Customer Reviews for

California Caress (A Historical Western Romance)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

very awesome steamy book

This is my first review of a romance story. I must say that it was a very good book. Im not going to go into detail. HEHE as that would reck my pg rating for my blog. (this will be copy and pasted to everything) but I must say it was a very good read. So if you love her...
This is my first review of a romance story. I must say that it was a very good book. Im not going to go into detail. HEHE as that would reck my pg rating for my blog. (this will be copy and pasted to everything) but I must say it was a very good read. So if you love heroic romances read it. This book was a very fast read as it only took me two days to read it.

I am doing a contest on my blog for a free ebook copy of this book it ends Sept. 10th. So come follow me and comment to the post of the contest.

posted by Jessica_the_witch on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Western Romance

Hope Bennett was determined to find Drake Frasier to save her brother from being killed. When she did find him though, he was not the guy she thought he was. Drake Frasier had no idea how to react when a beautiful women literally fell into his arms. The first thing he t...
Hope Bennett was determined to find Drake Frasier to save her brother from being killed. When she did find him though, he was not the guy she thought he was. Drake Frasier had no idea how to react when a beautiful women literally fell into his arms. The first thing he thinks is that she is there to betray him and he will stop at nothing to find out if and why she is.

I truly liked this book except for a few things that didn't flow well. There was one common goal in this book and I don't think a true explanation was ever given as to "how" or "why" that goal was accomplished. I felt like the story left me a bit unsatisfied and without answers to very important questions. Also, one big thing happened without warning and I thought it should have been made into a bigger deal and maybe we as readers should have been lead into it a little slower and that unsettled me a bit. (I would explain further but it is a big spoiler)

I had a little trouble figuring Drake out as well. One minute he was acting like he was madly in love with Hope and the next he was acting like he could have cared less and no real reason for his change of heart was established. He did things that I never did quite understand even at the end. You could tell they were getting close to each other but at times they really seemed to genuinely hate each other. Hope on the other hand was a very good character, she was strong and kept true to herself. She was big on self pity at times and jumped to conclusions but I feel I would have acted the same way. Drake was giving her seriously mixed signals and I feel she was a bit confused as well.

The plot, however, was very good. I loved the story line and thought it was very well thought out. The story kept true to it's time period and that is a big bonus in my eyes. There was a lot of emotion and heart in the story. Also it was very sensual and hot.

I gave this story a 3 because it did have some very good features and I would definitely recommend this to others, it was just "missing" a few key things that I need in a book to make it complete.

posted by RomanceBookCraze on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very awesome steamy book

    This is my first review of a romance story. I must say that it was a very good book. Im not going to go into detail. HEHE as that would reck my pg rating for my blog. (this will be copy and pasted to everything) but I must say it was a very good read. So if you love heroic romances read it. This book was a very fast read as it only took me two days to read it.

    I am doing a contest on my blog for a free ebook copy of this book it ends Sept. 10th. So come follow me and comment to the post of the contest.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Fun, hot read

    I will be reading more from this author.. my first time was just what I was looking for.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    recommend

    great read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good romance!

    My review: It was the first book of Rebecca Sinclair I have read and I liked it. It was a good historical romance with little western taste in it. Regarding the plot: Hope is desperate to save his brother Luke from being killed and she takes some extreme measures to save him. She is approaching gunslinger Drake to take her brother¿s place in a fight. Drake agrees to it, but the prize is high for Hope ¿ she has to spend a night with Drake. When Hope and Drake first meet, then there is an undeniable attraction between them even though Hope is trying to avoid the thought. Hope has some other plans; mainly that she has no intention of keeping her promise. The story is quite good with some twists and turns in it. There is fairly good romance story in the California Caress and also quite a lot of action. The author has written a good story which keeps your interest for reading. Regarding the characters: I liked Hope. She had courage and was believable heroine. She was feisty and had lot of spark in her. She was willing to take some serious risks even though she was afraid sometimes. Drake was also well-written and he was quite good at balancing Hope. Generally: I really enjoyed the plot. In the middle of the story I think that the pace became little too slow, but towards the end of the book the pace took up again and the ending was very enjoyable. The strongest parts of California Caress¿ were the characters. I liked that the author also put some attention to the supportive characters. Every character had a story to tell and that made it enjoyable to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    So so

    It had its good times. Sex was well written. I always look for that in a story. The storyline was ok until a few people more or less came back to to life. Good thing being the one surviving family member didn't seem too broken up about it. Anyway the story was pretty good. Stupid senerios (did I spell that rite?) just seem to go along with love stories these days. I'll read it again even though it's very much like all the rest of them. Can't someone write something original........

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Western Romance

    Hope Bennett was determined to find Drake Frasier to save her brother from being killed. When she did find him though, he was not the guy she thought he was. Drake Frasier had no idea how to react when a beautiful women literally fell into his arms. The first thing he thinks is that she is there to betray him and he will stop at nothing to find out if and why she is.

    I truly liked this book except for a few things that didn't flow well. There was one common goal in this book and I don't think a true explanation was ever given as to "how" or "why" that goal was accomplished. I felt like the story left me a bit unsatisfied and without answers to very important questions. Also, one big thing happened without warning and I thought it should have been made into a bigger deal and maybe we as readers should have been lead into it a little slower and that unsettled me a bit. (I would explain further but it is a big spoiler)

    I had a little trouble figuring Drake out as well. One minute he was acting like he was madly in love with Hope and the next he was acting like he could have cared less and no real reason for his change of heart was established. He did things that I never did quite understand even at the end. You could tell they were getting close to each other but at times they really seemed to genuinely hate each other. Hope on the other hand was a very good character, she was strong and kept true to herself. She was big on self pity at times and jumped to conclusions but I feel I would have acted the same way. Drake was giving her seriously mixed signals and I feel she was a bit confused as well.

    The plot, however, was very good. I loved the story line and thought it was very well thought out. The story kept true to it's time period and that is a big bonus in my eyes. There was a lot of emotion and heart in the story. Also it was very sensual and hot.

    I gave this story a 3 because it did have some very good features and I would definitely recommend this to others, it was just "missing" a few key things that I need in a book to make it complete.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely a must read!!!

    Review by Molly: My first Rebecca Sinclair novel but definitely NOT my last. Wowee, was this ever a good read! Ms. Sinclair takes her readers on a ride of laughs, heartache, betrayal, and intense passion. Her characters are finely chiseled and compliment her captivating story line.

    My favorite character was Drake. Sure, he's the hero of the story and a hunky, sexy "gunslinger", but his character was also quirky, sensitive, full of pain, and downright lovable! He's a character whose life is complex and his pain is truly evident. I loved getting to know him and his strong personality from the moment he entered the story.

    Hope's character took a little longer to warm up to. Her trust issues and hiding behind her pain really irked me sometimes. But, I loved watching her interact with Drake. Those two went head for head in all their conversations, but the sparks flew instantly!

    With these two stubborn passionate heads, secrets from their past, rich historic details and a surprising twist mixed in the story, Ms. Sinclair turned out a wonderful story for every book lover. Whether you're looking for romance, suspense, humor or history, you can find it among the pages of this awesometastic novel! Definitely a must read Rose That Rules All! Can't wait to read more of Ms. Sinclair's work. Oh, and that cover? HUNKINESS!

    Quote: "Perfect doesn't matter to me, sunshine,"he said, his voice a husky whisper. "It never has. Haven't you figured that out yet?"His lips turned up in a slow,knowing smile."A thousand Angeliques can't add up to one feisty Hope Bennett."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gunslinger and Damsel on a mission !

    A story filled with Passion and romance - tantalizing and titillating moments, to keep your inner romantic sated - and equal amounts of action and suspense throughout . Great cast of supporting characters that Im sure you will fall in love with. A few errors that wont affect the read at all, sexy gunslinger, damsel in distress and love that may never find a way ! Well balanced plot with equal amounts of love and action and suspense. A western romance that will have your heart racing and the page flipping.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Mamasaint60

    A story very much worth reading. You won't be disappointed. I saved it to reread. JS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    Hope and Drakes story is a sweet romance of two people that have been through a lot of hurt in their lives. I really enjoyed reading about their original deal when they first met and how their attraction to each other built from there. Great 288 page read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Hope Benett is on a mission. A mission to save her brother and

    Hope Benett is on a mission. A mission to save her brother and ultimately her family home. The only person who can help her is notorious gunslinger Drake Frazier, but can she trust him?

    Hope, a lovely red haired, brown eyed girl, loves her brother Luke. He can't help that while his body is bigger than most grown men, his mind is that of an eight year old. The Swedes have declared their intent to take over the Benett gold claim and the only way to stop them is to take part in a no holds barred knock down fist fight.

    Luke is the only one big enough to take on even one of the Swedes, but he's not smart enough to hold his own when the Swedes are known to use a knife and kill a man to get what they want. Hope's dad sends her to find Drake Frazier, known gunfighter, drinker and fist fighter, possibly the only man in Thirsty Gulch that would agree to take on the Swedes.

    But Hope isn't the only one with something to lose. Drake Frazier, handsome, blonde haired, former gentleman, has his own agenda. Hope doesn't know it but she's going to help him in his plan to avenge a wrong doing done to him.

    Can Hope and Drake help each other erase the scars of past hurts? Will they see that they are both worthy of love? Will they find love together before its too late?

    Two of my favorite genre, romance and westerns, together in a tale spanning the gold mines of California, the city streets of Boston and the green grass of Virginia. The story feels a bit forced and over thought at times , but has some beautifully written scenes. A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Western Romance at it's Finest

    Very Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1