BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cain's Apples

Average Rating 3.5
( 2231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(488)

4 Star

(515)

3 Star

(652)

2 Star

(343)

1 Star

(233)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Cain's Apple

This was my first read on the Nook and it had me really interested. I feel that the end could have been a little better and the main characters home life a little more established but overall a decent read.

posted by readalot123 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Draft

This is a great idea, but that is all it is. It could have been polished into a very entertaining novel. It is free, has potential, and you can probably read it in 10 minutes is why I have to give this 2 stars.

posted by Amacce on June 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 515 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Cain's Apple

    This was my first read on the Nook and it had me really interested. I feel that the end could have been a little better and the main characters home life a little more established but overall a decent read.

    36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    Easy read.

    Well written short story that's a quick read.

    Perfect for the airport traveller.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Highly recommended

    If you want a quick read during you lunch break this is it. I had a moment to myself before I got my boys up for school. This little story had me saying heck naw by the end. Thank you. Now, how you like them apples?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Enjoyed

    I enjoyed this short story. My only wish on this was that it was longer. Bryan Lee built the plot up and had me in suspense to see what will happen next, but was disappointed on how quick the story went. Good read if you have a few minutes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Interesting Idea...

    I'm going to have to agree with a previous review that there could have been more. It definitely has the potential. It is one of the more recommendable free eBooks in it's section that I've come across, though it does feel somewhat like a story a young student would write up for an English class. Still interesting enough to go through if you have some time to kill.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    Good Short Read

    Well written, but the plot and conclusion were too obvious. I think the writer has talent but needs to take more risks and write something daring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An original story that's fun to read

    Cain's Apples is a good, spooky short story. At only 11 pages, it's quite short, but is gripping and entertaining to read. The plot takes place in just under a week, and everything flowed well. There isn't a lot of character development or background, but the plot is gripping, entertaining, and a little bit eerie. The plot is not very deep, but the way it's told makes it easy to follow and understand, and the ending was perfect, but perhaps a bit predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Nice, short read. A slightly predictable ending especially if yo

    Nice, short read. A slightly predictable ending especially if you are a Twilight Zone fan, which this short story reminded of. Worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Good short book

    Good book for if u have extra time....... luv the book! Realy good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Cute little short story.

    Not highly complicated but kept me interested. It is a nice little short story to keep you busy while waiting in a doctors office or on a quick bus ride, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    pretty good

    nice twist kinda short but fast paced

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny!

    I loved it! I thought it was hilarious. Not the people dying, but how he figred how to use the apples to kill people. Interesting concept! I just wish it was longer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Good story

    Goldylox

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Good book

    That was a rewlly good short story, i loved the twist ending. It should have been a bit longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good writing and plot

    Good writing and plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Very suspensful

    That was creepy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    abigailparker0123123@gmail.com

    Ad me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Entertaining and simple

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    For a free & quick read, pretty good!!!

    I thought this was a book rather than a short story, but I was still pleasantly surprised!!! Some of the dialogue was a bit cliche, but overall, it was well written and I love the idea!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Great Book

    I highly recommend yto read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 515 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26