Customer Reviews for

Calculated in Death (In Death Series #36)

Average Rating 4
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

opps

already available on iBook and reading... Nook is not meeting promised availability dates!!!

posted by 3333899 on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

What's happened to JD??

I have been a loyal reader of the In Death series since they first came out, but with the exception of New York to Dallas I have found all recent additions to be lackluster and completely yawn-worthy. This one was the worst offender. The subject matter was boring, once ...
I have been a loyal reader of the In Death series since they first came out, but with the exception of New York to Dallas I have found all recent additions to be lackluster and completely yawn-worthy. This one was the worst offender. The subject matter was boring, once again she introduced WAY too many characters and by the end I really couldn't care less who the villian was. I used to find that with a less than stellar plot Robb would make up for it with great dialogue/romance with Eve and Roarke. Yeah...not so much. As much as I used to look forward to two installments a year, I would suggest Robb (if she is even really doing the writing any more) cut back to just one and concentrate on recapturing the writing quality found in earlier books like Portrait and Kindred In Death. I can't imagine that I am the only one who's loyalty is being tested.

posted by 3585632 on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Angela Shikany

    I like the married love aspect in this one. Eve has finally learned to letRoarke give her the nurturing he needs to give. Yes it's a bit formulaic but I still enjoy the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    good one

    Good fast reaf

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Good book, alittle slow at first. Hang in there

    Yes this one was slow to started, but the ending was worth it.
    For those that wish the series would stop, will speak for your self. If you want the series to stop, don't buy the next one......
    You can't do that because you love the series and Nora Roberts/Robb.

    Me too and i'm wailing for the next one

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Loved it. Another winner for J.D. Robb.

    Loved it. Another winner for J.D. Robb.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Jazz it up!

    It's easy to say end it. Try giving constructive criticism! Maybe two books a year is too much. Really I want to know more about her roots. Yes her mother and father would put me off about having children, but we know Rourke wants children with Eve. Work something from that angle. Ending the series is not the solution. Robb has written over thirty plus books with these characters, but only two plus years have passed. I love this series! So don't even think of quitting. The withdrawls would be unbearable!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I should have known something would happen that would interfere

    I should have known something would happen that would interfere with the movie premiere. Silly me for thinking that Eve and the gang could have a night out on the town enjoying the excitement and hype of the premiere dressed in their glitterati with the flashbulbs blasting away. Wait a minute, what was I thinking? It’s Eve so OF COURSE, it would happen and I really think Eve prefers it that way. With Calculated In Death, Eve and her team are investigating the death of an accountant who also happens to be the sister-in-law of a judge. At first glance, it appears the murder is due to a random mugging, but Eve quickly picks up on clues left at the crime scene that lead her to believe the murder was actually a professional hit. Once again, Eve quickly pieces together clues that lead her and Peabody to the killer.




    Not enough Roark or Summerset in this story, unfortunately, but one of my favorite parts of the book involves a scene with Eve and Summerset after she comes home pretty banged up after a foot pursuit with the killer gets ugly. Summerset actually convinces Eve to take a blocker and she actually listens to him! I was so shocked that there wasn’t more of a fight. Is Eve getting soft where Summerset is concerned? Is she starting to care about him? Nah, probably not, but as much as I enjoy their snarky poke and jab sessions, I love love love the scenes where they actually have a civil conversation and where there’s a hint of some compassion, empathy or other human emotion. Just a hint, however. Anything more wouldn’t be believable. Then again, anything is possible. They certainly have come a long way since the early books, where their animosity was mutual and vibrated off the pages with a such a resounding energy, that it was impossible to misinterpret the depth of their dislike of one another as anything else.




    I also enjoyed that Eve didn’t seem to be as haunted by the demons of her past as she usually is. I won’t go so far as to say she has finally turned a corner, but I think she has a much better handle on it than she realizes. 




    My Final Verdict: Overall, a very good and entertaining installment that delivers the usual blend of mystery, thriller, romance and humor. I am looking forward to the next offering as Roark’s family from Ireland is coming for a visit and I so enjoy seeing Eve try to navigate her way around what having a family means.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Loved it

    I love how the character relationships keep growing and how Eve continues to expand her circles.( Standing up for the actors from Celebrity in Death) Previous cases are not closedand forgotten. Eve and Roarke continue to make me smile and I often laugh out loud when reading Nora/J.D. No other author has made me do this. I however would like some more meat to the murder cases and investigations. Confound me some more with juicier cases! All in all I loved itand can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    Good story, but not enough Roarke!

    I have read all of the "In Death" books, some several times, and enjoy the stories and the characters. I enjoy these books because of the main characters. Who can resist the interaction and witty dialogue between Lt. Eve Dallas and Det. Peabody during the course of their investigations. And of course, there is the great love story between Eve and her sexy billionaire husband Roarke. In this the 36th book in the series, the story starts with the discovery of a woman's body in the stairwell of an empty apartment. What appears to be a mugging gone wrong, leads Lieutenant Eve Dallas and Detective Peabody into the dark world of corruption and murder amongst the rich and powerful. Eve utilizes her relationship with her billionaire husband Roarke to go deep into the world of big business in order to catch the person or persons responsible. My only complaint, not enough Roarke. He is very definitely a key ingredient in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good read, left me wanting more.

    Good read, left me wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    love all jdrobb series. would love to read about eve and roarke

    love all jdrobb series. would love to read about eve and roarke starting a family or adopting. more about marvis and bella; and peabody

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Aberry1282@yahoo

    Add me as a nook friend

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Love the series.

    I always enjoy Dallas and Rourke.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Grant

    Hello

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Tsubaki

    Also bored.n

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Phoenix

    Gtg

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Great, but........

    Enjoyed the book, but got to the epilogue, and not able to finish the book.
    There seems to be a glitch, keeps repeating pages 285-287, and not continuing on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Calculated in Death

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    AWESOME!

    As always, Eve Dallas and crew triumph!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    another winner

    This is another in the excellent 'In Death' series.
    If you're a fan of the earlier books, then this is for you.
    Our favorite characters continue in their search for answers in the newest death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Loved it!!

    I've been a fan of the "In Death" series before I realized that it was Nora Roberts. As always, the plot is interesting and the story moves quickly. The author doesn't bog the story down with a lot of unnecesssary verbiage. Although you don't need to read all of the books in the series, it does help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3