Customer Reviews for

Call Me Mrs. Miracle

Average Rating 4
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mrs. Miracle Meets 34th Street

MIRA Publishing
Release Date: September 28, 2010

This story is a sequel to Mrs. Miracle, that was made into a Hallmark movie last year and you may see this book made into a Hallmark movie this year.

This story is set up as Mrs. Miracle meets Miracle On 34th Str...
MIRA Publishing
Release Date: September 28, 2010

This story is a sequel to Mrs. Miracle, that was made into a Hallmark movie last year and you may see this book made into a Hallmark movie this year.

This story is set up as Mrs. Miracle meets Miracle On 34th Street. Emily Merkle (call me Mrs. Miracle) is found working in the toy department of a family owned prominent department store in New York City. Her department manager is the owner's son Jake.

Through a series of perfectly timed events, Jake meets the woman of his dreams, changes his feelings about Christmas, also helping his dad to see the "lights". A little boy gets the Christmas of his dreams and Mrs. Miracle has completed her job and travels on to her next assignment. Who knows where she will turn up next?

This is a delightful Christmas story everyone will enjoy. The thing I like about most Debbie Macomber books is that while the characters may appear in many stories, each story can stand on it's own. With the exception of her Cedar Cove series, which I feel needs to be read in order, you can jump right into one of her books and feel right at home. It was a tall order to come up with a sequel after Mrs. Miracle, but this is an amusing little feel good story that is sure to put a smile on your face.

I can't believe I am reviewing a Christmas story when it is 80 degrees here in Wisconsin, but Debbie writes so well you can almost hear the bells ringing and carolers singing despite the time of year. This book would make a perfect Christmas gift or a book to read as the holidays draw near to really get you into the Christmas spirit!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

posted by Dollycas on September 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

touching and heartwarming

I just watched the movie last week and loved it. Doris Roberts was great as Mrs. Miracle. I will certainly read this book now all the others. Keep the books coming. I love my Nook color!

posted by Anonymous on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mrs. Miracle Meets 34th Street

    MIRA Publishing
    Release Date: September 28, 2010

    This story is a sequel to Mrs. Miracle, that was made into a Hallmark movie last year and you may see this book made into a Hallmark movie this year.

    This story is set up as Mrs. Miracle meets Miracle On 34th Street. Emily Merkle (call me Mrs. Miracle) is found working in the toy department of a family owned prominent department store in New York City. Her department manager is the owner's son Jake.

    Through a series of perfectly timed events, Jake meets the woman of his dreams, changes his feelings about Christmas, also helping his dad to see the "lights". A little boy gets the Christmas of his dreams and Mrs. Miracle has completed her job and travels on to her next assignment. Who knows where she will turn up next?

    This is a delightful Christmas story everyone will enjoy. The thing I like about most Debbie Macomber books is that while the characters may appear in many stories, each story can stand on it's own. With the exception of her Cedar Cove series, which I feel needs to be read in order, you can jump right into one of her books and feel right at home. It was a tall order to come up with a sequel after Mrs. Miracle, but this is an amusing little feel good story that is sure to put a smile on your face.

    I can't believe I am reviewing a Christmas story when it is 80 degrees here in Wisconsin, but Debbie writes so well you can almost hear the bells ringing and carolers singing despite the time of year. This book would make a perfect Christmas gift or a book to read as the holidays draw near to really get you into the Christmas spirit!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Recommend for a Christmas read romantic.

    A tried and true story line. A little too syrupy for my taste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this sweet Christmas story. Most of it is predictable, but

    Loved this sweet Christmas story. Most of it is predictable, but that doesn't take away from it being enjoyable and heartwarming. I'd highly recommend this to anyone that enjoys holiday stories ... even in June!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    A Must Read for the Holidays

    Love, love, love this delightful holiday story. It is something anyone can read and feel the miracle of the season through it. It is heartwarming and uplifting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    touching and heartwarming

    I just watched the movie last week and loved it. Doris Roberts was great as Mrs. Miracle. I will certainly read this book now all the others. Keep the books coming. I love my Nook color!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    A wonderfulChristmas story, I recommend it!

    Mrs. Miracle works wonders...for families that need hope this is a good book. It touches on many aspects of the season. Grief, anticipation, hopelessness, and love, joy, and peace are found within the pages of this good storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Great "sequel" to Mrs. Miracle

    Mrs. Miracle books leave you feeling happy and like anything is possible! I highly recommend this book to those who have read and enjoy Mrs. Miracle and want a nice, heartwarming holiday read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Delightful Read

    "Aspire to inspire before you expire." ~Mrs. Miracle

    The only words I can think of to describe Call Me Mrs. Miracle is, delightful, funny, and inspirational. This is my first book by Debbie Macomber, but it won't be the last. Last year I watched a delightful movie on TV around Christmas time called Mr. Miracle, so when I saw that Debbie Macomber had a new Mrs. Miracle book out I jumped at a chance to review it.

    The author has a great way of blending great characters with a sweet storyline. You just fall in love with all the characters and get that great feeling at the end when it's over - but there is also that sadness for the same reason.

    It's a romance story but it has so much more to it. I would really call it a light romance and one of the things I love about it is the fact that it has no sex scenes at all in the book. Its not written as an inspirational book, yet I could without a doubt tell my Christian friends that it would be a great book for them to read for the Christmas holidays. I would most definitely recommend this book to anyone! It's a great light read.

    originally posted at: longandshortreviews.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mrs. Merkle returns for another holiday matchmaking extravaganza

    Heir Finley's Department Store Jake Finley and his owner dad Jacob never celebrate Christmas although that is the critical business period. Unlike the jolly New York shoppers, father and son never forgot the tragedy that occurred two decades ago on Christmas Eve when his mom and sis died in a car crash; his dad especially refuses to celebrate.

    In Brooklyn, single Holly Larson struggles with having eight year old Gabe living with her. However, with her widower brother Mickey serving in Afghanistan for fifteen months and their parents in Haiti providing medical assistance, her nephew resides with the only option left for him, his fraternal aunt. Finley Department Store seasonal employee Emily "Mrs. Miracle" Merkle thinks Jake and Holly, who meet over coffee, are a perfect match; so she plans to live up to her nickname using a toy robot that Gabe wants as the matchmaker.

    Following the recent movie rendition of Debbie Macomber's Mrs. Miracle, Mrs. Merkle returns for another holiday matchmaking extravaganza. The story line is lighthearted inspirational fun though follows the obvious simplistic path that readers will expect to occur. Still Yuletide fans will enjoy a modern day Manhattan miracle on Thirty-Fourth Street.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Christmas Joy

    If you love stories about the Christmas season, you will certainly enjoy this book. It has all the standard elements of a modern Christmas story. A small child, Gabe has had a family trauma. His widowed father has been sent on a tour of duty to Afghanistan, just prior to the holidays. Gabe, staying with his aunt Holly,looks forward to Christmas and a special toy, to brighten his life. Two adults, Holly and Jake Finley, the heir to the Finley department store, meet unexpectedly and instantly are enamored with each other, finding the solutions to their life's problems in each others arms. Jake's father, J. R. Finley, who has given up on Christmas because of a personal tragedy, finds solace in his son's new found love and the renewal of his observance of Christmas. A kindly sprite of a woman, Mrs. Miracle, mysteriously brings all the parties together for a renewal of love and faith in the Christmas spirit. There are no surprises here, but it is an enjoyable tale that will no doubt be made into a heart warming holiday movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Pefect holiday read!

    "Aspire to inspire before you expire" Mrs. Miracle

    Emily Merkle (call me Mrs. Miracle) is working at the Finley Department store in the toy section. It's a family run store and Emily's boss is the owner's son Jake Finley.

    Jake lost his mother and sister on Christmas Eve when their cab hit another car, since then his father and him have been doing there best to forget that Christmas ever existed. They always take a vacation through Christmas, the only realistic part of Christmas for them is they they know that they will make a killing on toys because of the season.

    Holly is struggling this year, her brother had to go to Afghanistan and she was the only one able to take care of his eight year old son, Gabe. Her parents are out the country also so she is feeling a little bit alone. At first its a little touch and go with her and her nephew, but things are starting to get better.

    When Jake and Holly meet at a coffee shop it just seemed fated that they would meet again later at Finley's department store. At the store is where Gabe tells Holly what he wants for Christmas, a Intelltron Robot. The only problem is, is the cost, Two Hundred and Fifty dollars.

    Mrs. Miracles on a mission to put Jake and Holly together because they are a great match. She is always encouraging them to do things together. She also has some things in store for some of the other characters as well as she pulls together what she told Gabe, 'Would be the best Christmas ever.'

    The only words I can think of to describe Call Me Mrs. Miracle is, delightful, funny, and inspirational. This is my first book by Debbie Macomber, but it won't be the last. Last year I watched a delightful movie on TV around Christmas time called Mr. Miracle so when I seen that Debbie Macomber had a new Mrs. Miracle book out I jumped at a chance to review it.

    The author has a great way of blending great characters with a sweet storyline. You just fall in love with all the characters and you just get that great feeling at the end when its over but there is also that sadness because its over.

    Its a romance story but it has so much more too it. I would really call it a light romance and one of the things I love about it is the fact that it has no sex at all in the book. Its not written as a inspirational book yet I could with out a doubt tell my Christian friends that it would be a great book for them to read for the Christmas holidays. I would most definitely recommend this book to anyone! Its a great light read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Llove it

    Got it from the library and loved it!!! I just keep going back to the "romantic" parts!!! It is really cute and has a very happy ending!! I EXTREMELY recommend this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Wayne

    Jesus is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    A light and easy read

    A good book for something that is light and easy for the Christmas Season. The Hallmark move is much better than the book. I would not read it again or recommended it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    To Alec

    R u gothic?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Alec

    Lol yeah the kid jus ended up getting back on the mary go round eugt aftee i threw him to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Abree to Alec

    Im not suppose to laugh at that but it is sooooooo funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    A Christmas Must Read!

    This sequel to Mrs. Miracle is a perfect complement to Christmas. Very well written, good characters, and a great story line. This is a holiday or a feel good must read. It has just the right amount of naughty and nice. Highly Recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Recommend

    Cute story. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEN

    WONDERFUL BOOK! WONDERFUL AUTHOR!
    THANKS FOR HAVING THIS BOOK AVAILABLE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11