Customer Reviews for

Callsign King - Book 1 (A Jack Sigler - Chess Team Novella)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another fine read in the Chess Team Saga

It is a wonderful side tale of King and Sara Fogg.. I recommend reading the other Chess Team books especially the most recent, Threshold. You won't be able to fully grasp the back-story without doing such. Even so, a great quick read.

posted by Mr_Perry on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Nothing like his other wonderful books------seems like something he was is a hurry to write

posted by cdyrn95 on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Another fine read in the Chess Team Saga

    It is a wonderful side tale of King and Sara Fogg.. I recommend reading the other Chess Team books especially the most recent, Threshold. You won't be able to fully grasp the back-story without doing such. Even so, a great quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Novella in this chess series

    As a voracious reader, it is a pleasure when a new book comes out from an author that you enjoy! If you have read the other books in the "chess" series, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this one. In addition to the story, I found the "origins of human cognition" theory fascinating. Particularly since the new movie "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is set to come out which follows a very similar thread......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    This is another great read from Jeremy! A must read for all. You don't want to miss this. Great story. Check out his other books and follow you will not be disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Boring

    Nothing like his other wonderful books------seems like something he was is a hurry to write

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Are world corporations being run by one big supercomputer with A

    Are world corporations being run by one big supercomputer with AI?

    King, Jack Sigler, starts off running and doesn’t slow down. While returning from a mission, Jack receives a cryptic e-mail from his girlfriend, Sara Fogg. She’s a detective with the CDC and has been called to Ethiopia to investigate a possible outbreak. Jack follows and finds that someone doesn’t really want him there. 

    A scientific research company is looking into a myth about a graveyard of elephants in Ethiopia. The scientists find something but not what they expected. Now the fate of mankind is dependent on the health and survival of the scientist, Felice Carter, who “inherited” the wisdom of the “old mother.” 

    A rogue CIA agent kidnaps Sara and Felice. He turns them over to a man from a defunct scientific corporation who works for Brainstorm, the supercomputer.

    Throughout the story we get to see King’s special brand of ingenuity and perseverance as he does all in his power to rescue his girlfriend, and Felice, with minimal help from Chess Team.

    Jeremy Robinson, with Sean Ellis, write a fast paced, engrossing story with likeable lead characters. They show human weaknesses which makes them more authentic as well as showing the determination that we want our warriors and heroes to have. 

    In the vein of Cussler, Lincoln, Preston, and Rollins, this short story will hold your attention and leave you wanting more. Fortunately, there are more Chess Team books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Callsign: King by Jeremy Robinson is one of those action packed

    Callsign: King by Jeremy Robinson is one of those action packed books you just do not want to put down. I found myself completely entranced with this one and cannot wait to see where the story goes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

      Callsign King Book 1 is a nice little episode featuring King f

      Callsign King Book 1 is a nice little episode featuring King from Jeremy Robinson's Chess Team books, first in a series of novellas following the previous books-Prime, Pulse, Instinct, and Threshold, in that order.
        King runs into new and old friends and enemies and takes on a global threat, all in a novella!  This was a fun run, but now I need to read the next one, Callsign Queen!  Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    I have read a lot of books by Jeremy Robinson and a few of Sean

    I have read a lot of books by Jeremy Robinson and a few of Sean Ellis also. I find each and every one of them to be amazing. This book is the first in the Brainstorm Trilogy and the book is non-stop action from the first page to the last and leaves you wanting more. On to Book 2 of the trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    The Chess Team books are a blast to read and I loved each of the

    The Chess Team books are a blast to read and I loved each of the Callsign books.  Get to know each character a little better with a great story.  You can't go wrong with Jeremy Robinson's books, check them out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great adventure!

    I really enjoyed this book along with all of the other Chess team books. Great stories, great characters. If you like adventure novels, you'll love these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Wow!!

    I dont believe that I can ever get enough of Robinson/Bishop books, this is the thinking persons brain candy. Jeremy, put simply you freaking rock!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Tak a deep breath... and dive in!

    Was hooked after the first page all the way to the end of book 3. I love this author,
    his imagingation and vision! I'm ready for the next new ride !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Q E

    A quantum entanglement that is mostly disjointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Excellant

    A good adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2