Customer Reviews for

Call of the Herald

Average Rating 4
( 391 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

recommended defintely

IT STARTED OUT SLOW BUT IT REALLY GOT ME HOOKED.I WOULD RECOMMENED IT TO 12 AND UP. IHAVE ALREADY DONLOADED THE OTHER TWO AFTER THIS ONE TO CONTINUE THE STORY LINE.IM 56 YEARS OLD AND LOVED IT.THE ARTHUR HAS A GREAT WAY WITH WORDS.

posted by weiner on March 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Reminded me not to aspire to be a novelist

Because I wouldn't be any better than Rathbone, and he is NOT good. This is a very boring, predictable story. Characters are not at all well developed - some characters have no discernible purpose whatsoever. I will never pick up another novel by this author (nor wil...
Because I wouldn't be any better than Rathbone, and he is NOT good. This is a very boring, predictable story. Characters are not at all well developed - some characters have no discernible purpose whatsoever. I will never pick up another novel by this author (nor will I ever try to write my own novel, for fear that what I come up with is no better than this).

posted by PamEyeAm on August 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 391 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    recommended defintely

    IT STARTED OUT SLOW BUT IT REALLY GOT ME HOOKED.I WOULD RECOMMENED IT TO 12 AND UP. IHAVE ALREADY DONLOADED THE OTHER TWO AFTER THIS ONE TO CONTINUE THE STORY LINE.IM 56 YEARS OLD AND LOVED IT.THE ARTHUR HAS A GREAT WAY WITH WORDS.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Reminded me not to aspire to be a novelist

    Because I wouldn't be any better than Rathbone, and he is NOT good. This is a very boring, predictable story. Characters are not at all well developed - some characters have no discernible purpose whatsoever. I will never pick up another novel by this author (nor will I ever try to write my own novel, for fear that what I come up with is no better than this).

    11 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    A good read.

    This book is very imaginative, the author paints a very detailed image of the characters and the setting, a bit slow going but the books in this series are hard to put down once you begin reading. I find myself still thinking about the characters long after I've read the books!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    Excellent beginning to a great trilogy

    I have read all three books in the series and have heard rumor this author is working on another in this series. I can't wait.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Put up with the bad writing for a few chapters, it gets better.

    A decent book. It seems almost as if this is the authors first foray into the world of writimg, so the first couple of chapters dont really flow all that well, but he seems to hit his stride around the second third of the book, and it holds interest fairly well from there on. The characters arent anything special, not being overly well developed, and where the protagonist's power comes from isnt well explained. We find out it comes from a comet, but we dont know why, or if it has anything to do with a higher power or what. All we know about is a prophecy and a power that appears with a comet that only she can tap into. The world is well drawn out and believable though. The motivation of the bad guys isnt understood in this book either. Its certainly not a bad book, but it could have been better. Ita worth reading if you are bored and looking for an ok free book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Gritty Beginning But Good Tale

    If you like fantasy, you will most likely like this book. Brian has a pretty good tale going, although the beginning is a little bit dry. I did struggle past the first chapter and found myself a little bit lost at first by what he was trying to convey with his scene on the comets.
    The reader will eventually find out what the comets are all about later on in the book.
    It does have a pretty good hook after the second chapter and I was late getting back to work on a few occasions. I just didn't want to put this book down after I got past the gritty stuff.
    The ending is kind of a cliff hanger but I was satisfied enough with the ending to give this book four stars.
    I will even be reading the next book in the series. (I did like it that much.)

    4 out of 5 ****

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Awesome!

    Looking for something good to read. This trilogy is the thing. I really enjoyed the books. Well written and unpredictable. A bit of scifi and adventure.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Different world great story

    Read the whole series, I hope the author continues on...very interesting plot, back story, etc...a bit slow in a couple spots but it definitely picks up. Some parts could have been explained a little better but overall good read, great series. You really get attached to some of the characters! I really recommend if you like a good fantasy, sci fi...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Good Story

    Though it started out slow as you got into the speed picked up. Have read the first one and I'm in the middle of the second. Can't wait to read the third.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Couldnt get through it at all

    I saw mixed reviews so thought i would give it a try hoping i would be on the side that loved it. Sadly that was not the case. I could not get through it at all. I finish books even the ones i cant stand. I gave up on this one about half way through. Very dissapointed

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Even free not recommended.

    Didn't like. Was very slow to start. Parts seemed disconnected.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Fun read!

    Just a fun read with likeable characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Really enjoyed

    I really liked this book. Its not a really long read but it kept my attention. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.
    The characters were fairly well developed and the author keeps you guessing about certain things throughout the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Very good read

    I really enjoyed this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Very Good

    Enjoyed reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Reluctant hero/prophet fantasy

    Worth 3.5 stars but can only choose whole number.

    The book had an interesting background premise; how would you react to an age old prophecies fulfilling in your lifetime?
    I will read further in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Loved It!

    Excellent fantasy/fiction book. As an adult I loved it, and I love that I've found another series of books that I can read to my kids!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    recommend

    It was an enjoyable book that kept your interest and made you want to know what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    I was hooked immediately! Rich detail without dragging. Good cha

    I was hooked immediately! Rich detail without dragging. Good character development-and you'll fall in love with them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Liked

    I'm not much of a reviewer. I just really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 391 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20