Customer Reviews for

The Call (Magnificent 12 Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Percy Jackson meets Wimpy Kid- Mack must save the world from the pale queen

Mack is a kid who is afraid of everything but mainly about getting beat up by the school bully. He ends up saving the bully who now becomes his bodyguard and it is a good thing because he needs one if he is going to find the other Magnifica and save the world from cert...
Mack is a kid who is afraid of everything but mainly about getting beat up by the school bully. He ends up saving the bully who now becomes his bodyguard and it is a good thing because he needs one if he is going to find the other Magnifica and save the world from certain destruction from the Pale Queen. This series is as funny and action packed as Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and as goofy as Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Kids will identify with the characters and will read this book cover to cover in one sitting. Can't wait for the next installment.

posted by kim-galleria on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Strange

I thought it was strange how they switched times. Why???

posted by 3986823 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Percy Jackson meets Wimpy Kid- Mack must save the world from the pale queen

    Mack is a kid who is afraid of everything but mainly about getting beat up by the school bully. He ends up saving the bully who now becomes his bodyguard and it is a good thing because he needs one if he is going to find the other Magnifica and save the world from certain destruction from the Pale Queen. This series is as funny and action packed as Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and as goofy as Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Kids will identify with the characters and will read this book cover to cover in one sitting. Can't wait for the next installment.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Fun and page turning

    I've been reading this as a bedtime read-aloud with my son. It's so well written that I have forbade him to read ahead without me! Now we both get excited for bedtime because it means we get to read another two chapters (1 is never enough & it tough even putting it down after two!). :) I especially love the Golem's letters and the author's amusing interjections that keep it from getting too intense or super serious. Definitely recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Awesim Awesome Book

    Great book. I recomend it!!! ;)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Awesome Story

    This is a great and fun story. I hope you enjoy it as much as myself and my family did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    STUNDENT AT Student in Puyallup, WA

    I think this is going to be an awsome adventure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    This was such a good book because when the golem scraped out his stomach it was so funny

    And michael grant did such a good bono can't wait to get the third book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    LOVE IT

    Best book i ever read,but sad 2nd book is $9.99, wish it was free

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Love it

    Read sample never thought I would like it but I loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    It was epic

    It was my first nook book andd the best 12 stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Hilarious Book - for Young And Old

    This is book is a hilarious story written for 10-13 year olds, but would be great for all ages. The plot line is slightly convoluted and hard to follow in the beginning, but it smoothes out over time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Wow! Amazing!

    I just finished this hilarious book by Michael Grant,and i loved it! There is never apart in this book where you're not either cracking up or on your toes. If you need a but short book to read, The Magnificent Twelve series are the books to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good

    Very fast paced

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The golem is hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Funny and Action Packed!!

    If you've got a twelve year old (or so), this is a great book for them. It just hooks you right in! I love the humor. That really makes the story fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Best book ev¿r

    At first it looked stuiped but i started to read it and the first few pages were sooooo funny andyou know when u are realy in a book 1: when your gav charecter dies u hurl it acroos the room 2:you talk to the book when it dosnt go the way you want it to and 3;the book makes u cry (well depends on the book) some and lagh some

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    We loved it!

    Our 8 year old asked us every night to read the story to her. We could't wait to read it either. The humor makes it such a fun read. We are on to book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Fantastic

    Nic (age 8): I like when the story goes back to the old days. I liked the parts about the shark and the princess turning into a monster. Nic's Mom: I had fun reading this with Nic. Lots of dry humor that I enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book - Must read!

    I really liked the characters in this book. The writing is very clever and witty! Will be reading the second installment for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    :)

    Good and keeps u coming back for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!!!

    Fast paced great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2