Customer Reviews for

The Call of the Wild

Average Rating 4
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

WOW!! Highy recommended

I can't believe I've never read this book before now, or anything by Jack London (I'm 34). This was an amazingly insightful, emotional and gorgeously written book. "Love that was feverish and burning, that was adoration, that was madness"....WOW! I've never heard true l...
I can't believe I've never read this book before now, or anything by Jack London (I'm 34). This was an amazingly insightful, emotional and gorgeously written book. "Love that was feverish and burning, that was adoration, that was madness"....WOW! I've never heard true love so adequately and beautifully expressed. Amazing book.

posted by JessLucy on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The poor dogs!!!

I read this book for school, and honestly, I thought it was horrible. The story wasn't that interesting. The only thing that Jack London seemed to care about was the dying dogs! All of a sudden a dog would die, or someone would fall into a river... The story was also...
I read this book for school, and honestly, I thought it was horrible. The story wasn't that interesting. The only thing that Jack London seemed to care about was the dying dogs! All of a sudden a dog would die, or someone would fall into a river... The story was also very predictable, until the ending. It ended very suddenly, without as much detial as the chapters beforehand.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    WOW!! Highy recommended

    I can't believe I've never read this book before now, or anything by Jack London (I'm 34). This was an amazingly insightful, emotional and gorgeously written book. "Love that was feverish and burning, that was adoration, that was madness"....WOW! I've never heard true love so adequately and beautifully expressed. Amazing book.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Classic read

    Bought this to add to my 6/7th grade classroom library, especially to keep high interest for male readers. Successful!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    The Book

    I thought that the book was very challening for both the characters and the readers. London used very descriptive words and very complex. And just the over all plot was terrific except he dosen't get back with judge Miller, that was a sad part.There was a lot of action and challening parts in the book like the fights. London explained how Buck watched and learned from fights and how it payed off when he fought Spitz.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    9 yo daughter loves it, as I did (still do)

    My kid loves all animals, and I thought she'd appreciate this novel told from the dog's perspective. It's exciting, full of adventure, and has a certain "otherness" about it that's captivating. The author tries hard not to over-anthropomorphize the dogs, and he succeeds beautifully. My daughter needs occasional help with some sophisticated vocabulary or old fashioned turn of phrase, but she's not at all bored--she's really engaged in the story. Recommend!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Ioved this book

    This book is amazing it is so cool.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    *****

    Amazing book, try it if you like dogs and nature:)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    So good

    Call of the wild is a must read classic if you like adventure than you will love this book and its full of dog related drama that you should not miss out on!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Call of the wild

    I loved this book even though it made me cry. I would not reccommend the movie though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Katie

    Katie picked it up and put it in her quiver before heading out... FINALLY!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    A must read

    A must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    Wonderful

    Wonderful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Sunwing

    (Mumbles and nods approvingly)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Awesome

    I love this book. Who ever reads this should read white fang

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Mudstar

    Gtg

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Hfhffhjfdu

    Jfjffff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Amberstar

    Join my clan nightengale res 16

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Foxkit

    Laus in the river

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Wolf

    He limps to bloodclan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Him

    He pads in. "You idiot, shes dead."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Diane

    This book is awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10