BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Call of the Wild

Average Rating 4
( 845 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(522)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

I An Unexpectedly Great Read

When I began the book, it was boring. But further into the book it turned into a great read! I would definitely recommend this book. I'm not into adventure books, but I love this book! Read this book!

posted by 9365232 on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT GET THIS BOOK!!!

The Call of the Wild is a wonderful story and I recommend it to everyone young and old. However, DO NOT get this particular copy. It is difficult to read due to a lot of weird letters and characters inserted throughout. I tried several different free versions and they a...
The Call of the Wild is a wonderful story and I recommend it to everyone young and old. However, DO NOT get this particular copy. It is difficult to read due to a lot of weird letters and characters inserted throughout. I tried several different free versions and they all have this defect. I finally fouond one for $0.99 which was wonderful. I love free stuff same as the next person, but this isn't worth it.

posted by Stueysmom on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    What are u talkinf What are u talking about

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Firesteel to Aspen

    "I apologize for what happened earlier. I won't intrude on your clan's business anymore."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Is this sun clan?

    Clanless cat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Ghostpaw

    A young, pasty white apprentice peeked in and looked around

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Cool

    Good theme but not good graphics and very big words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Ok Book

    "Call of the Wild" was amazing, the book is easily captivating, the only reason it wasn't rated five stars was because the book was poorly punctuated. Headings are randomly place in sections of the book. Some words that are not meant to be in the chapter are popping up.. I would advise to buy the 0.99 cent book and roll with it!!!! Other than that it was amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Its logan

    Ahhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    The story is better than this digital edition

    I am reading this as part of the "Books that Shaped America" series from the Library of Congress. This low-cost edition had several display flaws which made reading somewhat difficult.

    The story is a classic, surprising short and concise. The plot has many twists and turns that carry the reader along without the extremism of many early American novels. Honest treatment of the brutality involved and emotionally moving in describing the positive relationships that Buck discovers in his hard life. A pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Good

    So, is this a good book, or not. Is it like White Fang? Please tell me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Poor formating. Good story

    Very poor formating for nook. Lots of spelling mistakes. Good story. Short, only 79 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    call of the wild review

    great book! had to read for lit class so sad but good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    The Call of the Wild, Jack London. New York: Scholastic Inc. 2008. 172 pages.

    The Call of the Wild is a novel by American writer Jack London. The plot concerns a dog named Buck, whose instincts return after a series of events leads to his serving as a sled dog in the Yukon during the Klondike Gold Rush, in which sled dogs were bought at generous prices. Because the protagonist is a dog, it is sometimes classified as a novel, suitable for children, but it is dark in tone and contains numerous scenes of beatings and violence. I also think this book is alright, but then again I don't like to read.
    Published in 1903, The Call of the Wild is Jack London's most-read book, and it is generally considered his best and the masterpiece of his so-called early writing stage. London followed the book in 1906 with White Fang, a novel with many similar plot elements and themes as Call of the Wild, although following a very close plot in which a wild wolf becomes civilized by a mining expert from San Francisco named Weldon Scott.
    The Call of the Wild is a sad story of survival. Buck is a happy St. Bernard mix who lives in Santa Clara, California, with a kind owner by the name of Judge Miller. But then, he is kidnapped by the gardener's assistant and sent to be a sled dog in the North during the Klondike gold rush. He meets many dogs who are more abused than him, but he also faces many tough times himself. A man in a red sweater beats him cruelly and makes him realize that not all people are like Judge Miller. Then he is sold to a person who buy's and sells dogs to the people who used dogs to pull sleds during the Klondike Gold Rush. Buck meets many people, but it is ultimately their brutality that makes him choose the destiny he does. Buck is heading into the wild.

    This was a cruel story and a very sad one too. Someone died in almost every chapter, and nearly all of them were dogs. The character of Buck was a very smart character, but the other characters passed out of his life very quickly. The book was a good one and it made me thankful that I wasn't a dog living during that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    The Call of the Wild

    In the book Call of the Wild the story takes place in the life of a dog. This allows a viewpoint from an animal that has been taken from the wild. This animal who is the main character from the book by Jack London his name is Buck. Buck has many different experiences from the beginning to the end. He has to face the villain who has made a bet with a person that does not have a high tolerance. The villain wants his money no matter what it takes to get it. So he gets the most abundant thing that the gardener can get. The gardener gets the dog and sells the dog to the villain. The dog is then taken to a shelter that holds dogs who have been taken or lost. The man that is in charge treats Buck badly and the dog ends up dying at the end of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Call of the Wild

    I would recommend this book, Call of the Wild, to other readers. This book was about a dog named Buck who was kidnapped during the great gold rush so he could be used as a sled dog. He must have been scared, not knowing where he was going or why he was being used for this kind of labor. In this book, Buck craves to be the leader of the pack, willing to harm anyone that gets in his way. He never knew he had this kind of power in him until he became part of the wild. This book was interesting because of how Buck transformed into a city dog, to a wild, ghost dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    call of the wild

    The Call of the Wild Book Review<BR/>The main idea of The Call of the Wild is a dog named Buck who doesn¿t know if he¿s going to answer the ¿call of the wild¿. The point of the story is to show the strong bond of a man and his dog. Personally, I didn¿t like the book because the book was arranged. In this review, I¿m trying to give a reader my outlook on the story. The book is very graphic at times, but it keeps a reader¿s mind wondering what¿s going to happen next. Buck faces hardship through out the whole book including harsh temperatures, being beaten, and almost starving to death. Jack London¿s books all deal with characters having to deal with tough obstacles. This book is filled with treacherous problems. I sometimes compare this book to ¿In Trouble¿ by Gary Paulsen. Both books deal with sled dogs and winter. Even though I don¿t like the book, I¿m glad I read it because the book gives me a different outlook on dogs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    Call of the Wild Review

    This book is pretty much about how dogs survive in the wild. Jack London¿s purpose of writing this book was for entertainment, and the intended audience is middle school. My purpose of writing this review is for a reader to get to know this book better for they will read it. I thought that the book was very good and intersecting. Jack London started the book in San Diego with a dog named Buck, and how he lives his life. But a reader will soon find out that things change juristically. The plot was very exciting and I liked when the dogs fought. I think that this book is a lot like the Series of Unfortunate Events. The reason is how good both the children lived and how good Buck lived before their misfortunate happened. In conclusion I think a reader should read this book because it is very good and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    Reader Review

    Marcus Eller<BR/>6th period<BR/>Call of the wild<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/> In this action packed book the author Jack London shows you the life of a sled dog through the character Buck¿s eyes. This book is in Alaska during the gold rush in the 1890¿s. During the beginning of the book Buck is living the life on a farm as a family¿s dog. At the beginning the book seem as if it is going to be a nice loving book, but as you move along I the book things change juristically. Buck once a nice, spoiled, beautiful dog gets stolen and sold. Buck¿s whole life is changed right then and there. After Buck was sold he found himself on a dog sled team in Alaska. Living in those conditions Buck is fighting for survival always on the move cold, and hungry. As the book progresses more Buck becomes fit for that type of lifestyle. Buck changes from a spoiled dog to a sled dog. His instincts start to kick in and Buck becomes ¿wild¿!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    call of the wild :)

    Review<BR/> In Jack London¿s Call of the Wild, the reader meets Buck, a remarkable dog who makes the transformation for a pet in the Santa Clara Valley to a sled dog in the Klondike. London has created a story for people of all ages that allows the reader to experience Buck¿s incredible journey through the north. Time spent in Alaska helped London to give this novel a strong sense of reality. From the vivid description of the environment to the complex characters and personalities, the author makes the reader feel as if they have traveled back 100 years into the Alaskan north to sled with Buck and his team. While most of the book was very well written, I felt parts of the plot could be slow, and it did not always hold my attention. Personally, I was bored by the violence and gore that was described in the book. I did enjoy reading about Buck¿s many different owners, like Francois, who turned Buck into a champion sled dog. But the moist influential of Buck¿s owners was John Thorton, who essentially saved Buck¿s life by taking him from his inexperienced owners. John was the only thing keeping Buck from answering the call of the wild, and running free in the Alaskan wilderness. I really like London¿s portrayal of the love between dog and man. Overall, I think this was a decent book, and would recommend it to other readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Call of the Wild

    Call of the Wild is an adventurous novel by the world renowned author Jack London. The story is about a dog named Buck, who is stolen from his home in southern California, and is thrown into the unforgiving world of the Klondike Gold Rush. This book takes place in the late 1800¿s, and in my opinion, makes it feel very old timely. I would say this book is intended for the ages 12 and up. I think the book was ok, but I found some of the dialog hard to understand. Over all, I would rate the book a 3½ out of 5. The book still gave me a lasting memory and I would recommend this book to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4