Customer Reviews for

The Call of the Wild

Average Rating 4
( 846 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(523)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

I An Unexpectedly Great Read

When I began the book, it was boring. But further into the book it turned into a great read! I would definitely recommend this book. I'm not into adventure books, but I love this book! Read this book!

posted by 9365232 on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT GET THIS BOOK!!!

The Call of the Wild is a wonderful story and I recommend it to everyone young and old. However, DO NOT get this particular copy. It is difficult to read due to a lot of weird letters and characters inserted throughout. I tried several different free versions and they a...
The Call of the Wild is a wonderful story and I recommend it to everyone young and old. However, DO NOT get this particular copy. It is difficult to read due to a lot of weird letters and characters inserted throughout. I tried several different free versions and they all have this defect. I finally fouond one for $0.99 which was wonderful. I love free stuff same as the next person, but this isn't worth it.

posted by Stueysmom on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    cool!

    so this is a good boook!!! i totaly reccomend this super awsome book! love it! ooooo!!!!yeah!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    My second LEAST fav. Book

    Its pretty good, but dont read it unless your a boring person...... [•]-[•]
    _

    ¿ >< ¿

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    A cat to all important

    Does anyone know a cat named Mistyflower from this clan when you were at precaution or wasthat a diffrent cat i rped.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Pineclaw

    "I have to put in that I'm fed up with a few things in our clan. 1. Since when did Sunclan allow in cats with orange and purple fur and wings and horns? Come on! It used to be fine, but it's getting ridiculous. 2. DO AWAY WITH THE DRAMA!!! Sunclan's ratings have gone down far. I suggest we let no more cats with powers or freaky fur in. We want to be normal. Even Bloodclan is ignoring us!! &#8369€

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Swefler

    "Okeh!" ^^ "l gotta go, Levi's ma is demanding that they eat supper and that l get my butt home. So, l'll be back in a bit." He kisses Raechie, waves to Brooke and disapoofs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Thunder to True Evil

    I'm Leader. Not Lethal. Move Back To True Evil Results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    CALL OF THE WILD!

    Okay, so I dont really like this book so far. It may be because im too young to appreciate it. I find that it is tedious and boring. But like I said, I may not like this book because of my age... I respect other people's opnion, but I dont see this book as interesting, although,do find the setting of this book insteresting, because we are learning about it in class. This is just my opnion on the book, SO FAR...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Okay

    Okay book only read sample. So far kind of inepropriety for a kid talks about blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Well....

    I gues this is what you get for free. Many mistakes...weird stuff . Would not reccomend to people who are sensitive or get bothered mistakes...:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Would be a great book if it was still 1940

    It is really boring and sad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Barbie

    Cool book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Call of the Wild

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: The Call of The Wild
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5):2

    Introduction
    This book is about a dog named buck that is taken out of his California home and is used during the gold rush to pull sleds. Buck wants to be the leader but someone always gets in his way. He learns to live like a wild wolf. This book is made for adults because of the use of words. I did not like the book a lot.

    Description and summary of main points
    A dog named Buck gets taken from his home and is forced to work as a sled dog during the gold rush. He learns how get his own food and not to fight against a human. He learns how to live like a wild wolf and does very well.

    Evaluation
    I didn't like the book because it confused me with the choice of words. At times I did not get the message the book was trying to get out. I thought Buck was doing one thing when he was doing something else. I did not get the theme because I didn't know what the book was trying to say. The books setting was clear to me I thought the setting was perfect for this book. The book fits the purpose of being for adults. I think I would like other books from this genre.

    Conclusion
    I did not like this book a lot. This book is about a California dog who gets taken to the wild and learns to survive. I wish the book had more action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    wasn't great

    This book bored me. It never was exciting or entertaining. It seemed like all they did was go back and forth with a new owner each time. The book picked up in the end but couldn't catch my intrest so much that I enjoyed the book. I wouldn't reccomend this book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    briana callicoat

    The main idea of the book is about Buck answering the call of the wild. Jack London intended the audience to be people that are about eighteen. The purpose of this review is to inform people about the book. According to the reviews, it was a good book if you like boring books. Jack London is a good writer because of his experience. I am judging this book on the plot. This book is different from other dog stories, like Shiloh. It is a not so boring book. The Call of the Wild is a very boring book. Overall, I think people shouldn¿t read this book unless you like boring books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    SOOOOO Boring

    I hated this book. The ending was bad. I had to read it for school. It was so boring. I had to slap myself so I wouldn't go to sleep. It was horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    O.K., sort of

    It didn't really have a point. Or a moral. Or a good ending. Plus, I could probably have read it in about two hours if I'd wanted to- the language was that challenging (woo hoo). I wasn't very impressed. Not too much of a classic, I say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    Below average

    The book Call of the Wild was just plain pathetic. It was about a dog, and it is hard for me to ever imagine myself in a dog's perspective. I had heard prior to reading the book that it was exciting and a great classic, but I was greatly disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    DONT READ THIS BOOK

    I thought that this book was boring,we had to read it in class as an assignment but the whole class didnt like it. A lot of Jack Londons books are fairly good.But to me the book just kept dragging on. Ecspecially when Buck is pulling the sled. There is only one good thing in this book that was that you must depend on yourself to survive on your own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2