Customer Reviews for

The Calling of Emily Evans

Average Rating 4
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Calling of Emily Evans

I thought this was a great book! It is the first Janette Oke book I have read and I can't wait to read more.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Very conservative

For a woman who is taking up a typically male profession ministry, Emily Evans is not as brave or intelligent as she should be. The plot is amusing, but not unique. The settings are poorly discribed. While the values are good, they are not supported by opinions or f...
For a woman who is taking up a typically male profession ministry, Emily Evans is not as brave or intelligent as she should be. The plot is amusing, but not unique. The settings are poorly discribed. While the values are good, they are not supported by opinions or facts. It's a good thing this is historical, because it is much too conservative, do-as-you-are -told, and unquestioning for today's woman.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Very conservative

    For a woman who is taking up a typically male profession ministry, Emily Evans is not as brave or intelligent as she should be. The plot is amusing, but not unique. The settings are poorly discribed. While the values are good, they are not supported by opinions or facts. It's a good thing this is historical, because it is much too conservative, do-as-you-are -told, and unquestioning for today's woman.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    The Calling of Emily Evans

    I thought this was a great book! It is the first Janette Oke book I have read and I can't wait to read more.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    awsome

    It is a very good book. I would like to read some more books like this book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Worth the read!

    This is not my favorite Jeanette Oke book, but I do admire Emily's courage and tenacity. I also admire her love for God and her willingness to follow His call faithfully. I just think that a Bible student should understsnd her theology a little better than Emily did. I mean, she did GRADUATE. Some of the theological questions that stumped Emily were basic things taught in Sunday School now. So, a Bible School Graduate should have a better foundation in God's word. The best part of this book is Emily's character. She is a shining example of a true christian, most of the time. Lol! She is not afraid to admit when she makes mistakes and is not too judgemental to learn from those around her or to let God use her. It is a good book. You should read it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Inspiring Read

    Emily face what many Christian face today, the hussle and bussle of life with out God. This is a well written book giving depth to relationship and the impact of the Christian faith.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Oke can and has done better

    Oke can and has done better. I was expecting a higher caliber book, from my earlier readings of her work. Still, it wasn't bad. Ages 14 and up. Christian fiction. A little over 200 pages.

    AD

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Male Preachers

    In the Bible it says that a preacger should be the.husbamd to one wife. A woman cannot start a church! -1 Timothy 3:2 (KJV)

    4 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good story

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Good book...

    I enjoyed this book, once again, disappointed with ending, but good up until.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Thought Provocing

    I was not expecting to enjoy a book that is baised around faith in God. But i sincerely enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Historical fiction

    Author describes the life of a missionary woman minister in a small Canadian town in the early 1900s. Very well-written, characters lovingly described. Ended rather abruptly with a few unanswered details-----for instance, who left the food baskets? Did Big John and/or his sister accept God? Did Emily and Shad share pastoring in the town?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Very good reading.

    All the books i have ever read written by janette oke were so good. She keeps your interest all the way. I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Love this book

    This was a wonderful read Thank You Love Love it so sweet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    delightful read.

    As a daughter and wife of clergy, I really enjoyed Janette Oke's writing of challenges of those in ministry. I look forward to reading more of her publications.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Good reading

    this book was easy reading but no one of my favorite Oke books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    from: Sabrina

    I have been reading J. Oke books since the 1980's.... have purchased the books in movie form as well..... I will buy/read anything she writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Always great books

    Janette Oke's books are always great! Cannot say enough about her books, my mother always enjoys her books and can't read enough of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    I was very inspired by this book. I normally do not read a lot o

    I was very inspired by this book. I normally do not read a lot of fiction, but this story came at a very good time in my life. Not a hard read, but it definitely challenged me to be faithful to the calling that Christ has for me, even in the face of hardship, uncertainty, and fear. Enjoyed this book and recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2015

    Enjoyed the story. *vrnb*

    Enjoyed the story. *vrnb*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2015

    The Calling of Emily Evans by Janette Oke An insightful glimpse

    The Calling of Emily Evans by Janette Oke
    An insightful glimpse of finding and answering God’s call. 
    Emily Evans wanted to understand God’s will and plan for her life. How was one to know such a thing?
    Set in the early 1900s, Emily studied at Gethsemene Bible School in West Canada in the early 1900s. On Christmas break, Emily approached a subject sensitive to her father; she told him about the women at her school who were preachers and helped in the ministry, sometimes with their husbands. Her father’s opinion of women preaching was less than positive. Emily sought God in her prayer time to know if He was calling her into His work.
    When she returned to school, a desire within Emily’s heart to minister in the Missionary Church and lead people to Christ kept her seeking His will. By spring she answered a call for volunteers to help start churches in far-away places. 
    Following her schooling, her strong spiritual commitment to God led her to new places, new people, and new opportunities. Her ministry assignment was a hard two-day drive from her home in her secondhand buggy with her grays. 
    This courageous young lady was obedient to the call of God in difficult circumstances. Reading this book you’ll see how God was faithful to her. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10