Customer Reviews for

Calico Captive

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    My favorite book ever!!!!!

    The moment I started reading this book I fell in love with it! There were some parts that I felt a little tiering, but they soon ended. I have recomended this book to a few of my school buddies, who are big readers, and they also loved it! As soon as I got my nook I looked up Calico Captive. It may be a little bit boring for some people, but probily not though. I like books about colonial days and sometimes captive books like this. I could write I whole paper on this book if I wanted to! :0) when I was reading this book, I felt like I was in side the book, and felt like was on the trail with them. Sometimes I felt the emotion they were having. This is a great book about what happened during the French and Indian War, but is fun to read at the same time. I would highly suggest this book for ten to fifteen years old like me. Get this book!!!!!! :0)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    CA Calico Captive

    Elizabeth George Spear writes great books. On of my favorites is Witch Of Blackbird Pond. She has writen many books and I plan to read all her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Reading...

    I am reading this book in class and LOVE it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (500000000 times more stars and exclamation points)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Love it

    This is my favorite book.If you like this book I would suggust reading The Bronze Bow, The Sign of the Beaver, and The Witch of Blackbird Pond also written by Elizabeth George Sphere.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Really Great Book

    I read this as a young adult and have never forgotten it. Just found it on audio and can't wait to listen to it and re-live the adventure. A great book for a pre teen.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    Heather 14, history buff.

    The book Calico Captive is about a girl named Miriam Willard, her sister Suesanna and her family being captured by the Indains in New Hamshire. They have to walk miles and miles across a wild and vast country only to have their family torn apart through the crossfire of the French and Indain War and sold to the French as prisoners of war in Montreal. Miriam is confussed and scard when her older sister is left behind in the indain villiage. Miraim knows that she has to play a completly different role now, but she dosn't know if she can. In motreal she is sent to work for Madame Du Quesnes there she befriends Madames daughter Felicite and another servant named Hortense. After living there for a few months Susanna comes back from the indain villiage to stay with Miraim. She no longer is a servant but a guest in Madames house until James Suesannas' husband gets back with their ransom money from the govener of New Hampshire. She loves liveing Montreal and is good friends with Felicite until she envites Miraim to a party and Pierre Felicites' boyfriend dances with Miraim the entire time, Madame gets angry and kicks Suesanna and Miraim out of the house and on the streets on Montreal with nowhere to go.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Really, (too many to say,) good!!!!!!

    This is a very good book, and I hated to see it end. I only wish there was a sequel to this book!!!!! Highly recommended!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    Fantastic

    As an avid sixteen year old reader of historical fictions, I grabbed a very aged looking book from the library shelf since it was from my favorite author, yet I had never heard of it. Once I started to read it, I was enveloped in this beautifully written story about a girl who isn't sure what road she wants her life to follow. This book is absolutely fantastic, once I started reading, I realy couldn't stop. I finished it in a few hours, and read it over agian. It really is one of my favorite books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    A Wonderful Book

    I haven't read this book since the fifth grade and have been unable to find it until now. I am now a senior in high school and have recently reread this book. It was even better than I remembered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Yo

    IT'S COOL

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    One of my Favorite books!

    Calico Captive is terrific! it has a very exciting plot and the writing is wonderful. also a great historical fiction on the french and indian war!! an outstanding and exciting novel.... this is a must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    wonderful!!!!1

    wonderfully wrote book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    A lovely story

    I found this in my school libray, read it once and I was hooked. Though its probably a classic, its not shakespeare, you can actually read this and enjoy it. I loved how Miram transformed throughout the story and i recommend this book to anyone who are considering to read this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Beautiful

    Beautiful is just 1 word from many great words I would use to describe this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2003

    *OMG this is a good book!*

    I read this book in 5th grade and for a while I have been trying to find it again, so I can enjoy it once more.It was so exciting when I was younger I can't wait to read it again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    Great Book!

    I loved reading this book. I have read other history books and found them somewhat boring but this book was wonderful! I would definitely recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    It made me feel like I was there

    Calico Captive is A beautifuly writen book about a courageous girl who faces:An indian gauntlet,three indians who hate her,a french woman who hates her,and a french man who loves her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    A Wonderfuly Wonderful book!!!

    This book was a great read!!! I read it in 3 days. If your looking for a great read check this book out!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2