Customer Reviews for

The Cage

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    .highly recommended-thrilling

    i must say i am more interested in fiction but this book changed my mind. The captive details and the personalities of the main character was embracing and inspiring to all ages

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Lovedit(:

    I thin it was a realy good book. I cried acouple times.. but it has a nice ending.. ends short though.. but all arround it was a great book(:

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    holocaust scary but book excellence.

    We have to read this for school, parts of the book needed a bit more detail, but i enjoyed reading it. its intense and scary, it shows exaxly how the holocaust was. but still a great book.h

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    A good read

    I really enjoyed the middle and end portions of the book, but the beginning could be very boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the better Holocaust accounts.

    I thought it was a good book. I'm assuming it's a memoir of the author's life (once I read her biography on Wikipedia). This book sounds vaguely familiar and I believe I have read it before a long time ago but nevertheless I thought I might as well read it again. It's a small book with less than 200 pages and I was so interested and engrossed in it that it took me several hours to finish it. I wanted to keep reading to see what would happen next, I wanted to know how she managed to survive through the entire ordeal and still manage to keep hoping and to keep living. Riva is one of the most strongest characters I have ever read so far.

    I admired Riva for having to take care of her brothers through the hardships of living in the ghetto. Then having to be forcefully separated, she had to survive on her own and she never lost hope. It's as if she drew strength from losing her mother to give her the will to stay alive. Although the situation was always bleak and survival is never guaranteed, it was amazing to see how Riva managed to continue to hope even in the face of this kind of adversity.

    There were a few things with this novel that I did not quite agree with. First I noticed it's somewhat catered to children and I sort of have to wonder about that. I realized children should be taught about this moment in history but I think this book really should be catered towards teens as this story surrounded Riva in her teenage years. It just seems to make more sense. Also, I found the flow of the narration to be a little jumpy throughout the first half of the book. It was first one major event then it just skips directly to another there wasn't real flow to put the two together into one smooth transition, it felt almost as if it was the writing was rather haphazard.

    Overall though, a touching Holocaust story and not one to be missed. The story tells you that without hope, there really is nothing to live for and it's a lesson to learn for everyone in future generations to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    great book!

    This was a book that we had to read in school in 8th grade and I thought it was great! I always read like the first page of every school book and that was it, but this book was very interesting from the start. It was an excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Great Book by Sender

    You are trapped in a room. After years in a ghetto, the Nazis have finally found you hiding in your old cellar. Fear wells up inside you because you know the Nazis will show no mercy. This is the story of Rifkele, a Jewish teenage girl from Lodz, Poland. She and her family are rounded up, put on a cattle train and shipped to concentration camps. The Cage, by Ruth Minsky Sender, is a sorrowful memoir of the Holocaust. Even though a precious few Jews escaped the terror of the Nazis, Ruth Minsky Sender survived to tell this autobiographical tale of the Holocaust. At the beginning of the story, it is unclear what year it is. When the main character remembers the beginning of the Jewish annihilation, however, it is 1939 and she is in the future ghetto. Later, she travels to labor camps. At the end, when she is freed from the labor camps, you can relate to the real events of World War II because the Russians free her. Does she find her family alive and well or dead? During the course of the book, Rifkele, or ¿Riva,¿ shows courage derived from other main characters including Mama, Riva¿s brothers and sisters, and Riva¿s neighbors/friends. All of Riva¿s friends/neighbors are Jewish. However, the apartment belongs to a landlady who is not Jewish. Therefore, when the Nazis take over the town of Lodz, their landlady turns against them. So, at the beginning of the story, Riva¿s family is friends with their landlady, but after the invasion of Poland, Riva is forced to fight against her own neighbors. Although all of these people pledge allegiance to Poland in the beginning, Mrs. Gruber and her son and daughter become Nazi officers when Germany invaded Poland. During the course of the story, Riva¿s parents and three siblings are taken from her before she is deported eventually from the Lodz ghetto to Auschwitz. Before she can get used to the labor camp, she is moved several more times, then realizes that every human, even a Nazi, has a heart, when her life is saved by a Nazi officer. Finally, the Russians liberate her from the camp and Riva realizes that she and her brother and two sisters are the only survivors of their 8-person family. Although it is tough for her to go on, she finds joy in her children, the children that were never to be born. When the Nazis begin their march across Europe, two moods, anger and terror, are induced, which are the main moods of the book. Before the Nazis take Poland, Jews in Poland are angry. That mood quickly changes to terror and sadness as the cities are turned into ghettos and, finally, the people are deported to labor camps. Inspired by Riva¿s poetry and writing, people in the camps have hopes for the future they want to live! So, even though the story may seem sad, people in the labor camps are happy for a couple of minutes a day. Before reading this book, I did not know many of the details surrounding the Holocaust. Now I understand just how gruesome it was. This book helped me to understand how the people dreamed after the end of the Holocaust. It also helped me to understand exactly what they ate in prison camps and also what diseases they were susceptible to in the ghettos. I also learned that even the camp commandants have a human heart. I also fully understood how many women were also put into labor camps. This book is valuable in learning about World War II because it shows the story, not just of the war, but of the suffering all of the Jewish families were put through. In this book, the reader learns about the labor camps that the Germans set up in Poland and Germany. Even though this book was an autobiography, I believe that the author did not add enough detail. When she was in the ghetto and in the labor camps, she did not explain what it felt like and she did not write about what the places looked like. Because of this, the mental picture is not as strong as it would usually be. Otherwise this was a great book! Although this may seem like a major c

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    The Cage.......

    The Cage, By Ruth Minsky Sender tells the story of a teenage girl named Riva and what she experienced during the Holocaust. Set in the 1940¿s the story illustrates Riva¿s hardships she was subjected to for being Jewish. It begins in the ghetto of Lodz, Poland and ends with the Russian liberation of Camp Grafenort in 1945. As much as I liked this book the only thing that I found disappointing was how everything happened so quickly and didn¿t give the reader much time to ¿get involved¿ in the book and the horrible things that were happening to Riva. The title is such a good metaphor for the ghetto and concentration camps. I really liked how Riva¿s poetry is what kept her and many others going. So many of Riva¿s loved ones were torn away from her but she still found hope in writing. My favorite part in the book is when Riva is speaking to her friend, Yulek, about wanting to give up but he tells her ¿Don¿t you ever, ever give up. There is a tomorrow for us. We will live to tell your story to the whole world. We must teach mankind what evil, hatred, prejudice can do. We must make a better world by not letting them forget what has happened here. So keep on writing and never stop being yourself.¿- That quote is so great! Contrary to other Holocaust novels I have read I especially liked how the main character never gave up hope (even though there were times when she wanted to) and how the readers were constantly reminded by something her mother always said ¿As long as there is life, there is hope.¿ I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a very respectable account of the Holocaust and one brave girl¿s story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    A Tale of Life, Death, and Betrayal.

    The Cage by Ruth Minsky Sender is a captivating story about a young Jewish girl, living in the ghettos of World War II. It's about life and death through out a family. Being betrayed by the people you trusted the most in your life. Being in these conditions the young girl makes it out alive and moves to America, where even to this day she has nightmares about the terrors of the ghettos and concentration camps. The Cage is definitely a book you would like to read over and over. I would really recommend buying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    A GREAT BOOK

    I had to read a book for a human civilization project, and I found this book. I don't think that this book is a good one to read if you aren't into the events in the holocaust. After I started I didn't think that I would be able to read the whole thing, I didn't like the beginning, but once I kept going I couldn't put the book down. I think it's a very well wrote book all together, but very sad. Riva,(the main character)goes through many struggles during this book, and shows alot of character when doing so. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2002

    Very Good Book

    This is a very good book. It's easy to read, even for a child, but contains enough depth and information for an adult. I learned a lot from this book, and would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    Read and greatly enjoyed

    I read this book as a project in my english class. I found this book so moving that i cried. I discovered that I NEEDED to read the 2nd book ('To Life'). I would definately recommend this book to others and that's what I did for my class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2001

    Very well written!

    I really liked this book and I thought that it was moving. Sender is a great author and she wrote about every little detail. This book was very intense also, espeially when it came to the part about Auschwitz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Highly recommended

    This was a great book. I read it for a Honors 9 Geography project on the five themes of geography. It was good for my project because it had so many types of examples and the book was very detailed in the writing. The book kept your interest and waiting to find out what was going to happen next. Again I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    The Holocaust

    This book gets your attention right from the beginning. Some Holocaust books are boring and don't elaborate. This was amazingly detailed. Although some of the time you're reading and thinking, 'Okay, let's get going, this is so boring,' but most most of the time you're thinking, 'Whoa, could you believe that, no way!' The Cage by Ruth Minsky Sender was kind of a real life Survivor Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    The Holocaust Book to Read

    This was a very good book. I've read many holocaust books, and this was one of the best. Riva, the main character, and her family go through many hardships in World War II. The Nazis try to split up her family and destroy their love for each other. Though their love never fades, they are taken by the Nazis and put through many more hard times. This book has a lesson in it which we should all know: Show love for your family, you never know if they will be with you tomorrow. I would recommend this book to just about anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2