthy

    As an avid biography reader, I find it sometimes difficult to find the perfect one. This book, however, blew me away. The style the author uses here is, as I said in my title, stunning. We learn the man of Caesar, as well as the god. What a truly astounding character, and an astounding book. My hats off to you Mr. Goldsworthy, bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2