Customer Reviews for

Call Me Irresistible

Average Rating 4
( 474 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(218)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book was worth the wait!

Susan Elizabeth Phillips (SEP) delivers again in Call Me Irresistible. Ted Beaudine (Fancy Pants, Lady Be Good) is marrying Lucy Jorik (First Lady)in Wynette, Texas. Ted is a former amateur golf champ,inventor and the Mayor of Wynette. Lucy is the adopted daughter of t...
Susan Elizabeth Phillips (SEP) delivers again in Call Me Irresistible. Ted Beaudine (Fancy Pants, Lady Be Good) is marrying Lucy Jorik (First Lady)in Wynette, Texas. Ted is a former amateur golf champ,inventor and the Mayor of Wynette. Lucy is the adopted daughter of the former President of the US and her husband. Lucy's best friend Meg Koranda (Glitter Baby) comes to town to be in the wedding. She sees immediately that Lucy has doubts about marrying Ted and ends up helping Lucy bolt before the wedding. After the wedding, Meg becomes persona non grata in Wynette. Unfortunately, her parents have cut her off , she can't pay her room bill and she ends up working for the inn as a maid. Ted,who is revered in town,makes it his mission to make Meg as uncomfortable as possible with help from all of the townfolk. The path that they take from intense dislike to love involves golf, a renovated church, a stalker, an amorous plumbing king and his man hungry daughter, and several characters from earlier books. Like all SEP books there is a lot of humor mixed in with a sharp look at how Lucy and Ted need to become self aware to be happy with someone else.
One of my favorite sections was when Lucy was talking to Meg about how perfect he was and how it intimidated her:
"Out of nowhere, the church doors blew open. And there he stood silhouetted against the setting sun. Theodore Day Beaudine. Trumpets began to sound. Honest to God trumpets blowing a chorus of hallelujahs. "Jesus", she whispered. "I know, "Lucy whispered back. "Stuff like this happens to him all the time. He says it's accidental."
How can you read that and not know you are in for a great time?

posted by SharonRedfern on January 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good read but not a great as all of her other books.

I love SEP. I think as a writer, she writes charming stories. I have read every single one of her books more than once. I love her series books and the way she brings back characters.

This one, however, felt like bits and pieces of the other books rolled into one....
I love SEP. I think as a writer, she writes charming stories. I have read every single one of her books more than once. I love her series books and the way she brings back characters.

This one, however, felt like bits and pieces of the other books rolled into one. There was no freshness. The new characters (Ted and Meg) are actually burdened by the return of SO MANY of the old characters and never get a chance to fully stand out as their own. Ted is just like bits of Dallie, bits of Kenny, bits of Dex. You never get a sense of the gawky kid that he was one he first came on board in Fancy Pants or the awkward young man in Lady Be Good.

Meg is a little more unique but carries similar to the heroines in Ain't She Sweet and Kiss an Angel.

Also, the dialogue - SEP typically writes snappy, witty, funny. In Call Me Irresistible, that the funny feels forced. The Crazy Women of Wynett is not funny and gets beaten over the head. Their antics aren't funny and a lot of them become caricatures.

I only say this because SEP is an incredible writer and she typically writes great characters with a fresh plot (Match Me if You Can, What I Did For Love). This seems a little bit too much borrowed and not new.

Still, as an SEP loyalist, read it for the fun of it, but you won't get sucked in and emotionally walloped like you do with her other books. Looking forward to the next one where hopefully SEP goes back to a small cast of characters and not too many old ones.

I hate to think this, but it feels like the publisher wanted to get as many SEP characters in to this one in the hopes of getting readers to read the others. For example, in this book there are characters from Lady Be Good, Fancy Pants, and Glitter Baby. To the publishers, if you want new readers to read the back list, let the author write the excellent book she is capable of writing and readers will automatically check it out. There is nothing compelling in this book that would make new readers read this, where as they should. Fancy Pants and Lady Be Good are great, fun reads.

I still love SEP.

posted by nampatel on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Good read but not a great as all of her other books.

    I love SEP. I think as a writer, she writes charming stories. I have read every single one of her books more than once. I love her series books and the way she brings back characters.

    This one, however, felt like bits and pieces of the other books rolled into one. There was no freshness. The new characters (Ted and Meg) are actually burdened by the return of SO MANY of the old characters and never get a chance to fully stand out as their own. Ted is just like bits of Dallie, bits of Kenny, bits of Dex. You never get a sense of the gawky kid that he was one he first came on board in Fancy Pants or the awkward young man in Lady Be Good.

    Meg is a little more unique but carries similar to the heroines in Ain't She Sweet and Kiss an Angel.

    Also, the dialogue - SEP typically writes snappy, witty, funny. In Call Me Irresistible, that the funny feels forced. The Crazy Women of Wynett is not funny and gets beaten over the head. Their antics aren't funny and a lot of them become caricatures.

    I only say this because SEP is an incredible writer and she typically writes great characters with a fresh plot (Match Me if You Can, What I Did For Love). This seems a little bit too much borrowed and not new.

    Still, as an SEP loyalist, read it for the fun of it, but you won't get sucked in and emotionally walloped like you do with her other books. Looking forward to the next one where hopefully SEP goes back to a small cast of characters and not too many old ones.

    I hate to think this, but it feels like the publisher wanted to get as many SEP characters in to this one in the hopes of getting readers to read the others. For example, in this book there are characters from Lady Be Good, Fancy Pants, and Glitter Baby. To the publishers, if you want new readers to read the back list, let the author write the excellent book she is capable of writing and readers will automatically check it out. There is nothing compelling in this book that would make new readers read this, where as they should. Fancy Pants and Lady Be Good are great, fun reads.

    I still love SEP.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Something about the foundation/premise of the book that I can't love.

    This is my second Susan E. Phillips' book to date, and I can't find myself to like her writing. Match Me If You Can and this one build their romances on premises that I find troublesome. In this book, being a rebound girl and falling for your best friend's ex-finance just didn't do it for me. If you want such a complicated scenario, I suggest Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin (she can pull a sticky non-sympathetic situation around and make you question your view points and judgements and change your mind). Add into that the fact that he was a bit vindictive at first after the broken wedding did not make me like the guy. In both books I've read, the guys can seem quite abusive, yet they're described as being "perfect"; I'm sorry but that just doesn't make me want the main characters together. The storyline does get better after they hook up (you anticipate good changes for their relationship), but then it goes downhill when he confesses his feelings about Lucy. All I can think is both main characters are idiots. The guy should be more appreciative, and the girl should have higher expectations and standards. I also don't find the guy's sudden epiphany very convicing, more anti-climatic and lame. There are too many other characters as well, piquing interest in their stories, yet not well developed, causing more of a distraction for the reader from the main storyline. I will say it's a better read than Match Me If You Can, but overall, I think this author does not appeal to my heartstrings.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    will keep reading SEP

    typical SEP novel. The fact that it keeps you interested. I read the other reviews that the plot is always similar, but to me it is the delivery of the same plot that keeps me reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Fun Read

    As I was reading I started to wonder if I had read the book before. It dawned on me that the humor and relationship between all of the characters, primary and secondary, was very similar to the author's book "Ain't She Sweet". I loved "Ain't she sweet" so this new story was enjoyable but it didn't feel fresh and new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Got better as I kept reading

    I almost stopped reading at about page 100 because I didn't like the main characters Meg and Ted, but I perservered and I'm glad I did-they grew on me as I saw them develop, so the story became much more interesting and I ended up wanting them to have their happily ever after!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Love a good Texas story. Texas stories always make us think abo

    Love a good Texas story. Texas stories always make us think about if the grass is greener on the other side. All of us Texas gals, wonder where did I go wrong, why aint my life a little bit like hers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    An enjoyable read. A bit predictable, but that's part of the ch

    An enjoyable read. A bit predictable, but that's part of the charm of Ms. Phillips. I always like her descriptions and narrative.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Not Phillips at her best but still a good read.

    I am a die hard SEP fan and own every one of her books. Call Me Irresistible is a fun and easy read but it lacks the kind of characters Susan Elizabeth Phillips is known for. There was just something about Ted that didn't really click for me and I'm usually a goner for her male characters. Our leading lady was a little bit better but still not all that believable or relatable. Overall its an okay romance novel to pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Good reunion of beloved characters

    As a loyal SEP reader, I was kept busy in the beginning trying to recall the people from her previous stories as they appeared in this one. I never did 'fall in love' with either Meg or Ted. They just didn't click with me emotionally. I found times when I could put the book down, which is unusual with an SEP. (The Nook sample and price didn't impress me so I got it at the library.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ???

    I am a huge fan of SEP, but this book was just OK. Not my favorite but it wasn't the worst either. I was really disappointed because of how excited I was for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay but not the best

    I love to read SEP. I nearly expired when I could not get this book the day after it was released. Thank Gosh I got it and got it out of my system. I read it in a day. I laughed, was annoyed by the antics of the Town against Meg and cried somewhere close to the end. It was not as heavy with emotion as Dream a Little Dream or as BORING as Glitter Baby....it was more a convoluted mix like Ain't She Sweet. Finally, I would rent it and if I had happened to buy it I would pass it along to friends without keeping track of who has it. Romance and Book Lovers in general knows what that means about a book. I saw elements of the books I will recommend in this book but the recommended books pull a bigger punch for me. Try them. ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4