Customer Reviews for

Calamity Jayne

Average Rating 4
( 454 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!

Tressa (Calamity) Jayne is a hoot! This isn't your typical romance nor is it a typical mystery but there are aspects of each in this fun and easy to read book. After I read Calamity Jayne, I lent the book to my 14 year old daughter who also got a kick out of it!

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

E

Did not like.The dumb blond routine became boring pretty quickley.

posted by 892267 on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 128 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Enjoyed the story

    I enjoyed a lot of the pop culture references and the complexity of the story. I did not care for the incesant babbling of the main character or reading about her insecurities over and over again. However, I am interested in reading more in the series, as it did keep me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Funny

    really enjoyed reading this, some good giggles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Entertaining

    The plot was good enough where I could not put it down. The author tried too hard to be funny which came off as a bad forced Stephanie Plum copycat. The author trying to be funny was the only discouraging thing about this book. It is a good beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Good ror a laugh

    Can't wait for the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Fun read. Highly recommend.

    Overall a good read. The beginning seemed a little wordy. Once the author got going it was very entertaning, actually laugh out loud funny. Reminded me of some of the early Evanovich books. Looking foreard to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Cute

    Fast easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Well done, hilarious, hard to put down.

    Well done, hilarious, hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Fun, Easy Read

    This book delivers what I expected from it. Calamity Jayne is a fun, easy to get through book. Quirky characters kept me smiling while reading. A hot, aggravating (to the heroine) hero is a perfect match for Calamity's mishaps.

    This would have been a 5 star book if there hadn't been so many grammatical and spelling errors. As is it still gets 4 stars and a purchase of the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Hilarious!

    Very funny, laugh out loud book. Was similar to Janet Evanovich's stephanie plum books, but it was a fresh take.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I love this book!!

    I love this book even though I have'nt even finished it but, its good because I can relate to it. Since its about a girl living in Iowa and she has a country background. I can't wait to finish it. And I do reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Hilarious Fun!

    I am so glad I dowloaded this book! This was a funny "whodunit" with plenty of laugh out loud moments. It is slightly over the top and slap-sticky at times, but the book is well written overall. Tressa "Calamity" Jayne is a great character that is instantly likable. And the supporting cast is great too. I am looking forward to reading all the other books in the series to find out what Tressa will get up to next - and how Ranger Rick fits in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    If you want a good laugh

    I liked this book so much i bought the boxset ! if you want a book with humor this is it. Its free too so you cant beat that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Excellent

    Great story...funny...quirky...mystery...little romance..it has it all. Reads similar to Evonavich's number series but has it's own 'flavor'....enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Very entertaining

    One of the funniest books i have ever read. The main character is one in a million. Not only funny but a good mystery as well. Definately worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Great read

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Must read!

    This is a funny whodunit that won't let you put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    A light-hearted story

    While not the best book I have ever read, I enjoyed this humorous who dunnit. Good light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Kept me guessing & laughing

    I read the reviews and admit I was not really planning to enjoy this book. But, I did. I don't often find mystery and humor in the same book. Aside from the blonde jokes being a bit over-done, i enjoyed this. Many unexpected twists kept me guessing all along. I was totaly caught off gaurd by the ending. For a free book, this was great. I would happily pay for another if this was a series. Great way to spend time with a light read. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Sara

    Great fun read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    check it out

    funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 128 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7