Customer Reviews for

Calamity Jayne

Average Rating 4
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!

Tressa (Calamity) Jayne is a hoot! This isn't your typical romance nor is it a typical mystery but there are aspects of each in this fun and easy to read book. After I read Calamity Jayne, I lent the book to my 14 year old daughter who also got a kick out of it!

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

E

Did not like.The dumb blond routine became boring pretty quickley.

posted by 892267 on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 455 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Too silly

    This book was too silly and disjointed for me to even get past the second chapter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    This book could have been good had not the main character been s

    This book could have been good had not the main character been so silly. I am sure the author was trying for (early) Evanovich, but she is not (early) Evanovich. Her attempts to add humor worked out to ridiculous behavior on the part of Calamity. Silly like biting the ankle of a guy and getting into situations nobody on earth would get into. The silliness spoiled the book for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    My first Calamity Jane book and not my last.

    My first Calamity Jane book and not my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Book was TOO funny & not in the best way.

    I read all 595 pages but had to breeze over a lot of unecessary "humor". Storyline was ok but I felt the writer put in too much junk to make it easy to read. (dw)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Ok

    I liked the storyline it was super funny and intense, but it had too much language and suggestable stuff for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    What a great book!! It is well written and not rushed. Once I

    What a great book!! It is well written and not rushed. Once I started reading I couldn't put it down and it has been ages sense a book has made me laugh so much. I am going to get the rest of the series that is out. If you like a well written book that holds your interest and keeps entertained and laughing then this is the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Loved this series!

    I found this author's sense of humor totally awesome...this is the first in the series, but the rest to the series are equally amusing to enjoy reading...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to anyone with a tender heart, who believes a romance, and has a great sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Funny

    I am a fan of the Bond series. This one did not grab me like they did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    This book is so funny! !!

    This book had me laughing from start to finish. You will love this book. Going yo get book 2 right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Light fun reading

    This book has romance, mystery, and a lot of laughs. I have enjoyed every book in the series. Wish there were more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    This is def. a series to read! This book has it all. Suspense, r

    This is def. a series to read!
    This book has it all. Suspense, romance, and a pair of nutty seniors to keep you interested. It took a little bit for me personally to get into
    the story but once I was, I was hooked! I'm now on Book #3, and I can't wait to read the rest of the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    This was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. Calam

    This was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. Calamity Jayne wants to be plain ol' Jayne, and it tired of not being taken seriously. She is also tired of Ranger Rick's mouth, but maybe she isn't tired of the mouth. Maybe it's just while it's talking she has an issue.

    My top 3 things from this book:
    1) the raccoon tattoo
    2) her elderly partner in crime
    3) the surprise ending

    Overall: This book was funny and interesting, and it had me guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Highly entertaining

    I liked the main character and the hilarious situations she finds herself in. It's like when you dream of speaking in front of a large audience and then discover you aren't wearing any clothes. The main character keeps finding herself in embarrassing situations and the hits keep coming. I found the pace didn't lag, and I didn't want to put the story down because I wanted to see what ridiculous situation the heroine would find herself in next. Then the story turned into a mystery which kept me guessing until the very end, and I loved it. No, I wouldn't recommend it for the 11 year old that asked; not because it's a romance, (it isn't) but because there are a few tastefully done yet graphic scenes of violence in the last half of the book. There are also some adult situations not appropriate for an 11 year old. About the scene with the main character taking the wrong car: believe it or not, this can happen. It almost happened to me. In broad daylight a few years ago I used my electronic car door opener to open what I thought was my car door in a Walmart parking lot. I got in and actually started the car, wich was the same year, make and model and color of my van, which was actually parked two spots away. What finally clued me in to it being the wrong vehicle is that I'd left some papers in a folder on the passenger seat that were missing. When I turned to look behind the passenger seat to see if they had fallen there, I saw the same model child seat that was in my van, but the color didn't look right. I thought at first that maybe the sunlight was making the color look different, and it wasn't until I hopped out to check it that I realized it was definitely not my child's car seat! I had wild thoughts for about two seconds of wondering how I ended up with the wrong car seat before I happened to glance two spaces over and see my own red van sitting there. You'd better believe I hopped out of that other van in a hurry, after turning off the engine and locking the doors back up, also with my key! I was so afraid someone would think I'd been trying to steal their van and never believe me, but when a Walmart employee walked by as I was exiting the first van, I explained what had happened and he told me this happens more than people realize. Apparently, usually the key will just open the door though and not actually start the engine. I have never felt quite as secure as a car owner since that incident, however, and I always check my passenger seat for something I leave there BEFORE I open the van door.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Mamasaint60

    How do you take the wrong car? JS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Does this book have any romance in it

    Cuz im 11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Funny

    Loved this book from the get go

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Great fun

    Could not stop reading this incredibly entertainung and well written story. Calamity jane is a delightful character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    I laughed a time or two but no romance just blonde jokes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Loved this series

    Humor, mystery and romance. Love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Entertaining

    It was a entertaining read, but a bit too much of repeating of information at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 455 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23