Customer Reviews for

Calico Canyon

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I'd give this book a 10 if I could. My favorite book ever. So mu

    I'd give this book a 10 if I could. My favorite book ever. So much fun to be had reading this one. Grace and Daniel are forced to marry
    and it is one wild ride to loving and trusting. His five rowdy boys give Grace a hard time, but she slowing wins them over. If you have
    not read this one you should do so now. I can't wait to read this one over and over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fun read

    Grace comes across as a snotty school teacher who looks down her nose at everyone around her. But Grace is hiding her past. She is supporting her adoptive sister and brothers back in Chicago and is only living on 2 dollars a month! Her other secret her adoptive abusive father finds her and Grace escapes into the wagon of Daniel Reeves. He can’t stand the school teacher and she does not think very highly of him either. Daniel has 5 active boys and Grace does not know how to handle them. After spending the night at Daniels home she is forced to marry him. To top it off a blizzard traps them all together for months! Will these two come to love each other by the time the snow melts or will they drive each other crazy?

    This is book two in the Lassoed in Texas series. I enjoyed it and liked how Grace came across being a jerk but deep down she was a nice person.

    What I liked: I really like the Reeve boys I kept laughing at their antics and how at first they did not like Grace but slowly they came to call her Ma. It was also fun to watch Grace and Daniel fall in love comedy and all.

    What I did not like: The story seemed a little unbelievable at first. They hate each other but it did not take very long for that to change. Grace also went from a timid girl to a spitfire woman really fast and it just seemed like a sudden change. She was also really young and Daniel had to explain everything to her even how babies where made!

    Over all I enjoyed this book but it did not quite live up to what I expected. I am interested to read the third book and see how the storyline started in this book develops and blossoms in the next book. This book was quite funny and still a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    A read worth anyone's time.

    I have read almost every book by Mary Connealy and haven't been disappointed once. I have to say that this is probably one of my favorites. After Daniel lost his first wife, he's had to raise five boys all on his own, which he does in a rather uncouth way. Grace is a tight laced school teacher with a past of her own to deal with, and is almost afraid of the five mischievous Reeves boys. However, through the devious minds of some meddlesome townsfolk, they find their lives thrown together--for better or for worse.
    Daniel's fears about losing another wife are realistic, and I love how Grace's character grows and adapts as she learns to love the madhouse she finds herself tied to. If you love those stories about love/hate relationships, this is a must read. I hope you enjoy Calico Canyon as much as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Terrific book - a light fun read!

    Realy enjoy this author. She makes the characters come alive and seem so very real. There is humor throughout the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    So good!!

    Loved every minute of it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Calico Canyon

    Mary Connealy is an excellent writer, her books are so funny. This is no exception. This is book 2 in the series and as soon as I finished it I ordered book 3. If you like romance in the west and want to laugh, this is great !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Rollicking, Romantic, and Funny!

    This book is a rollicking good time, one hilarious, suspenseful page after another. Don¿t miss this romantic comedy by the author of Petticoat Ranch. Grace Calhoun is the prim and proper school teacher whose life is made a living torture by Daniel Reeves¿ five boys¿ten-year-old twins and five-year-old triplets whose mother died giving birth to the triplets. Daniel is right proud of his boys and doesn¿t take to the new school teacher complaining about them and trying to nag him into making girls out of them. In fact, he ends up getting Grace fired. But it doesn¿t matter, because the day Grace gets fired is the day her past catches up with her. Someone is after her and he¿s ready for the ultimate revenge. I felt for poor Grace, getting trapped in the Canyon with Daniel and his unruly boys all winter. But she ended up holding her own. It was Daniel who was in for a miserable time! This book was so good, I¿m keeping it to read again later. So funny and realistic at the same time. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    As with every book of Mary's that I have read, I loved it.  Ever

    As with every book of Mary's that I have read, I loved it. 
    Everyone in town has the impression of Grace as the snooty, proper teacher who newly moved into town. 
    She struggles to control Daniel Reeves' five rambunctious boys--three are a set of triplets, and the other two are twins. When, one day, everything in class gets completely out of hand, Daniel pays a visit and ends up getting Grace fired and his boys kicked out of school for the semester.


    The same day, Grace's abusive adoptive father pays her a visit. She hides from him in a wagon, only to realize the wagon belongs to none other than Daniel Reeve. Daniel finds her when he arrives home, and then the next day, the parson pays them a visit and forces them to marry. Poor Grace is stuck in a home full of six males, the very ones who got her fired from the job she desperately needed.

    This book is amazing! I can't wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    CANT WAIT

    VIOLETSONG

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Crystalfrost

    Awesome! Five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Calicopaw's Prophecy, Chapter 3: Making Friends

    Calico opened her eyes sleepily the next morning and yawned widely, stretching and the she began licking her brother's neck. "Rock, Rock come on get up!" She meowed impatiently. Rock just groaned and rolled over. "Rock, I swear, your as lazy as a doormouse!" Calico muttered and leaped out of her nest, walking to the entrance/exit of the nursery. She purred softly, basking in the warmth of the sun, reveling in it's light then she shook out her fur and strode over to Orangekit, Glowkit, and Goldkit. "Good morning." She purred. "Hi Calico!" They greeted her in unision. "So we were planning to sneak out of camp and go hunting. It is Leaf-fall, the Clan needs to get more food for the harsh season Leaf-bare." Orangekit mewed, her orange fur on end with excitement. "Sounds good to-" "Hey, hey, hey whoa. Slow down a minute. Go out of camp? As in... Go into the forest?" Rock cut his sister off, making the other four kits jump. "Well about time. Haven't you heard,'The early bird catches the worm'?" Orangekit teased him. "Blech! Who would want to eat a worm?" Rock asked, sticking his tongue out in disgust. Calico and the other two she kits rolled their eyes in exasperation. Goldkit just smirked. "Anyway, you didn't answer my question." Rock meowed, flicking his right black tipped ear. "Well I thought you were just trying to be funny. Duh we're going out of camp. Wanna come?" Orangekit meowed sassily. "Well..." Rock trailed of uncertainly. "Oh come ON...." Orangekit pleaded. "Well.... I suppose...." Rock mewed hesitantly. "It's settled then! We'll head out after the sunhigh patrols head out, then there won't be a lot of warriors about." Glowkit jumped in, not intending to be outdone by her sister. "Game on..." Calico purred, curling her tail happily. ~ (Sooo sorry it's late D: I had no ideas what so ever. I'll try to write more from now on.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    First and last Mary Connealy book!

    There are some laughs and lovable characters. However there was a major flaw to me. Grace's abusive stepfather has followed her into a small town so he can hurt or kill her. He is not able to get to her because she is snowed in with her husband and his children. So he decides to wait it out until spring and gets a job as the local school teacher. There he starts abusing the local children under the guise of discipline. This is where the book jumped track. The little girls he abuses the most has sisters in the class. Yet they never tell their parents. These are children with a strong mother and a doting father. THEY WOULD HAVE TOLD THEIR PARENTS. Instead they plan a booby trap for the teacher. THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN TO AFRAID. The other children this man has abused were orphans. Makes sense. They had no one to turn to. This was such a major part of the book I found myself skimming whole chapters that dealt when the teacher /abused student relationship. Also it would have been nice if Daniel a good Christian could have shown one moment of remorse for getting Grace fired from her teaching job when he realized she was thin and half starved as well as shabby. It would have also been nice if her stepchildren had received one word of reprimand for putting a snake in her desk and a tack on her chair.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    witty and charming

    Who would think rowdy boys could be so much fun. Mary Connealy writes with such charm and wit. Her characters are fun and yet alive with emotions and feelings. Calico Canyon is a wonderful, can't put it down read. There is action, romance and lots of laughs. I loved Mary's other book, Petticoat Ranch and can hardly wait for Gingham Mountain to come out. Mary is an upcoming author to watch out for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Very cozy adventurous read

    When I got the background on this book, I was a little apprehensive about reading it since I knew that it was about Miss Grace Calhoun. Upon reading Petticoat Ranch Miss Calhoun was present, but only faintly. She was definitely not my favorite character, especially in comparison to the wonders of Sophie and her girls. But, upon reading the first chapter of Calico Canyon Grace came slightly off her pedestal and I began to have some compassion for her. It was by the beginning of chapter three that I was enthralled and ready to commit a full friendship, and by the end of chapter five, I was ready to stand behind her and beat off all the bad guys. Grace is a real person, and just one more example of what you should not just a person by their first impression they leave with you. Grace is so much more than what she seemed and I'm so thrilled that I gave her a chance. But this book is about so much more than just dear Grace. We meet new characters with Tillie and a plausible romance that just makes sense. Tillie and Grace come from completely different backgrounds, but at the same time could not have more in common. Then there is Hannah and the others in Chicago with their own lives of triumph and struggles. This book captures so many real issues and does it in a wonderful fashion and light. Briefly to mention, there is slavery, and child abuse, and death, and love, and do not forget the idea of multiples! Mary did a great job with this story, and I was not at all let down! As a matter of fact I was nervous, to see what would happen. I am curious and anxious now about Hannah and Libby and I do hope that there will be more stories of their lives coming from our great author Mary Connealy. I strongly urge you to take the time to read Calico Canyon, it will not disappoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Blown Away

    I was blown away by the tenderness and the humor in Calico Canyon. Mary Connealy weaves a delightful tale of love and laughter with her impossibly mismatched and yet perfect for each other hero and heroine. I admire Mary's ability to juggle an ensemble cast while not losing the story thread. You won't be disappointed in Calico Canyon. It's a great sequel to her runaway hit Petticoat Ranch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    Mary Connealy's Calico Canyon hooked me with the book's opening lines and never disappointed. The five Reeves boys have different personalities but all are the bane of prissy teacher Grace Calhoun's existence. As if the young woman doesn't have enough trouble with her abusive father set on revenge and siblings she starves herself to support, the boys' father, Daniel, gets her fired. When circumstances force Grace and Daniel to wed, the ceremony is laugh out loud hilarious. And is only the beginning of Grace's woes. With the Reeves snowed in, Graces¿ lunatic father bides his time teaching at the school, venting his wrath on innocent Sally, one of Sophie¿s girls from Petticoat Ranch. But the children save the day. And Grace finds the courage to fight for her sons' affection and for her guilt-ridden husband's love, leading the family to a heartwarming ending. Don't miss Connealy's action-packed, fun, yet tender novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable western romantic suspense

    In 1867 Mosqueros, Texas, new schoolteacher Grace Calhoun dreads the arrival of the ¿Five Horsemen of the Apocalypse¿. As always her class of seven girls and eight boys consist of ten angels and the five Reeves¿ demons ten years old twins Abraham and Isaac, and five years old triplets Mark, Luke and John. The rowdy rascals have Grace questioning her teaching skills while their widow father Daniel writes off their pranks as boys being boys. Deciding on peace the school board Solomon-like fires Grace and expels Daniel¿s children.------------- Grave is heartbroken as she feels justice was not served and besides she needs the money to bring her ragtag family Hannah and the other children from Chicago. Worse, she knows her insane daddy Parrish, who has stalked her and ruined her life everywhere she flees to escape him, has physically arrived. In heavy rain with a ripped nightgown torn by Parrish, Grave flees through the window into the night cutting herself as she falls. Seeing a wagon, she jumps inside the back although she feels that God has forsaken her like everyone else has. In the wintry mix, Daniel goes home unaware of the stowaway. When he discovers her she is cut up badly and fevered. He takes her home, but the Reverend catches them and demands they marry reluctantly they do as she fears he will be another Parrish who still stalks her expecting payment in full.-------------- This engaging return to post Civil War Texas (see PETTICOAT RANCH) is an enjoyable western romantic suspense. The cast is strong especially the lead pairing, the impish quintet, and the villain. Readers will wonder if Grace survives her daddy, will she survive the rowdy rascally Reeves sextet as she feels she has gone from the frying pan into the fire.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2