Customer Reviews for

Cain's Apples

Average Rating 3.5
( 2229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(488)

4 Star

(514)

3 Star

(652)

2 Star

(343)

1 Star

(232)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Cain's Apple

This was my first read on the Nook and it had me really interested. I feel that the end could have been a little better and the main characters home life a little more established but overall a decent read.

posted by readalot123 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Draft

This is a great idea, but that is all it is. It could have been polished into a very entertaining novel. It is free, has potential, and you can probably read it in 10 minutes is why I have to give this 2 stars.

posted by Amacce on June 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2232 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 112
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Good short book

    Good book for if u have extra time....... luv the book! Realy good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I LOVED this book! It reminded me of the program The Twilight Z

    I LOVED this book! It reminded me of the program The Twilight Zone, that used to come on tv long ago. Additionally, it was very short and only took 15 minutes to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    15

    What happens is the guy buys apples and thier called lary millers. Well thats his boss name and he dies the next day after that he bought nore apples wich were called his friends name ann his friwnd died.One daynhe and his wife got in an argumwnt and he went to th bar got drunk... he went by the apple store and said he wanted more applws. Then cain said soory son theq last batch just sold,then joe asked what they were called and cain said JOE JHONSONS ..
    Then joe dies becauae he got into a car acxident for DUI and dies. His wife ends up with the guy he tries to kill and lives happily ever after. Then the wife says to the husband honey i wanr some apples from cains can u make them (husbands name)........

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Cute little short story.

    Not highly complicated but kept me interested. It is a nice little short story to keep you busy while waiting in a doctors office or on a quick bus ride, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    pretty good

    nice twist kinda short but fast paced

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny!

    I loved it! I thought it was hilarious. Not the people dying, but how he figred how to use the apples to kill people. Interesting concept! I just wish it was longer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    11 pages for a freeby

    waste of my time

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Left a lot to be desired

    This short story would have been great as a plot outline for a Twilight Zone episode or something in that vein, but it falls flat as a self-contained piece. The characters are flat, the plot is rather predictable, and I wanted my 8 minutes back when I'd finished. I was drawn in by the cover, but let me remind you that the cover's not what you should judge a book (or short story) by, at least not if you'd like a decent (worthwhile) read. Wasn't worth the $0 I paid, and I would not recommend it to anyone who likes a *good* read.

    Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    To below

    Agreed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Good book

    That was a rewlly good short story, i loved the twist ending. It should have been a bit longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Meh

    The concept of the story itself is unique, but the charcters were poorly developed, even for a short story. Predictable ending, and I found at least one Deus ex Machina in there. That's a big no-no for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Trina loved it

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good writing and plot

    Good writing and plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Very suspensful

    That was creepy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good story

    Enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Cool beans

    Awesome short story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    .

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    uh

    Weird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    ;/

    Dont get the point if the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Klc

    Good and fun, worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2232 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 112