Customer Reviews for

Cake Mix Doctor

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book

This is an excellent book to use yourself or for gift giving. I've given all the ladies in my family this book and many of my friends. It's wonderful to be able to make scrumptious cakes so easily using boxed cake mixes and a few simple ingredients that many of us alrea...
This is an excellent book to use yourself or for gift giving. I've given all the ladies in my family this book and many of my friends. It's wonderful to be able to make scrumptious cakes so easily using boxed cake mixes and a few simple ingredients that many of us already have on hand. Everyone I've given this book to has used it many times and still thank me for introducing them to the ease of making spectacular cakes. It's a real bargain at the price and a wonderful present would be a homemade cake from this book along with the book and a note from you written inside. That's how I came to have my copy. It was given to me by a friend for my birthday along with a Holy Cow cake. Mmmmmmm, good!

posted by roco on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outdated

Anne Bryn obviously put substantial effort into the making of this book. Unfortunately, it's outdated as most of the cake recipes call for using a cake mix WITHOUT pudding in the mix. Since all three major brands -- Duncan Hines, Pillsbury, and Betty Crocker -- now ha...
Anne Bryn obviously put substantial effort into the making of this book. Unfortunately, it's outdated as most of the cake recipes call for using a cake mix WITHOUT pudding in the mix. Since all three major brands -- Duncan Hines, Pillsbury, and Betty Crocker -- now have pudding in all their mixes, at least in the supermarkets in my area, the recipes will not turn out as intended. That said, the icing recipes are terrific, as is the section on chocolate, and the many tidbits of information she includes throughout the book on cakes and baking are fun reading. I've yet to find an up-to-date cookbook for jazzing up cake mixes, but two superb 'scratch' cake cookbooks are 'The Cake Bible' and 'The Cake Book.'

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Cake Doctor - for the neighborhood cake lady

    My husband and I moved into a new region of the country and a brand new development three years ago. Most of my new neighbors were in the same situation as we were -- a thousand miles or more from our children and famiy, and new to the southeast. In no time, it became apparent that if birthday celebrations were to be had, we were on our own. It was my idea that my new friends should begin a tradition of celebrating birthdays together ... dinner and birthday cake once a month to celebrate another good year gone by, and a new year to look forward to. Cake was the central theme - for a change, wine took second fiddle!

    In no time, I ran out of cake recipes, and we were eating the same ole' cake every month (it has been three years since our tradition began). I saw the book "The Cake Doctor" reviewed on television, and I ordered it immediately. I searched the book for a good, Fall seasonal cake ... and chose the German Chocolate Cake recipe. I am here to tell you that all of my friends commented that the German Chocolate Cake was THE BEST CAKE OF ALL, considering all of birthday celebrations we have shared over three years. The cake takes less than 10 minutes to make, and less than one hour to bake. Out of the oven, no frosting is necessary, since it has been added into the batter prior to baking -- genius!!! I am hooked, and I look only to the Cake Doctor when preparing our celebratory cakes from now on! Good baking, good fun ... enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Excellent book

    This is an excellent book to use yourself or for gift giving. I've given all the ladies in my family this book and many of my friends. It's wonderful to be able to make scrumptious cakes so easily using boxed cake mixes and a few simple ingredients that many of us already have on hand. Everyone I've given this book to has used it many times and still thank me for introducing them to the ease of making spectacular cakes. It's a real bargain at the price and a wonderful present would be a homemade cake from this book along with the book and a note from you written inside. That's how I came to have my copy. It was given to me by a friend for my birthday along with a Holy Cow cake. Mmmmmmm, good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cake mix bible!

    Love this book! Haven't ever made a "bad" recipe. Easy and delicious and they always turn out perfectly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Outdated

    Anne Bryn obviously put substantial effort into the making of this book. Unfortunately, it's outdated as most of the cake recipes call for using a cake mix WITHOUT pudding in the mix. Since all three major brands -- Duncan Hines, Pillsbury, and Betty Crocker -- now have pudding in all their mixes, at least in the supermarkets in my area, the recipes will not turn out as intended. That said, the icing recipes are terrific, as is the section on chocolate, and the many tidbits of information she includes throughout the book on cakes and baking are fun reading. I've yet to find an up-to-date cookbook for jazzing up cake mixes, but two superb 'scratch' cake cookbooks are 'The Cake Bible' and 'The Cake Book.'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Good Shortcuts, Not My Favorite Recipes...

    This would have been a great book if I had no experience in the kitchen, and I mean no experience. It is primarily a book for people who do not know their way around the kitchen, but want to make something tasty for a party or potluck. Some are very tasty, some are not what I envisioned them. Overall, not a bad book. Excellent reading inside, though. Gives examples on how to jazz up many of these recipes and helps a beginning cook realize you can alter things without screwing them up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    #1 Cake Cookbook Ever!

    I absolutely love this book, all the beautiful color photos of the cakes and the clear, simple directions are amazing! Though I haven't had the book for very long I've made the Snickerdoodle Cake and the Caramel Cake. Both were delicious, particularly the Caramel Cake, the frosting was sublime! This book is definitely a good investment for anyone who loves to bake!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Special cakes, cookies and bars made easy!

    Every dessert I have made from this book has been a hit! Now the people I work with think that I am such a great baker ;) They just don't realize that with The Cake Mix Doctor they could make treats just as good as mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Made a believer out of me - don't mock it until you try it

    I am a die hard baker make all my desserts and dinners from scratch. A very respected fellow baker told me about cake mix books and that most if her cakes are not Fu ll scratch. Although this was not my choice in books (my 8 yr old told hubby I wanted and she got it for my birthday) I'm glad I didn't not return it. At times with making a full dinner I'm pretty exhausted and overwhelmed myself by making a homemade cake so onmy hubby birthday I decided to give this a try we baked the chocolate cake because my recipe calls for coffee I added instant coffee to this and everyone thought it was my original recipe. I did grandma coconut another shocker this was handy when My daughter wanted to raise money for a pc tablet and though it would be a great opportunity to try it because teaching her from scratch was too much work for me me after a full day of work. Well she made the better for you pound cake, breakfast cinnamon cake, chocolate and more orders have poured in. I. Truly recommend especially for large crows where mote than one cake is necessary don't give up on your fav recipes but keep these handy when you need a quick mix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It needs to be on every baker's shelf!

    This book is fabulous. It should be on every baker's shelf regardless of their skill level in the kitchen. It has classy cake recipes and simple dump cake recipes. It is easy to use, is very practical, has great ideas, has creative suggestions and has interesting information about everything from cake mix history to storage to non-stick idea. It was both comprehensive and entertaining at the same time. The illustrations and the books presentation were perfect. The book made me want to bake.even in the middle of summer! This would be a great gift to give any woman who likes to bake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Cake Doctor is a great book for making unique and classic desserts fast.

    This book is easy to use and has a variety of desserts from fruit pizzas, brownies, biscotti, cookies, and so many types of cakes. The recipes are simple and the ingredients that you add to cake mixes to make the desserts are not expensive and are easy to find in most any grocery store. I do not have a lot of time and this book allows me to still bake for my husband and friends. I would suggest this book to anyone no matter their level- beginners to experts. It also makes a great gift,if you want to give your secrets away:) Also the recipes give you lots of ideas and options.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    The best!

    Don't be tempted by the other cake mix books out there--this is THE one to get for your $!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    A must have!

    This is an awesome book with recipes for those who like to cook and those who don't. Most recipes are no fail. . . and many make it look like you spent alot more time than you did in the kitchen. This one is a little better the the Chocolate Cake Mix Doctor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Why aren't more people using this book?

    I've made the carrot cake, Kaluha cake, and snickerdoodle cake, among others. Each time, no one could believe that the delicious dessert they were licking their lips over started from a mix! I've shown the book to friends and family, and some of them have bought a copy of their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Outstanding!

    My 7-year-old son loved the red velvet cake we ate at a fancy country club lunch, so I requested the recipe. The recipe had been copied directly from the pages of this book! I have baked numerous cakes from this book and received rave reviews from them all. My most recent successes have been Susan's lemon cake and the simple strawberry cake (I baked mine in a sheet pan and it turned out wonderful). I reach for this book everytime for special occasion cakes and bake sales alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    Holy Cow cake

    My friends and I made the holy cow cake from this book and it was amazingly delicious.. no one could believe it was made from a cake mix with some ingredients added! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Cakes are now my signature thing

    I have made the caramel cake (using 1/2 cup of fat free evaporated milk in the caramel frosting rather than 1/4 cup whole milk) and the Mt. Vernon Cake. In the future I'll chop the cherries for the Mt. Vernon cake in half so as to be able to cover all of the cake layers. Caramel Cake: 5 star:I was thrilled with this cake in particular. All the recipes sound quite easy. Having tried to make cakes from scratch that don't always turn out I find that using cake mix as a base helps ensure a better outcome! Hooray for this book. Makes a great gift with a nice cake platter to boot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    A wonderful book

    Before I found this book in the library I thought cake mix cakes were terrible. I had tried them before and they always had a cake mix taste besides I was such a food snob that I believed that no cake mix could produce a better cake than from scratch. But after trying the Darn Good Chocolate cake I changed my mind. There was no cake mix after taste and it became my favorite chocolate cake (not to mention the easiest to make). This book gives you a wealth of information not just about cake mixes but about baking and where certain cakes came from that I find interesting. I loved this book so much I had to buy my own copy. I would reccommend it to anybody especially a new cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Thank you thank you I'm a hit.

    This book is very easy and simple to cook with. I'm a hit in the kitchen and at family gathering. I always have to bring the Red Velvet and Caramel Cake. This is all I need in the kitchen besides my cake pans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    Baking should always be this easy.

    My husband bought this after reading a review. I makes the most basic mix come out like a work of art. As someone who normally bakes from scratch I recommend this book to all non-bakers. I actually gave a recipe to someone on the bus from memory. The Fuzzy Naval Cake was my favorite non-chocolate cake. I even had my husband bake the Darn Good Chocolate cake for a baby shower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    Awsome Book

    This Book is Cool I just Bought it and It is Neat I love to Cook so I am Going to Cook Cakes and Browines. 'I have met a lot of people who say that the book is good for any one who Loves to cook Just like me.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2