Customer Reviews for

Call Me Irresistible

Average Rating 4
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(218)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book was worth the wait!

Susan Elizabeth Phillips (SEP) delivers again in Call Me Irresistible. Ted Beaudine (Fancy Pants, Lady Be Good) is marrying Lucy Jorik (First Lady)in Wynette, Texas. Ted is a former amateur golf champ,inventor and the Mayor of Wynette. Lucy is the adopted daughter of t...
Susan Elizabeth Phillips (SEP) delivers again in Call Me Irresistible. Ted Beaudine (Fancy Pants, Lady Be Good) is marrying Lucy Jorik (First Lady)in Wynette, Texas. Ted is a former amateur golf champ,inventor and the Mayor of Wynette. Lucy is the adopted daughter of the former President of the US and her husband. Lucy's best friend Meg Koranda (Glitter Baby) comes to town to be in the wedding. She sees immediately that Lucy has doubts about marrying Ted and ends up helping Lucy bolt before the wedding. After the wedding, Meg becomes persona non grata in Wynette. Unfortunately, her parents have cut her off , she can't pay her room bill and she ends up working for the inn as a maid. Ted,who is revered in town,makes it his mission to make Meg as uncomfortable as possible with help from all of the townfolk. The path that they take from intense dislike to love involves golf, a renovated church, a stalker, an amorous plumbing king and his man hungry daughter, and several characters from earlier books. Like all SEP books there is a lot of humor mixed in with a sharp look at how Lucy and Ted need to become self aware to be happy with someone else.
One of my favorite sections was when Lucy was talking to Meg about how perfect he was and how it intimidated her:
"Out of nowhere, the church doors blew open. And there he stood silhouetted against the setting sun. Theodore Day Beaudine. Trumpets began to sound. Honest to God trumpets blowing a chorus of hallelujahs. "Jesus", she whispered. "I know, "Lucy whispered back. "Stuff like this happens to him all the time. He says it's accidental."
How can you read that and not know you are in for a great time?

posted by SharonRedfern on January 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good read but not a great as all of her other books.

I love SEP. I think as a writer, she writes charming stories. I have read every single one of her books more than once. I love her series books and the way she brings back characters.

This one, however, felt like bits and pieces of the other books rolled into one....
I love SEP. I think as a writer, she writes charming stories. I have read every single one of her books more than once. I love her series books and the way she brings back characters.

This one, however, felt like bits and pieces of the other books rolled into one. There was no freshness. The new characters (Ted and Meg) are actually burdened by the return of SO MANY of the old characters and never get a chance to fully stand out as their own. Ted is just like bits of Dallie, bits of Kenny, bits of Dex. You never get a sense of the gawky kid that he was one he first came on board in Fancy Pants or the awkward young man in Lady Be Good.

Meg is a little more unique but carries similar to the heroines in Ain't She Sweet and Kiss an Angel.

Also, the dialogue - SEP typically writes snappy, witty, funny. In Call Me Irresistible, that the funny feels forced. The Crazy Women of Wynett is not funny and gets beaten over the head. Their antics aren't funny and a lot of them become caricatures.

I only say this because SEP is an incredible writer and she typically writes great characters with a fresh plot (Match Me if You Can, What I Did For Love). This seems a little bit too much borrowed and not new.

Still, as an SEP loyalist, read it for the fun of it, but you won't get sucked in and emotionally walloped like you do with her other books. Looking forward to the next one where hopefully SEP goes back to a small cast of characters and not too many old ones.

I hate to think this, but it feels like the publisher wanted to get as many SEP characters in to this one in the hopes of getting readers to read the others. For example, in this book there are characters from Lady Be Good, Fancy Pants, and Glitter Baby. To the publishers, if you want new readers to read the back list, let the author write the excellent book she is capable of writing and readers will automatically check it out. There is nothing compelling in this book that would make new readers read this, where as they should. Fancy Pants and Lady Be Good are great, fun reads.

I still love SEP.

posted by nampatel on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 478 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Good read but not a great as all of her other books.

    I love SEP. I think as a writer, she writes charming stories. I have read every single one of her books more than once. I love her series books and the way she brings back characters.

    This one, however, felt like bits and pieces of the other books rolled into one. There was no freshness. The new characters (Ted and Meg) are actually burdened by the return of SO MANY of the old characters and never get a chance to fully stand out as their own. Ted is just like bits of Dallie, bits of Kenny, bits of Dex. You never get a sense of the gawky kid that he was one he first came on board in Fancy Pants or the awkward young man in Lady Be Good.

    Meg is a little more unique but carries similar to the heroines in Ain't She Sweet and Kiss an Angel.

    Also, the dialogue - SEP typically writes snappy, witty, funny. In Call Me Irresistible, that the funny feels forced. The Crazy Women of Wynett is not funny and gets beaten over the head. Their antics aren't funny and a lot of them become caricatures.

    I only say this because SEP is an incredible writer and she typically writes great characters with a fresh plot (Match Me if You Can, What I Did For Love). This seems a little bit too much borrowed and not new.

    Still, as an SEP loyalist, read it for the fun of it, but you won't get sucked in and emotionally walloped like you do with her other books. Looking forward to the next one where hopefully SEP goes back to a small cast of characters and not too many old ones.

    I hate to think this, but it feels like the publisher wanted to get as many SEP characters in to this one in the hopes of getting readers to read the others. For example, in this book there are characters from Lady Be Good, Fancy Pants, and Glitter Baby. To the publishers, if you want new readers to read the back list, let the author write the excellent book she is capable of writing and readers will automatically check it out. There is nothing compelling in this book that would make new readers read this, where as they should. Fancy Pants and Lady Be Good are great, fun reads.

    I still love SEP.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book was worth the wait!

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips (SEP) delivers again in Call Me Irresistible. Ted Beaudine (Fancy Pants, Lady Be Good) is marrying Lucy Jorik (First Lady)in Wynette, Texas. Ted is a former amateur golf champ,inventor and the Mayor of Wynette. Lucy is the adopted daughter of the former President of the US and her husband. Lucy's best friend Meg Koranda (Glitter Baby) comes to town to be in the wedding. She sees immediately that Lucy has doubts about marrying Ted and ends up helping Lucy bolt before the wedding. After the wedding, Meg becomes persona non grata in Wynette. Unfortunately, her parents have cut her off , she can't pay her room bill and she ends up working for the inn as a maid. Ted,who is revered in town,makes it his mission to make Meg as uncomfortable as possible with help from all of the townfolk. The path that they take from intense dislike to love involves golf, a renovated church, a stalker, an amorous plumbing king and his man hungry daughter, and several characters from earlier books. Like all SEP books there is a lot of humor mixed in with a sharp look at how Lucy and Ted need to become self aware to be happy with someone else.
    One of my favorite sections was when Lucy was talking to Meg about how perfect he was and how it intimidated her:
    "Out of nowhere, the church doors blew open. And there he stood silhouetted against the setting sun. Theodore Day Beaudine. Trumpets began to sound. Honest to God trumpets blowing a chorus of hallelujahs. "Jesus", she whispered. "I know, "Lucy whispered back. "Stuff like this happens to him all the time. He says it's accidental."
    How can you read that and not know you are in for a great time?

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    not paying $12.99!

    Sorry but no ebook is worth $12.99 so I won't buy it. The publishers are playing ebook readers for suckers!

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Good...but not worth $12.99

    I enjoyed a lot of this. It had much of the charm and flawed heroine stuff that I like about SEP's other work, but this one was a little overburdened with references to characters in other books, the ending wrapped up too abruptly, and I didn't feel convinced of the hero's conversion. I think she could have done better.

    The traditionally published authors will have to step up their game if they are going to demand $12.99 a book, when there are some great emerging authors who are selling for a quarter of that price.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    Another disappointing book

    I normally love SEP books- all except What I Did for Love and the book about Annabelle- which grew on me somewhat. However, as soon as I saw the characters in this book, I knew I would be disappointed. It felt forced putting the characters together- like she's just tying up loose ends and forcing the story. THere just wasn't a lot of emotion coming from the book or the characters. Meg is suddenly in love with TEd, and the reader doesn't even get Ted's perspective through 90 percent of the novel- he only reveals his emotions at the very end, which definitely takes away any impact there. Just disappointed overall.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Harriet Klausner

    Ms. Klausner, you have completely ruined the plot for me. This is a place for BOOK REVIEWS (read: opinions) NOT BOOK REPORTS (see: your post.). There is a difference, aquaint yourself with it.

    I no longer plan to purchase this novel, thanks you you and your full on summary, which I will point out is a re-telling of the novel, stating no opinions/overall feel for the book anywhere in it.

    Please consider that others who have not read the book yet are reading these reviews to help their decision.

    I am finding this sort of thing happening more and more. I have had numerous books spoiled for me because people cannot do what is meant on this forum.

    And... FYI- putting "Spoiler Alert" before the post does not make it okay. If it is a review, why even post spoilers. This specific comment is not for Ms. Klausner, but a general rant. While I am on it, can "we" stop using the term "Squeeeee", too? Are you a grown woman, or a twelve year old girl at a boy band concert?

    START A BLOG! OR TAKE IT WHERE IT IS APPRECIATED! PLEASE.

    Elizabeth Grogan, avid reader and paying customer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Something about the foundation/premise of the book that I can't love.

    This is my second Susan E. Phillips' book to date, and I can't find myself to like her writing. Match Me If You Can and this one build their romances on premises that I find troublesome. In this book, being a rebound girl and falling for your best friend's ex-finance just didn't do it for me. If you want such a complicated scenario, I suggest Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin (she can pull a sticky non-sympathetic situation around and make you question your view points and judgements and change your mind). Add into that the fact that he was a bit vindictive at first after the broken wedding did not make me like the guy. In both books I've read, the guys can seem quite abusive, yet they're described as being "perfect"; I'm sorry but that just doesn't make me want the main characters together. The storyline does get better after they hook up (you anticipate good changes for their relationship), but then it goes downhill when he confesses his feelings about Lucy. All I can think is both main characters are idiots. The guy should be more appreciative, and the girl should have higher expectations and standards. I also don't find the guy's sudden epiphany very convicing, more anti-climatic and lame. There are too many other characters as well, piquing interest in their stories, yet not well developed, causing more of a distraction for the reader from the main storyline. I will say it's a better read than Match Me If You Can, but overall, I think this author does not appeal to my heartstrings.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    M

    Here we go again with harriet klausner and her cliff note book report. Dont bother buying the book. Harriet thinks you are too dumb to read. She will read it and tell you what it says. Bn, ban thus poster already! How many sales are you going to lose thanks to her??????

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An amusing romance

    Since leaving the professional links former PGA star Ted Beaudine has become mayor of Wynette, Texas. He and the daughter of a former president Lucy Jorik are engaged. However, Lucy's BFF Meg Koranda, in town for the wedding, realizes her buddy has humongous doubts. So with a little persuasion on Meg's part, Lucy breaks it off as she feels she deserves a passionate lover and not a guy always stoically putting.

    Meg's parents have cut off her financial backing before her arrival in Texas. With Lucy running away, Meg is stranded in Wynette with no way to pay her bills. The townsfolk who worship Teddy loathe her as a Hollywood snob who interfered with the happiness of the popular local guy. They take it out on Meg who tries to make it while also helping a raging Ted find his heart.

    This amusing romance stars two antagonists who were secondary characters in previous tales (see Fancy Pants and Glitter Baby). Although readers will need to accept the implausible nasty reaction by townsfolk who hold Meg culpable for Lucy leaving; as she is the runaway bride's best friend and her arrival led to doubts. She also remains stranded in Wynette as a handy target to revenge the hole in one in Ted's psyche. Fans will enjoy her learning that good intentions pave the road to hell in Wynette as she takes a beating but keeps on ticking until Ted and his supporters realize she should be his bride.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Hey

    This book is boring and i suggest you not read it. Your mind might die

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    will keep reading SEP

    typical SEP novel. The fact that it keeps you interested. I read the other reviews that the plot is always similar, but to me it is the delivery of the same plot that keeps me reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Fun, Fun, Fun

    It has been awhile since I read this author, but this book was a reminder why I loved to read her books. She also incorporated previous characters, something that is always a win for me. Ms Phillips creates magic when she speaks through her characters, inspiring a range of emotions from the reader.
    It was a page turner and when reading on the nook, that can go fast; You will not be sorry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Fun Read

    As I was reading I started to wonder if I had read the book before. It dawned on me that the humor and relationship between all of the characters, primary and secondary, was very similar to the author's book "Ain't She Sweet". I loved "Ain't she sweet" so this new story was enjoyable but it didn't feel fresh and new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    To Deathstar

    Does your clan have any dirty words because im just a kid whos only a innocient eleven year old girl about to be twelve in may. So do you have room for UnicornTwilight? So how about it Deathstar? If not ill just cry in my pillow like someone just had taken my 3DS from nentendo away and stole my candy. Please with RicesPices and hugs on top? I'll support your clan and give you sweet heart points with are made of my unicorn love friendship powers! And heres some free ones that can be used for my power up sweet love deal mall! But first you will have to take a unicorn friend power exam to be come a member of my secret Chocolate strawberry marshmelow dip club! Its
    C. S. M. D. C. For short. So bye bye sweety stare glitter pie!
    The Sweet Friend Exam Test
    Do you except my lovely mall member ship and you have a sweet nice voice to make my Super Ultra Sci Fi Shugar Heart happy? That means my heart filled with happyness power! If not my world will become sad and lonley and dark and cold! I need friends because i dont have any! My friend ship power dust is slowly killing my most important part of my unicorn magic body : my soul candy powers! Please! If not ill be heart broken! Its ok as long as you dont realy like me. I just need more soul candy! I can feel it inside your friendship first aid bag and that bag is kindness careing and shareing! Respawn to Unicorn Twilight now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    My favorite SEP book! I have it on audiobook after borrowing fro

    My favorite SEP book! I have it on audiobook after borrowing from the library, and I absolutely love it! I love Meg. She's so gutsy and strong, and Ted really pushes beyond his boundaries for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Great

    SEP is one of my favorite authors and this is one of my favorite books. Great story and great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    In response to Harriet Klausner

    Ok when people say review they put a summary. When they say SPOILER ALERT why would you be stupid enough to read it? Its not illegal to write the end on a review, so stop your whining and go read something else.

    Leon Poke-Ty, Reading Freak

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A fun read. Perfect for summer.

    Her books have a subtle wit. The characters are a bit silly at times and they pull you in so you can laugh with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 478 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24