Customer Reviews for

Caged Warrior (Dragon Kings Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Grueling, Emotionally Gritty

    Brutal, creative and very dark! Lindsey Piper’s first installment in her new series Dragon Kings, <b>Caged Warrior</b> is darkly sensual, brutally painful and, as I discovered had no dragons! The dragon kings are an ancient and proud race of people born with special gifts ranging from supernatural speed to the powerful energy and senses. They are now on the verge of extinction and must either hide to survive or face being used as lab rats or gladiators in the dreaded Cage fights. Audrey has left her people to follow her heart and marry a human, but now both she and her young son have been held in the labs of their captors. When she is taken to be trained to fight in the cages, only her fierce determination to keep her son safe and rescue him someday provide her the will to go on, because heaven knows, her ‘trainer,’ Leto, another dragon King is far from an ally. Leto is bitter, brutal and completely dark inside and it shows as he seems to enjoy tormenting and humiliating Audrey. But what secret does he hold for his determination to do the bidding of their masters? What can drive a man to such blatant cruelty? Forced to train and fight with Audrey, Leto finds a begrudging respect and need for this fiery woman as she slowly breaks down his walls to find that a heart still beats within him.
    Lindsey Piper has created a gritty and emotionally grueling tale where survival is all one can hope for, to find anything else in this bleak world is a rare and true gift. With very strong character development, Ms. Piper has bravely made a hero you love to hate and a heroine you can’t help but root for at every turn!

    Series: Dragon Kings #1
    Paperback: 400 pages
    Publisher: Pocket Books
    Publish Date: June 25, 2013
    ISBN-10: 1451695918
    ISBN-13: 978-1451695915
    Rating: 4.5 Stars
    Age Recommendation: Adult
    Genre: Dark Romance

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Hush

    /: Do you like Rose?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Drew

    Love ya too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Entertaining

    1st book I've read by this author. Sure is a diffeernt take on dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Very different in good way

    Blows everything u think u know about paranormal romance. Couldnt put down. Hard to exlain but a story that pulls u in an dont let u go! Buying second in series now hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    CAGED WARRIOR is the first full length novel and second storylin

    CAGED WARRIOR is the first full length novel and second storyline in Lindsey Piper’s Dragon King paranormal/dystopian fantasy series. A word of caution: This is not a series about dragon shifters. This is a series about the descendants of the five clans of powerful beings known as the Dragon Kings. Each clan specializes in a specific power and those powers can be combined or used in various ways. Caged Warrior is Audrey (aka Nynn) and Leto’s story.
    The premise focuses on Audrey as she endeavors to survive the torture and ultimate fighting cages in the underground facilities of the Master known as ‘The Old Man”. Her husband murdered, her son missing and her life virtually not worth living, Audrey survives day to day in the hopes that she will be reunited with her six year old boy. But the longer she stays imprisoned, the more likely neither she nor her son will survive.
    Training under the hardened and collared Dragon King Leto Carnis, Audrey will discover that the powers she once believed were non existent needed a little focus and encouragement to draw forth. And in the end, Leto could very well bare the brunt of her new found ability and anger.
    The relationship between Audrey and Leto begins as prisoner to warden, then trainer to trainee, then cage fighting partners and eventually, friends to lovers. But the climb has been anything but easy as Leto pushes Audrey (now known by her Dragon King name Nynn) beyond her limits and expectations. Leto is a warrior, one who by duty and order, is a menace to those he considers beneath his time and Nynn is more of a burden than anything else. But if she cannot best an opponent in the cage, she will surely die or remain in pain the rest of her life. And it is with Leto’s help, faith and eventually love that Nynn will focus on her end goal and take down the people responsible for the pain and heartbreak in so many lives.
    Caged Warrior is a detailed and intriguing storyline that flows smoothly but there is still very little background information revealed about the history of the Dragon King Clans or their powers. This is also a story that is both graphically brutal and violent and, those in power are verbally and sexually abusive. But saying that, this is a dystopian story about a species of being who have survived because of their ability to withstand pain and suffering and years of abuse at the hands of those calling themselves superior. To downplay the violence would probably not evoke the same reaction to the story.
    Caged Warrior is a fascinating look into the world of the Dragon King and their struggle to survive. Lindsey Piper draws the reader into a storyline fraught with violence, sorrow and most of all love between two people who have suffered at the hands of humans and their own kind.  3.75 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Different plot. Not the same old thing others keep producing.

    I was intrigued to read these books but now that I have I cant wait for more. I really enjoyed the characters and came to care for them and their plight. Only a great writer is able to do this. I will definately be looking forward to more stories from Ms Piper and her Dragon Kings. I love books and read a LOT and I give my full endorsement to this book being a must read for any fantasy fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers B

    3.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by ANGELA &amp; posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    &quot;Ms. Piper did deliver a sexy warrior &quot; ~ Under the Covers

    Ms. Piper wrote a very promising start to a new series. Caged Warrior is not your typical Dragon books, in fact; there are no dragons in this book, which was a bit disappointing only because the cover and title shouted it was a dragon book. But let me assure you that even without dragon shifters, this novel is overall a good read.

    Let me tell you the things I liked about this book. First is the cover. Okay, I will tell you that I picked this book up just by looking at this cover. It just promised me a hot sexy warrior. Well, Ms. Piper did deliver a sexy warrior. Leto is a champion of underground cage fights, which reminds me of UFC fighters and I imagined him to be that very person on the cover. Of course, Leto is from a race with supernatural powers , and it gave this book an exciting twist. Now, what made it a bit complicated was that Leto was not a freeman but really a slave fighter and in charge of training newcomers. That's where Audrey, aka Nynn comes in. She is also of the same race but has lived in the human world to be with her husband and son. Unfortunately, in this violent, almost extinct world, her husband was murdered. Now, Audrey is slaved to fight for her and her son's freedom. Her captivity somewhat reminded me of Captive in the Dark by CJ Roberts. Not as dark but both heroine were kidnapped, abused and trained. They also both fell in love with their captors. I know they are of different genre , but I found it similar in some ways, IMO. I liked Audrey, she is a mother on a mission to save her son. Any woman who comes into a man's world and proves her self is just gets much respect from me. My heart broke for her with all her experiences in the beginning of this book. I'll tell you right now though; this heroine is strong and can fight like there's not tomorrow.

    The world building was overall good. It is a dark and vicious world but thriving to survive. I was a bit disappointed that Leto, the man in the cover, did not shift into a dragon , but I do like him just the same. I also would've like to read more of his background. I feel like there's more to him then what was revealed. One thing that bothered me most was the pace in the beginning of this book. I thought it was slow and the only think kept me going was the intriguing story line. It was not until half way through that the pace picked up and became more of a page turner. Overall, Caged Warrior is a good start to a new series , and I am optimistic for a good sequel.

    ARC provided by Publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    I was intrigued by the Dragon King series the minute I first pic

    I was intrigued by the Dragon King series the minute I first picked up the prequel, Silent Warrior. You have a race of beings descended from the Great Dragon, blessed with extraordinary gifts and cursed with a terrible burden. For a few of these amazing individuals they must fight...for their race, a blessing for their family, or to free themselves and their loved ones from subjugation.

    The thing I wished for in the prequel, more history and world-building, Caged Warrior addresses. Lindsey Piper does a great job in filling in some of the history and introducing us to the world at large. There's still a lot we don't know, but I have a feeling we're going to find out even more in the coming books. This is a much darker than most books that I've read recently. It's is a story about fighters and they are fighting for their lives. That means there's a lot of action to keep the pages turning.

    I ended up loving the main characters, Audrey (also known as Nynn) and Leto but at times it was a love-hate kind of thing. Audrey has been horribly abused, torn from her son and sent to the cages to fight after torture reveals an amzing well of power. Leto is her trainer and that man is a badass! He only has a few weeks to turn Audrey into a competent fighter and he does it the only way he knows how...by harsh training...and while effective (and necessary) it isn't pretty. But you catch glimpses of the Leto the man not the warrior...the one who loves and will protect what's his even if the cost is to lose them forever. There are also a wealth of secondary characters, including Hark and Silence, who I loved from Silent Warrior and we're also introduced to the mysterious Tallis who we'll learn more about in book 2.

    The pages will fly by with this unique series. So grab both Silent Warrior and Caged Warrior and get started soon. July 30th will bring book 2, Blood Warrior, before you know it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Such an amazing story. I am still breathless from reading it. Th

    Such an amazing story. I am still breathless from reading it. The story takes place in the unique world of the Dragon Kings a race of demons with immeasurable power and abilities that live in a world set apart from our own.
    Audrey is the ultimate heroine. Strong- willed, smart, vulnerable and yet so fierce my heart ached with watching her struggle to save herself and her son in such a violent world. The strength she shows in the face of all the pain she has suffered made for one of the most amazing stories I have ever read.
    Leto is far from your typical hero. In the beginning I absolutely hated him. He's cruel, brutal and heartless and yet the reasons behind his behavior are honorable. Eventually though he bashed his way into my heart.
    This is not your everyday romance. It is at times both ugly and beautiful but that just made me love it even more. The passion and obsession between Audrey and Leto is explosive and gripping.
    A story unlike anything I have read it digs its hooks into you and makes you unable to put it down. Gritty, dark and sexy this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Audrey/Nynn witnesses the brutal murder of her beloved husband a

    Audrey/Nynn witnesses the brutal murder of her beloved husband and has her son ripped from her arms by an evil cartel who studies and uses supernatural beings. She is a member of the Dragon King race and her husband was human. They had a child which is considered a rare event and the cartel wants to know how and why.

    Leto has been raised in the world of the cage fights, like gladiators they battle to be proven the best. He has been given Nynn to train to fight in the cages.

    Let the battle begin...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Not as strong as the prequel Silent Warrior, which smouldered wi

    Not as strong as the prequel Silent Warrior, which smouldered with passion and the strength of the Dragon Kings.
    This veered into the dark despicable and violent depths of the Cages. The place the Dragon Kings are taken to battle against each other.
    After reading the extremely powerful prequel I was surprised by the direction the author took with this one. It strolled merrily along the en-vogue storyline of the (at this moment in time, especially in YA) degradation of females.
    Letting the apparent bad boy hero overstep the boundaries into abusive behaviour and of course the heroine just likes him even more for it. You know, because all women really want to be treated like dirt deep down inside. (Yes that was sarcastic).
    Subsequently also alluding to the fact that they should be submissive to males. All that hidden in the guise of training as a neophyte in the Cages.
    Now that could be due to the fact Piper is actually a writer of historical romance (under a different name) and those type of storylines are common in that genre.
    That didn't work well in this genre. It kind of takes the energy out of it, the wind out of the sails.
    I would like to see Piper go back to the prequel and grab that superb ball of creative idea she used and focus that intention on this series. It has the potential to be a strong captivating series.
    I received a free copy of this book via Edelweiss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Imagine being stripped of your family, tortured, and then enslav

    Imagine being stripped of your family, tortured, and then enslaved in an underground world where survival depends on how well you can fight.  This nightmare has become Audrey MacLaren’s life.  Audrey’s real name is Nynn, and she is a Dragon King born of the Clan Tigony.  Dragon Kings are an ancient race of supernatural beings with special power endowed to them.  They are proud warriors who have kept their identity a secret from most humans. 




    Audrey is branded as a traitor and exiled from her clan when she marries a human man and later gives birth to a son. Her peaceful life is shattered when her husband is murdered, and she and her son are kidnapped by the Aster family, a human crime cartel who exploit Dragon Kings by using them for scientific experiments and confining them underground where they train as cage warriors who fight for favor and privilege. 




    Although the reason is never fully explained, the Dragon King race is in danger of extinction because of difficulty conceiving children. Giving natural birth to a Dragon King is a rarity, and the sinister Dr. Aster keeps Audrey and her son locked away in a laboratory where he experiments on them to further his knowledge of this supernatural race. After a year of being tortured by Aster, Audrey is forced to become a cage warrior if she ever wants to see her son again.  I admired Audrey’s perseverance and tenacity throughout the story. She endures endless verbal, emotional, and physical abuse that would easily break others. Despite the odds, she is willing to do whatever it takes to be reunited with her son, even though she knows that it is likely Dr. Aster will not keep his promise. 




    Leto of Clan Garnis has the responsibility for training Audrey to fight as his partner. He is a multifaceted, dominating character with a brutal nature, which I found hard to like but could understand, since he has spent his entire life training and fighting in the cages, and violence is all he’s ever known.  Leto is an undefeated fighter in the cages. He is proud that his wins have given his sister the opportunity to conceive a child with her husband and continue the family line. He believes the sacrifices he has made are honorable. His reputation has made him a favorite to the Asters, and he enjoys the respect and privileges that are given to him. 




    Leto has never worried about his elite warrior status until he meets Audrey. He is given little time to train her, and if she doesn’t do well, that will reflect upon him and the future of his family.  Leo tries to force Audrey into submission through harsh, inhumane treatment. His lack of compassion and indifference to her situation was at times hard for me to read. However, no matter how cruel Leto is, Audrey still manages to retain some form of dignity and defy his efforts to break her spirit. Even though Audrey knows she has to learn to fight for her son’s sake, she refuses to use her incredible powers of harnessing and manipulating energy since she has no control over them. She worries that by doing so, she will lose her sense of self and turn into a ruthless monster. 




    Much of the book focuses on the dynamic  nature of Audrey and Leto’s relationship.  Spending so much time together creates a mounting sexual tension that becomes harder for them to ignore.  A major turning point in the story occurs when Audrey and Leto become victims of Dr. Aster’s malevolence and begin to trust and work in sync with each other. 




    I was enthralled with the second half of the book, where unexpected events arouse change in both Audrey and Leto. As Audrey embraces her warrior prowess, Leto begins to question the illusion of his life.  I enjoyed watching both characters grow emotionally and physically closer once they understood each other’s plight.  Piper does an excellent job with character development and shows that no matter how flawed, one can always be redeemed. 




    The greatest drawback of the story is the lack of necessary background to help me fully understand these warriors and the challenges they face:  What’s the story behind the origin and powers of the Dragon Kings? Why are Dragon Kings affiliating with human crime organizations? Is it always by choice or are they forced into it like Audrey?  How exactly does Dr. Aster “help” Dragon Kings with their fertility problems?  I hope the author will flesh out more of this fantasy world she has created to make the read more enjoyable. 




    I received a copy of Caged Warrior from the publisher via Edelweiss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    It was with great relish I started reading Caged Warrior. I had

    It was with great relish I started reading Caged Warrior. I had read its prequel and was hoping it would be as good. But instead, it was better. The characters and plot had so much more to them I lost myself in the telling and couldn't put this book down. This raw brutal story was like riding a roller coaster in the dark. It had so many twists and turns I didn't see coming. As each element is added, I kept thinking to myself, this is it, the great finale but it wasn’t. There was so much more to come. The anticipation keeps building as each new piece is unveiled until the final explosive climax at the end.




    Author Lindsey Piper has an amazing talent for creating some of the best characters I have read. Audrey is a tough chick from the very beginning but as Nynn takes over she becomes even stronger. Leto is a tough, strong and oh yeah...HOT. Yet, despite how strong they both are you can't help but feel empathy for all the sacrifices and heartbreaks both have had to endure to survive. The added bonus of Silent and Hark (See Caged Warrior) making a return appearance just rounded out all the characters to perfection.




    There is a prequel, Silent Warrior, which is not necessary to read to follow Caged Warrior but it sure does make it more interesting. The Dragon King series is easily the best paranormal series I have read this year. Oh man, I can not WAIT for the next book. Caged Warrior is an absolute must read. Get it now!




    I received this book from JeepDiva in exchange for my honest review. The opinions and rating of this review are solely mine and in no way was I compensated.




    Stars - 5, Flames - 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4 Stars ¿ Sexy and Dark Alternate Underworld Exiled from her

    4 Stars … Sexy and Dark Alternate Underworld


    Exiled from her clan, Audrey MacLaren married a human and bore a natural-born Dragon King. Life had been happy and ordinary until violence bursts into her family’s home. As captives of the Aster cartel, Audrey and her child are subjected to sadistic underground science experiments until a turn of events lands her in a Cage warrior’s training. She will fight to save the life of her son.

    Leto Garnis followed in his father’s footsteps to become the premiere Cage Warrior. His successes in the Cage have won his siblings the gift to conceive children. His newest goal is to win long-term nursing care for his broken sister, whose mind was shattered. Leto’s goal won’t be hindered by the neophyte he’s been ordered to train for the Cage. He will hone her skills through whatever means necessary.

    The first full-length novel in the Dragon King series transports readers into a dark, violent gladiator-style underworld. The private wars Leto and Audrey fight are fraught will emotional pain, longing, and ferocious determination. He’s a master warrior willingly collared in service to the Aster Cartel, believing the illusion of freedom. She’s the Dragon King captive with a wealth of untapped power and grim secrets. Together they generate sizzling moments in this striking Dragon King world.

    This is a series where the women are as fierce as their male counterparts. It’s where exceptional powers can defeat brawn with a cunning mind. Each of the five Dragon King clans possesses extraordinary gifts. Once, they were revered as human gods, providing the foundation for ancient mythologies. With their species nearly extinct, they purposely live segregated from one another, as their people once fought bitterly with one another. Most live within their clan’s territory. There’s also a secret group finding opportunities with the drug cartels.

    I had thought this books underlying purpose would be unraveling the fertility problem. Instead we’re held captive with Audrey deep within the underground Cage warrior culture, which dispensed merciless fight scenes and calculated brutality. Leto is presented as the arrogant, yet fair, trainer. As the ruling champion, he takes pride in his victories, along with the benefits rewarded to his family. It’s Leto who provides the most profound transformation. Audrey’s metamorphosis has its rewards. It also seemed as though her son, Jack,easily faded into the background, especially with him in crisis.

    With sizzling sexual tension, this story kept me in its grip until nearly the end. I do feel as though the best of Caged Warrior took place underground. Once topside, the story lost its grittiness to clichés. Plus an ongoing series storyline seemed broad and unclear. The conclusion didn’t leave me with an overwhelming need to read the next book. Will I read the next Dragon King book? Yes. This is the first book in a dark and interesting world of cartels, paranormal beings, and humans. These fierce clans are brimming with potential.

    Final Grade: B -


    Digital RC courtesy of Pocket Books via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First you have to understand, there are no dragons in the Dragon

    First you have to understand, there are no dragons in the Dragon Kings series. The Dragon King are an ancient race of beings, called demons, that were once worshiped as gods. Now there are only 5 known clans left of the Dragon King and they are fighting extinction. To make matters worse a group of humans have discovered a way to limit the Dragon King power and have enslaved them into a world of cage fighting and experiments.

    Audrey MacLaren is a descent of the Dragon King. Living in the world of humans, she has been exiled because she took a human mate. Ten years of marriage and a small son did not protect her from the humans...they broke into her home, killed her husband and took her and her son hostage. Now Audrey must fight for her life and the life of her son.

    Leto Garnis has been raised as a Cage warrior. He is given the task of teaching Audrey, making her into a Cage warrior. When Audrey presents signs of great abilities with using and manipulating energy she is sent into the cages to fight. 

    Audrey must convince Leto that there is more than Cage fighting to save her son. Leto must convince Audrey that there is great value to winning to protect his family. Both discover that even in the dire circumstances love might save them both.

    Caged Warrior pulls you into an extremely dark and violent world. Betrayal and deception rule. The evil, sadistic mafia like group will stop at nothing in the fight for ultimate power and wealth. This is a book that will make you cringe but you just can't look away. I was captivated from start to finish... Lindsey Piper does an outstanding job, making this new world vividly engrained in your imagination and creating a story that will have you riveted to the pages.

    This ARC copy of Caged Warrior was given to me by Pocket Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication on June 25, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1