Customer Reviews for

Call It Courage (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

What a wonderful piece of children's literature!

I read this book in third grade (part of the recommended age group) and LOVED it. I read it again just a few days ago for my Children's Literature class in college. I did my book review on it. I forgot what a wonderful book this is. The description is wonderful and can ...
I read this book in third grade (part of the recommended age group) and LOVED it. I read it again just a few days ago for my Children's Literature class in college. I did my book review on it. I forgot what a wonderful book this is. The description is wonderful and can make a person's imagination run wild! My nephew is seven, and I think I'm going to read it to him next time I watch him. He would love it too!

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Imaginative Read!

I'm giving the book 3 stars because my daughter and I are only half-way through the book. I homeschool my daughter and this book is required reading for a Language Arts lesson. I've read all the reviews here and I find one constant theme among them: poor spelling and...
I'm giving the book 3 stars because my daughter and I are only half-way through the book. I homeschool my daughter and this book is required reading for a Language Arts lesson. I've read all the reviews here and I find one constant theme among them: poor spelling and poor imagination. To visualize Armstrong Sperry's world in "Call It Courage", you must use your mind's eye...your imagination. Is it that our youth today has no imagination? I would question whether technology (that I love) has stolen minds? Put down the Xbox controller, the game console controller, the handheld games, the cellphone, and computer. Sit in a comfy chair with good light and pick up a book--and read. My daugher is 8 years old and in the 5th grade. She has no issue with the wording in the book and I think it is beautifully written. I will finish the review once we've completed the book.

posted by colonels_wife2 on September 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    What a wonderful piece of children's literature!

    I read this book in third grade (part of the recommended age group) and LOVED it. I read it again just a few days ago for my Children's Literature class in college. I did my book review on it. I forgot what a wonderful book this is. The description is wonderful and can make a person's imagination run wild! My nephew is seven, and I think I'm going to read it to him next time I watch him. He would love it too!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Wonderful Book

    Armstrong Sperry did a wonderful on this 1941 Newberry Medal book, 'Call It Courage.' I believe this book is wonderful for kids of all ages. I love how the boy has a fear and realizes he has to conquer it on his own. A story like this will help any kid going through something see that it takes time, but someday they will be able to move on.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    A Very Good Book

    It's a good book. 'Mafatu the boy who's afraid' hates being called that, so he and his friends Kivi, his albatross, and Uri, his dog leave. He keeps hearing Moana, the sea god who killed his mother say 'some day I will claim you'. As they find land they find an ugly idol. He then realizes that was where the 'Black Eaters Of Men' make sacrifices. Later he finds the skeleton of a whale and makes weapons. Then he stabbed a hammerhead and saves Uri. In the canoe he drops his knife and dives 40 feet to get it and meets a giant octopus and kills it. Then he kills a wild boar. Later he sees the 'Black Eaters Of Men'. They chase him in his canoe. He thinks Maui betrayed him. He escapes the 'Black Eaters Of Men'.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Imaginative Read!

    I'm giving the book 3 stars because my daughter and I are only half-way through the book. I homeschool my daughter and this book is required reading for a Language Arts lesson. I've read all the reviews here and I find one constant theme among them: poor spelling and poor imagination. To visualize Armstrong Sperry's world in "Call It Courage", you must use your mind's eye...your imagination. Is it that our youth today has no imagination? I would question whether technology (that I love) has stolen minds? Put down the Xbox controller, the game console controller, the handheld games, the cellphone, and computer. Sit in a comfy chair with good light and pick up a book--and read. My daugher is 8 years old and in the 5th grade. She has no issue with the wording in the book and I think it is beautifully written. I will finish the review once we've completed the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    A well written story worth reading more than once.

    Call It Courage is about a young boy who is expected to be brave because his father is a chief. But Mafatu is afraid of the sea and remembers, quite vividly, how it took his mother a long time ago. The story tells how Mafatu challenged and overcame his fears. It was not easy. But reading this story is easy and well worth reading again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This chapter book illustrates a boy who has great fear but overcomes his trepidation while on a journey across the sea. "Call It Courage" by Armstrong Sperry takes readers on a voyage with the main character, Mafatu and his two friends, a dog named Uri, and an albatross named Kivi. Chapter one of this story lays the reasoning behind Mafatu's fear, the sea, which is ironic because he lives on an island. But because of a nautical tragedy Mafatu fears the sea greatly. The island's native tribe label Mafatu as a coward and his father, the Chief of the tribe, does not speak to Mafatu out of shame of this fear. At the end of chapter one, we see that Mafatu feels the need to prove he is not a coward and takes off in a canoe into the open ocean. Chapter two then leads us into the trying times that Mafatu has while battling the open ocean waters and its unforgiving squalls and hurricanes. Finally Mafatu and his dog, Uri, find themselves shipwrecked off the coast of an unknown island, which closes chapter two. "The Island" is the title of chapter three and describes a few more adventures that Mafatu experiences. Mafatu scouts the island for people and shelter and finds nothing, he then begins to understand that he is alone and can only depend on himself for survival. Mafatu scavenges food, builds shelter, treats his wounds, crafts a new canoe, makes a knife from shell and dares to touch a sacred God's statue. The next chapter, chapter four, again shows the obstacles that Mafatu has to overcome while living on this unfamiliar island. Mafatu puts his life in danger in-order to save the life of his dog and friend against a powerful hammerhead shark. He then defeats the perils of the deep lagoon which is inhabited by a massive octopus. The final chapter of the book brings Mafatu home, but not before making a great escape from the people who eat men.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Call It Courage

    This story is about a boy named Mafatu and his fear of the ocean. Mafatu gets lost at sea with his dog. They nearly drown. Both of them get washed up on another island. When he is looking for bananas all of them are gone. He finds a statue looking for bananas. What happens next? Read to find out.


    I give Call it Courage four out of five stars. My favorite Character is Mafatu. I like hime because he does cool things. Ithink its a good book i just don't think it's great.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Not Sure About This Book

    This book was a little hard to understand but gets a little better as you read on. The story is centered on the idea of courage which is greatly relected in the plot of the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    Excellent!

    This book is very good and very well written. It describes the life on the islands well, and it also describes the bonding of the boy and his animals during his quest to find courage. The only problem with reading it is that you can get tongue-tied sometimes with the pronounciation of the islands and language. Other than that, it is easy and enjoyable to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Hard for young kids to follow

    My 9 year old son was assigned this book for a book report and struggled with it alot. He is a straight A student and recieved a C- on this report. The wording is very difficult for a 9 year old child.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    Good souvenirs

    I remember watching 'Call it Courage' when I was 9 years old on tv, even up to this day, this program was the best.I am now 37,was really glad to retrace this title and even see the face of Mafatu! Brings good memories

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    Great book

    Read it as a child and it is still one of my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    Great book!!!!!

    I feel that this book is an inspiring tale about a young boy, who is determined to conquer his fear of the waters. The adventures Mafatu encounters will take your breath away, and leave you on the edge of your chair. Mafatu and his compainion Uri are heartfelt characters, and you are always hoping for their best, and well being. If you were to read any book this year read Call It Courage because it is definetly worth the time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    Call it Courage - Armstrong Sperry ; A Rowell Review

    This book is great for reports, kids that think they just can't do something, or best of all entertainment. Mafutu, The young son of the chief of a tribe, has to face his constint fear that haunts him day and night, water. Ever since this young boy's mother jumped into the ocean to save his life and drowned, this boy Mafutu, that's name means courage, has been terrified and journeys to over come his fear. This is one of the greatest books i have ever read, and I recomend it for anyone and everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Everyone on Hikeuru (a Polynesian island near the Great Barrier

    Everyone on Hikeuru (a Polynesian island near the Great Barrier Reef) believed that Mufatu was a coward for being scared of the ocean. While the others were fishing he was making fishing hooks and nets. Everywhere he went people would make fun of him. One day Mufatu decided to leave Hikeuru to prove himself worthy with his dog who’s his best friend, Uri and Kivi the Albatross. Later that night he snuck away on a canoe. All he brought with him was a knife and some nuts. After days in the canoe they finally reach an island. The island was lush and beautiful. But when Mufatu and Uri look around they find an evil shrine. The shrine was made by a group of people called the eaters-of-men. Will Mufatu and Uri survive and get back to Hikeuru?

    I thought “Call it Courage” was a pretty good book. Some of the words were in a different language. Since call it courage was written a while ago Armstrong Sperry worded it differently. Overall I thought Call It Courage was a pretty good book. I would recommend this book for kids 11 and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this book. I read it in 4th grade like 2 or 1 month ago and of course loved it. It was amazing Mafatu is like the most brave person in a book i have literaly read. Me and my friend all ways talked about how like amazing it was when we moved on to another book FEVER 1793 witch also you can get on the nook. We hoped it was similar to Call it Courage and thats how amazing it was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    SERIOSL┬┐ AMAZING

    This book is defenetly a good book. Reading the negative reviews, I found that most of them had to read it for school. OF COURSE THEY WON'T LIKE A SCHOOL BOOK! Don't believe them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Really good

    This book was amazing. You should defanetly get this book. I read every one of the 36 revews and my opinion is that if you like to read like me that you would really like this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I read the book at school.The heros are Mafutu the cowedley boy,

    I read the book at school.The heros are Mafutu the cowedley boy,Uri the brave dog and Kivi the loylal albatross.It was soooooooooooooo good.Read CALL IT COURAGE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Call it Courage

    Call it Courage is about a boy who almost drowns in the sea as a little boy and now is very scared of it. So finally when the other boys' jeers get to him he goes out in the sea alone with his dog Uri. When he gets to the island he finds out that it is the eaters-of-men's island! He has heard of the eaters-of-men and finds out that they only do their sacrifices there. Later he finds a whale skeleton and thinks it could be useful. Then he makes a trap to catch fish only to find out that a shark brakes into it and eats the fish! So he makes a knife out of whale bone to kill the shark. But to find out what happens you will have to read this book. I give this book one star because it wasn't very good. It was very predictable so it wasn't suspenseful. It was kind of like he would do somthing and you could predict what would happen next. So I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4