BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Calling of Emily Evans

Average Rating 4
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Calling of Emily Evans

I thought this was a great book! It is the first Janette Oke book I have read and I can't wait to read more.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Very conservative

For a woman who is taking up a typically male profession ministry, Emily Evans is not as brave or intelligent as she should be. The plot is amusing, but not unique. The settings are poorly discribed. While the values are good, they are not supported by opinions or f...
For a woman who is taking up a typically male profession ministry, Emily Evans is not as brave or intelligent as she should be. The plot is amusing, but not unique. The settings are poorly discribed. While the values are good, they are not supported by opinions or facts. It's a good thing this is historical, because it is much too conservative, do-as-you-are -told, and unquestioning for today's woman.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Worth the read!

    This is not my favorite Jeanette Oke book, but I do admire Emily's courage and tenacity. I also admire her love for God and her willingness to follow His call faithfully. I just think that a Bible student should understsnd her theology a little better than Emily did. I mean, she did GRADUATE. Some of the theological questions that stumped Emily were basic things taught in Sunday School now. So, a Bible School Graduate should have a better foundation in God's word. The best part of this book is Emily's character. She is a shining example of a true christian, most of the time. Lol! She is not afraid to admit when she makes mistakes and is not too judgemental to learn from those around her or to let God use her. It is a good book. You should read it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good story

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Good book...

    I enjoyed this book, once again, disappointed with ending, but good up until.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Thought Provocing

    I was not expecting to enjoy a book that is baised around faith in God. But i sincerely enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Historical fiction

    Author describes the life of a missionary woman minister in a small Canadian town in the early 1900s. Very well-written, characters lovingly described. Ended rather abruptly with a few unanswered details-----for instance, who left the food baskets? Did Big John and/or his sister accept God? Did Emily and Shad share pastoring in the town?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Very good reading.

    All the books i have ever read written by janette oke were so good. She keeps your interest all the way. I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Great

    Really enjoyed this story. What a new prospective to think women as ministers. I had not known about this of the past. What a wonderful story with strong Christian characters. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    When Calls the Heart

    I liked this book as told through small stories that comprised the whole. The characters were very interesting and believe able. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Good.

    A wholesome christian book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Richmond ,Tx

    Good story,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    This was a nice quick read and was a very sweet hearted book.

    This was a nice quick read and was a very sweet hearted book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    recommend it

    A really good inspirational book, to never give up and your prayers will be answered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Good book

    For this being a shorter novel, this was a really good book. It is an easy, interesting read. Great for a rainy afternoon. I enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Good read

    Book was good, the main character, Emily, has guts and strength to become a minister in an era where it was not common for women to support themselves. What I didnt like was the ending. To me it seems like she just stopped writing for some reason. Youre reading and at end of chapter you expect to turn page and continue with next chapter not end the book. Left wondering about the characters and what happened to them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    I would recommend reading this book

    I found that this book was very enjoyable. I want to read the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    I recommend this book. It has very good christian values.

    The book is written so you can imagine the situation of the characters. It is a book the is difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Wonderful Character!

    Really worth reading since it details what it must have been like for the Sister Workers who set up churches in the Canadian West.

    Emily is assigned to the small community of Wesson Creek and goes through many trials setting up her missionary church. As she becomes involved in the lives of those around her, she begins to understand the truth of the Bible in a very real way.

    The romance was a bit contrived at the end, but satisfying nonetheless. Emily is a wonderful character!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    wonderful

    nice book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Well written. A good lesson in faith

    The author manages to lead the reader with Emily on her journey and remind us of our faith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4