Customer Reviews for

Caesar (Masters of Rome Series)

Average Rating 5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    The best one yet!

    Of the five books written in this series, this is the best one. I loved how Ms. Mucullough switched back and forth between Caesar and Pompey. She also kept the suspense at a high level of when the two armies were going to actually fight even though I knew exactly when they did fight. This is an outstanding series, and anyone interested in ancient Rome should read all of the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    When will the October Horse run?

    From the time that Marius first contemplated his consulships I have followed this series, immersing for a time in the final days of the first republic. Because of this story I have also read Seutorius and the first 15 chapters of (The Decline and Fall...). Each book McCollough writes is like an installment of a Saturday morning cliffhanger. Now we have reached the final summit before the fall. Ms. McCollough,let the horse run and the race be called so that we may all know the final glory and fate of the man and era that you so obviously love. PS - And hurry, a sea eagle might drop a shell on my head tomorrow and I would never know how the story ends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    Stunning History

    The other books in the series are just as good and I recommend reading them first. I am in awe of the master work McCullough has constructed with this series. This is short because I am just here looking for the next book in the series, which sadly doesn't seem to be out yet. I am hoping she'll continue through at least into Augustas' reign, where I Claudius starts. McCullough is more thorough than Graves. Admitted these books are not light reading. I wish I took notes as I read because it isn't easy keeping the less significant characters straight. But I don't and I still enjoy them immensely. I tend to re-read them every few years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    An Extrordinary Piece of Literature!!!

    This novel was the first one I read of the series and I have to say it is one of her best. Colleen McCullough brings to life the legend and the life of Julius Caesar in a way that I have never experienced before. She brings this man to light in such a way that I feel like I know Caesar personally. He's becomes more than just a voice from the past but as a man who acheived unbelievable recognition but experienced the same heartship and pain that everyone else goes through. To me, he becomes human. This book is a good way to connect with a world that we have never known. It's one of my favorite books and I intend to read all the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    Genuinely Inspired

    I started reading historical fiction some time ago. I would find an author, read every book available, and come away feeling thirsty for more. This book was a capstone to the first four that made the whole series like a succulent Thanksgiving dinner - you've already had more than enough, but you just can't stop eating. This author is such a gifted storyteller - as an ametuer Roman history buff, I stand in awe of the incredible masterpiece and beg for more. These are truly the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    A Fine Historical Novel though a Little Cool to the Touch

    Caesar, as presented here, comes vividly to life, a near-perfect man with no match in ancient Rome or elsewhere in his Mediterrannean world. Hard to believe that the other Romans, or at least those who opposed him, were as incompetent and unable to measure up as Ms. McCullough portrays them here. It kind of makes one wonder how Rome did what it did, both before and after Caesar. On the other hand, Ms. McCullough has certainly recreated the Roman world in vivid colors though it also seems a trifle distant, at times, and not entirely engaging. I found it easy to lay this book aside when I needed to, most of the time, though was inevitably drawn back to it again.<P>In the end the story of Casear's dogged machinations to reclaim his 'dignitas' from the 'nothings' who would deny it to him out of some misguided concern for preserving the republic (or their own privileges within it), is also a story about the need for order, both in one's thinking and in the world. Caesar, here (and perhaps in reality for the portrayal is convincing), is a man who thinks of everything, the very secret of his magificent generalship. That, of course, plus his ability to think and react quickly to changed circumstances and to inspire loyalty and trust and the supreme effort from his men are what sets him apart. And the confidence with which he seems to know just how much above all the others he is set through possession of these virtues.<P>Republican politics (not the GOP sort in this context), on the other hand, here leads to all sorts of bumbling excesses and omissions as the many smart fellows who unwisely think more of themselves than of their opponent Caesar, bang up against one another like some classical 'three stooges' trying to disconnect Caesar from his natural constituency and sources of power.<P>But it is the confused and overly ambitious Pompey (Gnaeus Pompeius Magnus) who claims our sympathies and our hearts at the final curtain -- not the obviously invincible general out of the west. It is Pompey who, realizing too late that he is no match for Caesar despite his own history of military victories and the celebration of these by the Roman patrician class, must do all he can to escape the shadow of the conqueror and, in doing so, stumbles into the hands of lesser men and into history. It was Pompey, at last, who moved me, as I think the author intended it to be. For this Caesar in her Rome is a natural force, in fact a supernatural one, a veritable god on earth and it is not for men like these that we feel most deeply. It is men like ourselves, like Pompey, men with hopes and illusions and ultimately the failings of mortality, who move us most strongly at the end of the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    Dying with anticipation

    Superb book. The best history lesson ever. Don't start this book on a weekday, otherwise you'll be up till 5:30 a.m., like me, reading and then will have to stumble into work at 9:30. Can't wait for October Horse to come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1