Customer Reviews for

The Caged Virgin: An Emancipation Proclamation for Women and Islam

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ayaan Hirsi Ali, a Somali woman who rose to the rank of a parliamentarian in The Netherlands, has achieved pariah status amongst Islamists for her fervent and perfervid criticisms of Islam, capping their anger by apostasy as she has renounced her religion and become an athiest. This book is a collection of her essays on various topics, centering around the treatment of women in Islamic societies. Her criticisms are lucid and damning. Unfortunately, many of her solutions are bromides and very few specific remedies and concrete solutions are offered. Nonetheless, the fact that the problems she elucidates have been brought to the attention of the general US and European publics is a significant service. Unfortunately, as a result of her efforts, the usual barrage of fatwahs calling for her death have been issued and, more unfortunately, the Dutch government has been craven enough to withdraw her security detail on the pretext that she no longer lives in Holland. The book would have benefited from more careful editing. For example, the chapter explaining her background would be better placed at the beginning, rather than in the middle section of the book. Similarly, fact checking would have disclosed a few howlers, such as her statement that Voltaire wrote in the 1800s when he died before the turn of the century. Allowing for that, the book is well worth reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Absolutely Mesmerizing !!

    Ayaan Hirsi Ali is an incredible, intelligent, and brave woman. I read her memoir, Infidel and am now in the midst of reading the Caged Virgin. I am blown away by her!! A definite Must read for anyone who appreciates a breath of fresh air.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Excellent defence of enlightened values

    Ms Ali has written a most useful book. She exposes the dishonesty of those who cry 'Islamophobia' whenever Islam is criticised. She shows how thuggishly orthodox Muslims behave to women, dissenters, Jews and gays. She shows the roots of this intolerance in the pre-medieval thinking of Muhammad and in the all-too-common dogmatic adherence to his outdated writings. In Britain, as in many other countries, we have tamed religion over the centuries, cutting down its power to govern and discipline our lives. We must not now allow orthodox Muslims to impose their views on us, and we should not fail to criticise obscurantism, in whatever guise. We do not need madrassas to propagandise dogma and intolerance. Nor should we put up with the feeble liberalism which grovels to fundamentalism, for example, Ken Livingstone's endorsement of 'radical', ie fundamentalist, Islamic preachers, and George Galloway's Respect party's policy of appeasing the fundamentalists.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No good

    Fool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    No recommended at all.

    If your looking for a book about true Islam this is definitely not a book to read. The author has mixed culture with Islam. But if your just one of those haters who have a sick pleasure of reading books against Islam, go ahead.
    *Warning*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Washington Needs to Read This.

    While this is not the experience of all Muslims it is the experience of this author.
    It is a call to action for Muslim women and an explanation of the behavior of many Muslim men.
    I also recommend her autobioraphy Infidel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    somali family

    i am a white american muslim woman, married to a somali man and having been muslim before marriage i was able to know the difference between islam and somali culture. i fear the book is islam negitive and not pointing to the truth that it is somali culture that forces mariage to distant relatives and not islam. a warning to all who read what she is speaking of is true but it is somali culture and not islam

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pure Propaganda

    This is simply 188 pages of the author's rantings against Islam and her Dutch government and political party. I was more than disappointed since Infidel was so riveting and insightful. I found The Caged Virgin to be a huge time waster.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    sadly just another author that doesn't see the whole picture.

    i'll start by saying that i am an educated woman, and that i am sorry to hear about Hirsi Ali's bad experience with her people who don't even understand what islam is. i am a muslim woman, and i lead a happy life, my family embraces islam and understands it. while her family and people abuse the name of islam by behaving like savages. i am angry at her because even after she got education, she didn't even try to learn about the true islam as it was intended to be. and by writing this book, many people like her will probably view islam like the plague. the only reason i give her 2 stars is beacuse she tried to change her hellish life, and bravely talked about it. that i reaspect her for.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2