Customer Reviews for

Call Me By Your Name

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Unbelievable Surprise

    Not in a long time has a book affected me in such a way. When I stared this book, I loved the writing style and the description of Elio's world. But then I suddenly became attached to Elio. I felt what he felt. His fascination, his desires, his admiration, and after a while his love for Oliver. You feel as though you are there, sitting in the thick, warm atmosphere of an Italian Riviera, seeing every step of the blossoming relationship between Oliver and Elio. Yet always wondering what will happen when this guest finally has to leave? <BR/>The biggest surprise of this book is that Aciman describes the one thing that everyone in this world looks for and many do not find, total intimacy. Where two people become one unit, not just physically but emotionally. Where both people become each other. Even though I have finished the book, I still am looking at it, re-reading whole chapters just because this book has affected me in such a way. <BR/>Try this book, not only will it touch your heart but it will make you wonder and feel things that you haven't felt in a very, very long time.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Call Me By Your Name

    If only we all could express who we were at 17 with such grace, honesty and lucidity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    don't know how i feel about it

    well i thought the book was written very differently than any other book i've read, so it pulled me in right away. but i'm not sure how i feel about it. elio's obsession sometimes creeped me out, but sometimes i related so well, because i've had the same emotions. it's one of those books where it feels like you're the only one who's read it and it's such an engrossing book that it feels like your life. it will also definitely stay with me for a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Beautiful

    This book is, plainly and simply, an exquisitely-written love story that has haunted me long after I finished reading it. The story and characters touched my heart, and I found myself rereading excerpts and passages that were particularly beautiful. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Incomparible treasure

    I do not think I have ever read such a beautiful masterpiece. This book leaves you aching for what must exist, and yet can only exist within the pages of fiction. There are innumerable quotes and passages that will touch your heart and leave you breathless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Read My Review ;-)

    This book! Oh, this book! If you have ever fallen instantly, with every cell in your body, for someone, then you will read your own story in this book. There is no character named Elio; you are Elio and Oliver is your lover. Beware - you will re-live every detail of your affair - from the anxiety ridden beginning to the lust-fueled middle to the heart-wrenching end. You will find yourself staying up too late at night to read this book, and then staying up later still re-living the insanity that was your own romance. You will find yourself seeking out your current partner, just so you can close your eyes and pretend that your Oliver is once again touching you. And you will wish, you will wish, that you had thought to ask your lover to "Call Me By Your Name."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My heart in Call me by your name

    The best book I've ever read, Aciman writes in a touching beautiful way, I felt what Eliot felt, I could listen to the cicadas, I could feel the warm Italian breeze over my skin.
    Now that I've finished the book, I miss Eliot, Oliver, Italy, and the beautiful words in Call me by your name.
    I found out that it is possible to call other person by your name, because you share a deep connection, and I realized that love goes beyond what I had thought.
    I would never forget this book, written in a really realistic way, describing carefully each feeling, each action, seducing you in each page, leaving you totally gasped with your heart beating tenderly.
    I have the fondest love for this unforgettable book, that will not rest on my mind, on the contrary my mind, my heart , myself will rest in the book, in the middle of that Italian summer for ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was amazing! I suggest it to anyone who loves a good love story. If Oliver and Elio's characters were writen any differently it would'nt be as good as it was. It will definitely go on the bookshelf with my favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    Simply Magnificent!!

    A truly amazing novel. The author does a great job of building Oliver and Elio's relationship. Taking them slowly, and sometimes painfully, from friends to lovers. Aciman also does a magnificent job describing the sights sounds feelings emotions and everything you could possibly want to know. Brilliant! I was hooked from the beginning when we first meet Oliver, and couldn't put it down. Even when I started crying in the 4th and final part. A real tearjerker! Overall it's too good to be summed up in a review, it's definitely a must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Beautiful, heart wrenching story

    This is such a wonderful book. Although it rips your heart out, it is so well written and so evocative of it's setting, Italy, that although I've never been there, I could see and smell it. By the end of the book, I felt as if I knew these characters, and exactly what they looked like. This book is absolutely worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    Written in flawless, glittering prose, a sweet and melancholy novel that will touch and warm your heart

    This novel has universal appeal. Both young and old, gays and straight people, and especially people who admire lovely prose, will find it irresistible. A novel as magnificent and gripping as this gets published only once in a blue moon. This novel will grip your mind at the very beginning, and the witty, charming voice of its narrator, seventeen years old Elio, will lead you through the wondrous tunnel of human emotions such as desire, passion and lust, in search of the elusive and slippery love. The story is about young Elio¿s intense infatuation with the handsome American, twenty-four years old Oliver, a post-doctoral scholar and author, who comes as a house-guest to stay for six weeks at Elio¿s villa in the Italian Riviera. Elio is well-read and talented. He can sing, and play guitar and piano, too. Both men like to jog and play tennis. They love to swim and they flirt on the beach and indulge in witty dialogue. The author, Andre Acimen, succeeds in creating an illusion that the two young men make a perfect pair - a match made in heaven. But nothing in this world is perfect, of course, and nothing lasts for ever. And there lies the tension and the aches and pains a reader feels, and the torment one suffers while reading this novel. If you ever had crush on someone when you were a teenager, reading this novel will bring out the long dormant memories to the surface, and you will feel the sweet aches and experience the torments again, like new. Perhaps you will also feel an overwhelming desire to read some passages again, only to marvel at the glittering prose, at sentences of extraordinary beauty and elegance. Here is Elio¿s reflection on his jogging with Oliver on the beach: ¿I liked it when our feet were aligned, left with left, and struck the ground at the same time, leaving footprints on the shore that I wished to return to and, in secret, place my foot where his had left its mark.¿ If you are young at heart, you will easily empathize with Elio and feel all his emotions, and if you are very old at heart, and thought your heart petrified so long ago that it was incapable of feeling desire, passion, lust and love, you will be utterly astonished to hear your heart begin to sing a few notes again. And you most certainly will witness the alchemy of Andre Aciman¿s poetic prose slowly transmuting the baser human emotions of passion and lust into precious and divine love. Reading this novel will touch and warm your heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    At times creepy. But ultimately I found this book to be very ple

    At times creepy. But ultimately I found this book to be very pleasant. It had beautiful characters and an interesting plot. And it was
    exactly the right length, which in these days, is hard to do. 
    Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Unbelievable attention to detail....

    This book really draws you into every nuance of discovering one's same sex attraction. Each chapter invites the reader to savor the subtle complexities of attraction, loving, confusion, hope, and maturing self awareness. You'll go back to it over and over and never be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    I was worried when I started reading the novel. I saw where it w

    I was worried when I started reading the novel. I saw where it was headed and didn't think it would be a book I enjoy. It is definitely not one of my usual selections. The books I read tend to be historical fiction with long flowing prose. This book is written is short, Hemingway, get to the point sentences. It was hard to figure out what was happening in the beginning, then it fell into place. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this book and the love story it presents. Just as my title says, it was a very interesting and unique read. I don't know that it is for everyone. But it did me some good to get out of my comfort zone and try a new genre and author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended - A must read!

    Beautiful. Amazing. Brilliantly written love story and coming of age story that opens up your eyes to see the world and experiences in a whole new light.
    If you can remember your first love or that moment when you realized you found the love of your life, this wonderful book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I cannot overstate the beautiful writing in this book. Descript

    I cannot overstate the beautiful writing in this book. Descriptively raw yet tender, bold yet intimate, heavy yet sensitive. On the other hand, the story was bland. I recommend it for the writing style alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    This is a book that, if you even consider reading it, you must r

    This is a book that, if you even consider reading it, you must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Bittersweet

    This book was heart-wrenching in all the right ways. It perfectly captures the emotions associated with a first love. There were so many extremely intimate moments in this book, I almost felt as if I'd been eavesdropping on the characters' personal moments. It's one of those stories where you just know there will be a bitter end, but you still hope for the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book.  I was as swept away as the main c

    I absolutely loved this book.  I was as swept away as the main character, and the story continues to resonate long after I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    This book is just stunningly good. Riveting writing....

    This book is just stunningly good. Riveting writing....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4