Customer Reviews for

Calling Me Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Calling Me Home is a story that interweaves past with present, a

    Calling Me Home is a story that interweaves past with present, as Miss Isabelle McCallister and her friend/hairdresser Dorrie make a cross country trip to a funeral. Miss Isabelle is an elderly woman living alone and has asked Dorrie a young single black hairdresser to drive her from Texas to Cincinnati. With Dorrie's crazy life, she kinda will get a break from everything going on at home plus the added bonus of learning a bit more about Isabelle's guarded past.




    As the head out of town, Miss Isabelle begins her story...Kentucky 1939. With miles of road behind them she shares the story of her true love, a forbidden love. 17 year old Isabelle had fallen in love with 18 year old Robert Prewitt, a black youth whose mother worked for Isabelle's family. The closer they get to Cincinnati the more Dorrie learns of Isabelle's heartbreaking story and realizes the funeral is of utmost importance.




    While driving, Dorrie's hectic life seems to be following her. She feels pressed with her own son and with the new man in her life. But as she sits and listens to Miss Isabelle's story she quickly realizes there are many truths in her story that Dorrie can use in her own life. Once at the funeral, when all the truth is revealed the two women are more connected than ever.




    What can I say? I loved Calling Me Home! With the beginning of the romance you can't help but think oh no! Not in that time! You know what was done to young black boys if they even looked at a white women back then! I wanted to talk some sense into her, but at the same time you want them together because they love each other! It's a struggle reading about the appalling treatment...it's like you read and realize how far things have come and at the same time realize there is so much more to be done.




    This is a book you really don't want to put down. You can't help but want to know what's next and I LOVED how Dorrie was not just another person is the story, but was also hearing the story just as I was. I sat with this book crying as it came to an end.




    I highly recommend Calling Me Home.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding Debut Novel!

    A poignant, debut novel – a winner out of the gate, filled with careful description and woven skillfully! A vivid, engaging first book with strong characters, dramatic storytelling, which should establish Julie Kibler as a strong novelist. She most definitely possesses a gift of telling a tragic story, in an entertaining way with an inspiring takeaway of friendship and love. (She has just been added to my favorite author list, and so look forward to following this author)!

    A complex and compelling portrait of the painful intricacies of love, loyalty, discrimination, and racial tensions. An insightful story of two women caught between their hearts, families, and their future.

    Calling Me Home is no ordinary love story; however, a book of astonishing precision from past to present, from one younger black woman and an older white woman; raw, painful, beautiful feelings told in honesty, unfolding precisely and eloquently, during this long road trip between friends of two different eras and color.

    The real magic of the book was the subject matter of two families (black/white) trying to survive in an era in which men and women found themselves bound by strict constraints, dictated by society and ignorance. A heart felt story and forbidden love of two people –fighting for a life they so deserve – a fearless, heart wrenching story about the power of true love and friendship.

    There was much depth and power to this relationship between Robert/Isabelle; a timeless love derailed by others, secrets, and an era which did not accept this sort of relationship between a man and woman. A complex tapestry of lives intertwined, a compassionate story of those who are destroyed by love by secrets and betrayal.

    There is warmth and love, even with such painful subjects, as the bond these two women share, not bound by blood, but by a friendship which changes Dottie’s life and her future, is remarkable – a portrait of resilience told with clarity and painful precision, probing the dark history of Isabelle’s past with a few surprises readers will love before it ends, making you smile.

    An emotionally charged, absorbing novel about friends, lovers, secrets, and families. Kibler’s sensitive and gripping examination of a family’s past is engaging from the beginning and gets better with every chapter, with unforgettable characters. Eloquently told and making it more special, the author’s insight into the subject matter from her family’s history. A powerful and memorable story you will not soon forget. Ideal for book clubs and discussions - A winner!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Great heartfelt book

    Could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    This story takes you back to a time when interracial love was a

    This story takes you back to a time when interracial love was a scary thing. The characters in this novel jump out of the pages, I immediately became very attached to them. Their emotions became my own emotions. I couldn't put this book down! It was a great read for those who like historical fictions and love stories. The characters are witty, emotional, and down to earth ... they felt very real. This story draws you in and will keep you interested until the very last page. I didn’t find any lulls in the story either, I often hate when an author goes on and on describing something simple like a tree. This author's level of description was just enough to be able to visualize the scene, but kept the novel flowing. Great novel, I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    With her debut novel, Calling Me Home, Julie Kibler has taken a

    With her debut novel, Calling Me Home, Julie Kibler has taken a sensitive subject, wrapped it in emotion, and weaved together a story in a way that left my heart alternately racing and aching. I can see why early reviews compared Calling Me Home to The Help. I loved the dual story lines with present and past and how she ties the two to each other in the end. I cried when I turned the last page because I didn't want to stop reading. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    This debut novel caught me from the first few pages. Kibler's s

    This debut novel caught me from the first few pages. Kibler's story takes you inside the heads and hearts of Miss Isabelle and Dorrie so that you feel you are right there in the car with them. The two women's stories are interwoven with ease so that the story flows from present to past and back again, carrying the reader along with it. There are parts that made me uncomfortable, but in a good way. The love story at the heart of this book is one of a forbidden relationship, and my heart broke for Isabelle and Robert that it even had to matter. The friendship between Dorrie and Isabelle made me smile as they were at times tender and then in the next moment fractious, and more and more like a mother and daughter. Hold on to your heart as you reach the end. Julie Kibler has crafted an end to her tale that is oh so heartrending, and yet sweetly satisfying. I highly recommend this book - it is one of the best I've read in years. Can't wait until it's made into a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    A great read!!!

    Just read CALLING ME HOME for book club and thought it was very well written about a difficult subject. Race Relations the 30's were precarious and Kinler nailed it. The family dynamics were hauntingly truthful for the times. The author drew you inn emotionally into several scenarios and you feel as if you are involved yourself. Really a wonderful book regarding racial and family dynamics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Good book.

    This book shows you that family are not always what you think they are. Also, how well do you really know someone's history?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Calling Me Home was an unforgetable read

    This is one of those books that you immediately connect with the characters . I could not put this book down. It is well written and draws the reader in immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put the book down. I loved the way the story goes th

    I couldn't put the book down. I loved the way the story goes through Miss Isabelle's past and the present. The characters were great. The love story between Robert and Isabelle touched me deeply. This book had me laugh in some parts and cry at others. I loved it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Beautiful story!!

    This book is an amazing story!! Do yourself a favor and add it to your collection!! I truly hope this author writes many more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    A great read. Recommend to others

    This book was recommended to me and I enjoyed although at times it made me feel "edgy" Having lived through that time when
    African Americans had to be out of the city of Inglewood, CA by sundown. Makes me sad to think how unjust that was and this book
    reiterates that fact. Also, the ending was the right way to tie up the story in a bow.
    I look forward to reading another Julie Kibler books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    FAVORITE!

    This book took me from the beginning! Never a slow part. I couldn't stop turning the pages. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Great book

    Read this book after I finished The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd. This book is an awesome story of true friendship!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    exceptional story of love denied

    this was one of those stories that grabbed me from the first page and didn't let go.

    a tragic story of family, love, racial injustice and the complexities of life in the south before ww2. sometimes the only choice we have is to go on despite the pain.

    i would highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Superb story, and a knockout debut!  I look forward to more from

    Superb story, and a knockout debut!  I look forward to more from this author - she has amazing storytelling skills.  This book touches on so many emotions and has one heck of a twist at the end, that, as hard as I tried to guess, I was still surprised.  Purely phenomenal. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Wonderful

    A wonderful ride with two amazing women. Miss Isabelle asks here hairdresser Dorrie to take her from Texas to Cinncinnati to attend a funeral. The novel goes back and forth from Isabells past to the current journey. The reader doesn't know who the funeral is for until nearing the books end but the journey is well worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    A must read.

    I loved this book! It was a great story. I will definitely read another book written by Julie Kibler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    AWESOME!! This has to be one of the best books that I have read.

    AWESOME!! This has to be one of the best books that I have read. Such a touching story with so much emotion. It was very hard for me to put down. Toward the end of the book, I actually had to stop for awhile because I was crying so much that I could not see the words. I can't remember the last time that a book had this effect on me. This is one book you don't want to miss. I look forward to the next book by Julie Kibler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Outstanding!

    Totally enjoyed! Would read this author again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4