Customer Reviews for

Calamity Jayne

Average Rating 4
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!

Tressa (Calamity) Jayne is a hoot! This isn't your typical romance nor is it a typical mystery but there are aspects of each in this fun and easy to read book. After I read Calamity Jayne, I lent the book to my 14 year old daughter who also got a kick out of it!

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

E

Did not like.The dumb blond routine became boring pretty quickley.

posted by 892267 on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Too "Over-The-Top"

    Some snappy dialogue, some funny descriptions and situations, BUT the author seems to have been trying too hard to be cute. The "heroine" is way too ditzy and klutzy---it is totally unbelievable that any reasonably intelligent person would constantly do such stupid things. The "hero" bordered on unkind at times, hard to see the chemistry between them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    This book could have been good had not the main character been s

    This book could have been good had not the main character been so silly. I am sure the author was trying for (early) Evanovich, but she is not (early) Evanovich. Her attempts to add humor worked out to ridiculous behavior on the part of Calamity. Silly like biting the ankle of a guy and getting into situations nobody on earth would get into. The silliness spoiled the book for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Entertaining

    It was a entertaining read, but a bit too much of repeating of information at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    What ages?

    What ages is this book for? I am nine, does anyone think that I would like this book? The reviews looked good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Cute book.

    A good bit of writing and punctuation errors but overall a cute story. Wld recommend for a quick fun read. If your looking for an in-depth love or crime story look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    A Great Fun Read!

    I loved everything about this book except for the "Rambo" like ending which is what kept me from giving it 5 stars. It was a real page turner; I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Good Summer/Beach Read

    I enjoyed this easy read......nothing much to think about, just sit and enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    ok

    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Entertaining

    I liked the book overall but there are a few times when the author gets a little "wordy" while trying to add humor to Calamity Jane's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Fun

    I thought this was a fun story, but the editing left something to be desired. Misspellings, grammar mistakes, missing punctuation. I find that very dustracting when I am reading a published work. Also, using texting abbreviations in your writing is unprofessional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Good book

    A real fun story. I almost didn't read it because it was listed as a romance but it was an excellent mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    light-hearted read

    enjoyed reading this light-hearted book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Eh

    I couldnt really get into it..the ditz thing was taken to far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Calamity Jane


    Written for a young audience. Entertaining and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Light read

    Light mystery. Easy read. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Fun, light hearted, simple read.

    Hope the author writes more! This is a fun, simple read. Would love to get to know the character better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3