Customer Reviews for

Cain's Apples

Average Rating 3.5
( 2235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(490)

4 Star

(516)

3 Star

(651)

2 Star

(344)

1 Star

(234)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Cain's Apple

This was my first read on the Nook and it had me really interested. I feel that the end could have been a little better and the main characters home life a little more established but overall a decent read.

posted by readalot123 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Draft

This is a great idea, but that is all it is. It could have been polished into a very entertaining novel. It is free, has potential, and you can probably read it in 10 minutes is why I have to give this 2 stars.

posted by Amacce on June 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 651 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining, quick read

    I enjoyed this short story. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon, quick read. Not overly involved, the characters and storyline are developed just enough to draw you in, without pulling you into painting grand pictures in your mind while reading. I recommend it to anyone who just wants to read something interesting, that you don't have to think about, or spend time or energy interpreting. It is what it is - a clever short story.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute short story.

    For a short story it was cute and odd, and had a fairly good plot line. Fun for a quick read though. Plus it was free so who could complain.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    This short story reminded me of one tale from a collection of "ghost stories". If it had been part of such a collection, it would probably be one of the better works offered. As a stand alone piece, I felt the characters were flat and also there were way too many people for one short story time to cut out extras. The plot line failed to pull the reader in and make him or her care about what was happening. The idea itself is one that's been done before many times. It was a fun free read but I'm not anxious for more from this author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    You reap what you sow

    Very interesting story... predictable at the end but it was a good read. Very fast at only 11 pages but I liked it over all and it ended on a great sense of foreboding.

    Perfect story if you have 15 minutes to kill.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Enjoyable Short Story

    Very Twilight Zone-esk.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    Not Bad

    It was an interesting short story, but I would have liked to see it drawn out a little longer with more development of the characters and plot. However ... for the short story it was, it's not bad!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    .

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    uh

    Weird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Short to the point

    Good little book but it could be a tad longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Nothing Special

    Ok story. Creepy enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Good

    A nice little read. I wish it was as simple to get rid of your problums.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Nice short story

    It was pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Somewhat Spooky

    It is a short that is much like an episode of Twilight Zone or something. You follow the main character as it unfold's and the twist at the end is unvailed. Morale of the story is: choose wisely where you buy your apples :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    I liked it!

    It was spooky. And short. It would have made a good novel, or maybe even series. I thought it was a good fall read! Though anytime would work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Short Story- Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Short story

    Nice ti know there still people puttinv short storiest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Not bad

    Good little short story. Not the best ive ever read, but far from the worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    It wasn't scary, just a little creepy. It was good.

    It wasn't scary, just a little creepy. It was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Good

    Good short, was expecting more, wanted more. Ending was abrupt, no resolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 651 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33