Customer Reviews for

Cake Boss: Stories and Recipes from Mia Famiglia

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A Feel-Good Look Behind The Scenes

Viewers of TLC's hit show, Cake Boss, will be delighted to discover that Buddy Valastro, the genial host, has written his memoir. Those not familiar with the show will also quickly become engaged in reading Buddy's life story. Scumptious recipes, gorgeous photographs...
Viewers of TLC's hit show, Cake Boss, will be delighted to discover that Buddy Valastro, the genial host, has written his memoir. Those not familiar with the show will also quickly become engaged in reading Buddy's life story. Scumptious recipes, gorgeous photographs of the finished products and a great memoir make this a book to enjoy and share.

Buddy is the product of a traditional Italian family. His family have been bakers for many generations, and he knew from a child that becoming a pastry/cake baker was the life he wanted. The book traces the Valastro family history. We get to follow the immigration of the family on both sides from Italy to America and hear how they became successes at their Italian bakery.

When Buddy took over, he made some changes that improved the family business while maintaining the traditional Italian fare his customers had grown up loving. He changed ingredients and expanded the cake decoration and custom cake part of the business. Part of the change was the expansion of the business as Buddy makes a splash in the national bridal magazines, and finally on the TV show that has made the bakery a recognized business nationwide. Regardless of the changes, the same core values continue the success of the business; love of family, hard work and the determination to send every customer home happy.

In addition to the engaging memoir, the book includes the recipes that made Carlo's Bakery famous. There are recipes for traditional Italian pastries, cookies, cupcakes and cakes. Along with the recipes are tips on kitchen equipment, quality ingredients, and cooking techniques. This book is recommended for cooks everywhere and for readers interested in a feel-good, interesting story.

posted by sandiek on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

pass better books out there

review states complete with 25 recipes to bad the recipes are not complete with amounts left out on some key incredients

posted by 742726 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Love it!!

    Omg i love buddys cakes

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    :)

    omg! i luv cake boss and this book and i bet if u love anything to do with cakes, u will too. i definetley reccomend this book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Feel-Good Look Behind The Scenes

    Viewers of TLC's hit show, Cake Boss, will be delighted to discover that Buddy Valastro, the genial host, has written his memoir. Those not familiar with the show will also quickly become engaged in reading Buddy's life story. Scumptious recipes, gorgeous photographs of the finished products and a great memoir make this a book to enjoy and share.

    Buddy is the product of a traditional Italian family. His family have been bakers for many generations, and he knew from a child that becoming a pastry/cake baker was the life he wanted. The book traces the Valastro family history. We get to follow the immigration of the family on both sides from Italy to America and hear how they became successes at their Italian bakery.

    When Buddy took over, he made some changes that improved the family business while maintaining the traditional Italian fare his customers had grown up loving. He changed ingredients and expanded the cake decoration and custom cake part of the business. Part of the change was the expansion of the business as Buddy makes a splash in the national bridal magazines, and finally on the TV show that has made the bakery a recognized business nationwide. Regardless of the changes, the same core values continue the success of the business; love of family, hard work and the determination to send every customer home happy.

    In addition to the engaging memoir, the book includes the recipes that made Carlo's Bakery famous. There are recipes for traditional Italian pastries, cookies, cupcakes and cakes. Along with the recipes are tips on kitchen equipment, quality ingredients, and cooking techniques. This book is recommended for cooks everywhere and for readers interested in a feel-good, interesting story.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    pass better books out there

    review states complete with 25 recipes to bad the recipes are not complete with amounts left out on some key incredients

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    BIGGEST CAKE BOSS FAN

    Best book u will ever read i read it and got sad when it ended it maybe expensive but either way u hav to read it i recomend this book for anyone who likes the show or who likes to bake and if u like reading stories about the ups and downs of peoples lives which is pretty much everyone GET IT BEST BOOK EVER BY THE WAY I AM MORE THEN JUST A FAN I AM A CRAVED FAN

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Sounds a-w-e-s-o-m-e Souds awesome,awesome (clap clap Omg!!

    I really want this nook book! Feeling:impatient

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    great book except....

    the ebook version i read on my nook is missing ingredients for the recipes, it has a ? instead of the actual measure so i'm not sure how the cakes, pastries ect wil turn out. very disappointing

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    ???? :(

    Want relly badly

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    LOVE!!!!!!!

    I just got the book today and read some of the frist pages Buddy is a baking guru in my eyes,he runs a bakery and website/factory. He deals with so much can't wait to dig into more of the book.:D

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Omg

    I cant wait to get this sounds great

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!

    I only got the sample on my nook because it was too expensive ,but I found it at the library!:) I read it and it was great!I couldn't stop reading it!It did have some sad parts but overall it was great.I love the show and now I can't wait to make the red velvet cake or chocolate chip cookies!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Love!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loooooovvve cake boss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Omg

    I just cant wait to read the whole entire book i love to watch the show so mutch and i love hearing about the show ILOVE CAKEBOSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cant wait to read it

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Omg

    Omg this book is amazing i love buddy and watch cake boss every day

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended. Good story, Great recipes

    Even though I am a hudge fan of Buddy Valastro himself and enjoyed reading his family's story. I was aftraid this book would not have many recipes. To my relief, it does! Buddy tells his entire story, starting from his grandfather. It was interesting to read how the Valastro baking began. The recipes in the back are numerous and have his more popular ones. There are recipes on cakes, pies, patries, fillings and frostings. I was very happy with the purchase of this book! If you can't get enough of the show, this book is a must have!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    buddy is so awesome

    i love this book and buddy himself

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER

    this book is sooooo interesting to read and they have the best recipes as well!!!!! it is a must buy!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Buddy never faill Buddy never fails!

    This book is the show in book verson!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    So badly

    I want the books soooooo bad my mom only let me get the sample cause it is too much money

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    great book

    buddy valastro is the greatest

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7