Customer Reviews for

Call Me Irresistible

Average Rating 4
( 472 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book was worth the wait!

Susan Elizabeth Phillips (SEP) delivers again in Call Me Irresistible. Ted Beaudine (Fancy Pants, Lady Be Good) is marrying Lucy Jorik (First Lady)in Wynette, Texas. Ted is a former amateur golf champ,inventor and the Mayor of Wynette. Lucy is the adopted daughter of t...
Susan Elizabeth Phillips (SEP) delivers again in Call Me Irresistible. Ted Beaudine (Fancy Pants, Lady Be Good) is marrying Lucy Jorik (First Lady)in Wynette, Texas. Ted is a former amateur golf champ,inventor and the Mayor of Wynette. Lucy is the adopted daughter of the former President of the US and her husband. Lucy's best friend Meg Koranda (Glitter Baby) comes to town to be in the wedding. She sees immediately that Lucy has doubts about marrying Ted and ends up helping Lucy bolt before the wedding. After the wedding, Meg becomes persona non grata in Wynette. Unfortunately, her parents have cut her off , she can't pay her room bill and she ends up working for the inn as a maid. Ted,who is revered in town,makes it his mission to make Meg as uncomfortable as possible with help from all of the townfolk. The path that they take from intense dislike to love involves golf, a renovated church, a stalker, an amorous plumbing king and his man hungry daughter, and several characters from earlier books. Like all SEP books there is a lot of humor mixed in with a sharp look at how Lucy and Ted need to become self aware to be happy with someone else.
One of my favorite sections was when Lucy was talking to Meg about how perfect he was and how it intimidated her:
"Out of nowhere, the church doors blew open. And there he stood silhouetted against the setting sun. Theodore Day Beaudine. Trumpets began to sound. Honest to God trumpets blowing a chorus of hallelujahs. "Jesus", she whispered. "I know, "Lucy whispered back. "Stuff like this happens to him all the time. He says it's accidental."
How can you read that and not know you are in for a great time?

posted by SharonRedfern on January 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good read but not a great as all of her other books.

I love SEP. I think as a writer, she writes charming stories. I have read every single one of her books more than once. I love her series books and the way she brings back characters.

This one, however, felt like bits and pieces of the other books rolled into one....
I love SEP. I think as a writer, she writes charming stories. I have read every single one of her books more than once. I love her series books and the way she brings back characters.

This one, however, felt like bits and pieces of the other books rolled into one. There was no freshness. The new characters (Ted and Meg) are actually burdened by the return of SO MANY of the old characters and never get a chance to fully stand out as their own. Ted is just like bits of Dallie, bits of Kenny, bits of Dex. You never get a sense of the gawky kid that he was one he first came on board in Fancy Pants or the awkward young man in Lady Be Good.

Meg is a little more unique but carries similar to the heroines in Ain't She Sweet and Kiss an Angel.

Also, the dialogue - SEP typically writes snappy, witty, funny. In Call Me Irresistible, that the funny feels forced. The Crazy Women of Wynett is not funny and gets beaten over the head. Their antics aren't funny and a lot of them become caricatures.

I only say this because SEP is an incredible writer and she typically writes great characters with a fresh plot (Match Me if You Can, What I Did For Love). This seems a little bit too much borrowed and not new.

Still, as an SEP loyalist, read it for the fun of it, but you won't get sucked in and emotionally walloped like you do with her other books. Looking forward to the next one where hopefully SEP goes back to a small cast of characters and not too many old ones.

I hate to think this, but it feels like the publisher wanted to get as many SEP characters in to this one in the hopes of getting readers to read the others. For example, in this book there are characters from Lady Be Good, Fancy Pants, and Glitter Baby. To the publishers, if you want new readers to read the back list, let the author write the excellent book she is capable of writing and readers will automatically check it out. There is nothing compelling in this book that would make new readers read this, where as they should. Fancy Pants and Lady Be Good are great, fun reads.

I still love SEP.

posted by nampatel on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    I love everything SEP writes. I agree with another reader that s

    I love everything SEP writes. I agree with another reader that said too much review from previous books, but I have to say, I couldn't put the book down & definitely look forward to the next book she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Stacy

    Andrew

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Ty

    Ty

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    I'm an original Seppie, so I was hooked on the first page.

    I've read SEP for years. This was a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Another winner from SEP

    I always enjoy her books, and this was no exception.Only problem was that if I could figure out the " villian" early on, I'm sure others could too. Still a very cute, enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Irresitable read

    SEP made me laugh, cry and fall in love with her characters! I read some harsh reviews of this book, but I'm sooo happy that I didn't agree. Meg is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Enjoyable book!

    This is the first book I've read by SEP and I really enjoyed it. I realize a lot of the characters are from other books, but I didn't feel like I had missed something by not reading them first. My only complaints are I felt like there were too many characters...it was hard to keep them all straight. I also wish we could have seen Meg get a little more revenge against all the people who treated her so poorly through the book. I also think the publishers should take a hard look at the prices they are setting for nookbooks. It's absurd that an e-book costs more than a printed paperback version. I was lucky to get this from my local library. Overall though, this book is great for a quick, lighthearted read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Good Story

    Entertaining although I thought it took a long time to really get into the romance. A little slow in the beginning but good ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Fun

    I'm a big fan of this author - this was a good book, not totally my favorite, because it was hard to keep up with all the characters from past books. I wish she would have focused more on the current hero and heroine. I didn't feel like there was enough of them. But still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Loved Teddy and Meg - another winner from SEP!

    Call Me Irresistible is the story of Teddy Beaudine who is all grown up. Readers were first introduced to Ted as the ugly, awkward child of Francesca and Dallie from the book Fancy Pants. But now Ted is all grown up and is about to marry Lucy Jorik, a woman with whom everyone believes is perfect for Ted, including Ted. Although much to everyone's surprise, Lucy leaves Ted at the Alter and everyone needs someone to blame. That someone just happens to be Lucy's best friend and maid of honor, Meg Koranda. Meg finds herself stranded in the small Texas Town of Wynette with no friends and no money and everyone including the mayor himself, Mr. Ted Beaudine is out for blood.

    Once again Ms. Phillips has out done herself with another fantastic novel. Ted and Meg are great characters. I instantly loved Meg. She has this way of seeing straight to the truth of things at least for other people, but when it comes to herself she has always felt like she never measured up. In Call Me Irresistible she learns exactly what she is capable of, just how strong and smart she is and realizes she has plenty of self worth. She is the perfect counterpoint for Ted whose success comes so easy to him. His whole life he has been nothing but the golden boy. For once in his life, Meg is his first glimpse at having to work for something.

    The drama of the town, Meg's presence and the difficulties she goes through in order to learn her lesson are all extremely griping and entertaining. I could hardly put the book down. I couldn't wait to see what outrageous thing would happen next. There is great dialogue, wonderful characters and an exciting conclusion. I loved it and would recommend it to fans of SEP or contemporary romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Fun to read!

    I love all SEP books. I like how see uses characters from her other books. Her books are easy to read more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    This is my SEP so i dont have the other books she wrote to comprae this book to; Im not a fan when authors switch the point of view of the story but for this one it worked nd there were some funny parts which i loved. i definately recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another wonderful Contemporary Romance by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

    "Call Me Irresistible" by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

    Ms Phillips has constructed another fine entry into her long list of wonderful contemporary romance novels. While most of her books have recurring characters, each book can and does stand alone. In this novel, you will find many of our old friends from the past, and more importantly, two who have now very much grown up and has this book all to themselves.
    This book is written in the first person from our female protagonist's POV until you get to the last few chapters and then some switch over to Ted's POV. I really liked this little bit of change of POV's.
    "Call Me Irresistible" opens with the impending wedding of Ted Beaudine, of Wynette Texas and God among all men, and the former President's daughter Lucy Jorik, and everything is running smoothly until Meg Koranda, Lucy's best friend shows up on the scene and seems to have put the kybosh on the wedding plans. On the other hand, has she really? When the wedding is canceled as the groom is standing at the altar, everyone in the entire town decides that it's Meg's fault that their "golden God" has been jilted. Broke and with an unreliable car, Meg becomes stuck in a town that absolutely hates her and blames her for all that has befallen them and poor Teddy. Since Meg has never proven herself to be a real grown up, it soon becomes clear that she is going to have to grow and learn to survive on her own. No matter what that means. Of course this being a romance, sparks quickly fly between Ted and Meg and they decide having a 'no strings attached' flaming affair is the way to cool things off. However, do you truly think Ms Phillips is going to keep it that simple? Nope and a lot of fun is ahead for the reader. You can also add into the mix a bit of a mystery since someone unknown is trying to drive Meg out of town.

    While some readers may be a bit put off by the lengths the townspeople go to show just how unwelcome Meg is and to make her pay for her 'mistake', it will become clear that not everyone hates Meg and what she did, although it does seem to take an inordinately long time for her to make amends. At one point even I sas ready to throw in the towel. HOWEVER, all of this served to strengthen the relationship between Ted and Meg and was another way to show just how far Meg had turned her life around for the better.

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Amusing tale of busybodies

    After reading this book, I kept comparing the reaction and the treatment of Meg by the town to the family from the family stone. It just seemed over the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Worth the Read

    Just finished this book and I really enjoyed it. Of course you know she is going to "get her man" but the journey there was worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7