Customer Reviews for

Cally's War (Human-Posleen War Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Well worth it.

    As normal, Ringo delivers a good read. The story is good and continues what came before. The series with this book reaches a point that anyone can read and enjoy it, but there is so much that has happened before this, that new readers will want to start earlier in the series (I'd start with the 1st book!). If you've never read any of these books, let me say that Ringo has created a logical chain of events that result in great action, characters, and a huge number of untold story opportunities. If you enjoy action, good storytelling, and a great escape--the Aldenata series by John Ringo is worth your time and money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Not Ringo's best work

    The idea behind the story had some promise to begin with but fell flat in execution. It was my first exposure to the Human-Posleen War Series which is quite foolish on my part as it is one of the newest in a large number of volumes. As a result, I was kind of lost halfway through the book by being unfamiliar with the numerous types of alien life forms. So, I figured I would stop reading the third volume done by Ringo and Cochrane and buy the first 2 books. I should not have bothered. It did make the story easier to follow but instead of one disappointing book I now had three. Some of the characters are interesting and the story keeps hinting that some action is coming but it never really gets there. I expected a bit more action out of the story line (sexy assasin and her resistance group take on the alien oppressors) but it never really heats up. I have a feeling that Cochrane was the main driving force behind the book and Ringo's name is on it in order to sell more copies (it worked for me!!) I'd be surpised if he wrote more than 100 pages out of all 3 books. This makes 17 Ringo books I have read so far and these 3 are definitely at the bottom of the list. Not terrible books by any means but not what I was expecting. I'm hoping this is the last of this series but the ending seemed to leave room open for several more volumes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Guts and Glory aplenty

    Having not read any of the Posleen War series, I came into this book not knowing the characters or the background as well as someone who had read the war history. Also, Ringo writes his military fiction using a lot of insider jargon that I have no clue about, as he sometimes forgets to explain it to us outsiders.
    Notwithstanding the above, I loved every page of it. The characters are real and sympathetic (at least the good guys are) and the universe of the book is well grounded and believable.
    Anybody who loves military SciFi should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    Awful

    I had been attempting to read every one of Ringo's books as soon as it came out. The Lagacy of Adalante series was great! I was particularly thrilled to see a follow-up on the Cally characer. Ugh! It was vile stuff and nothing like the earlier books. I only got through one full chapter. That makes it one of only two books I've ever bought that I haven't finished. Even knowing that there was a co-author, it's hard to believe that this is the same Ringo that wrote the others. And it's hard to believe that people who enjoyed his other books will enjoy this one. It completely spoiled the great affection that had been built up for the characters in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    What a convoluted tale

    I picked up Cally's War after finishing the Posleen conflict stories. Ringo had really put together a story the was exciting and fast paced and unfortunately Cally's War is anything but. It seems that his coauthor had not read the previous story of Cally and decided that the resourceful young girl and son of Iron Mike needed to be a disallusioned tramp as an adult. The crosscountry trip was boring and the love story developed so late in the book that I just didn't care. Maybe my dislike of this Cally colored my view but I was very disappointed with this story and feel Ringo would have done the fans of his Posleen conflict stories a favor to just let Cally fade away like her father and grandfather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Great from beginning to end

    I don't usually like books that are co-written. Unlike most professions, cooperation can be a negative instead of a positive in writing. Authors tend to lose their voice when working in partnership. Not so Ringo and Conchrane. They work together seemlessly, and their unified voice is brilliant. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Outstanding!

    Cally O'Neal had always lived in danger. By the age of eight she'd killed her first person. While her father, Iron Mike, was off fighting the invading Posleen she had been raised by her grandfather, practically on the front-lines of a war that had erased five billion humans from the face of the earth. .................................. By the end of the war she had been listed as dead. In truth, she'd been recruited into the elite ranks of the Bane Sidhe, a group of underground warriors dedicated to breaking the strangle-hold of the elf-like Darhel. For forty years Cally has gone on mission after mission. She completely changed her appearance and personality more often than others changed their socks ... and seemingly much easier. ................................ Now, in the year 2047, Cally goes to Titan Base, hunting a mole. The team take out the real Captain Sinda Makepeace and inserts Cally. But she never expects to fall in love with one of the enemy. ................................. ***** Cally is one of the best assassins I have read in Sci-Fi thus far. She reminded me at times, especially while being tortured, of Robert A. Heinlein's main character in the book titled 'Friday'. She does whatever it takes to get the job done. Killing comes as naturally to Cally as breathing. Authors John Ringo and Julie Cochrane did an excellent job in teaming up to create a story for the little girl I recall from previous books. This is not the first of the series and you do not HAVE to read the others to thoroughly understand all that is going on. Outstanding! *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great sf romance

    Cally O¿Neal virtually grew up on the front lines of the galaxy war with weapons being her prime toys. Five billion are now dead and her father was never home leading the fight against the reptilian invaders. Now an adult, Cally has become a master assassin of the Bane Sidhe warriors while the Galactic Empire rebuilds civilization under the Machiavellian control of the elf like Darhel........................ After four decades of killing human supporters and puppets of the Darhel, Cally is tired of war and death, but has her new assignment to complete. On Titan Base, Cally is to masquerade as the recently assassinated by her teammates Captain Sinda Makepeace. However, this time the impossible occurs; Cally falls in love with the enemy............................. Though there is plenty of John Ringo¿s trademark military action, CALLY¿S WAR contains a lot more dark romance than typical of the author (the Cochrane effect?). The story line is action-packed with the terrific Cally serving as the core of the tale as this competent assassin, who learned to cache whatever she needed by the time she was eight, struggles between the beliefs she was nurtured on and falling in love. Fans will appreciate this character driven return to the ¿Legacy of the Aldenata¿ universe where the war years are over yet trouble remains................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    Ringo & Cochrane Rocks

    John Ringo and Julie Cochrane are the best writer team-up ever from Baen Publishing. Cally's War draws you in and doesn't let you go. I started reading this book at 9:30pm and finished it by 4:30am. One of the best examples of why John Ringo's (and soon to be Julie Cochrane's) works are known as 'Reader Crack'. There are moments were you're laughing so hard tears come to your eyes, yet underneath a grim reality of a battle to find your soul. Buy it you won't be dissappointed. I've bought two more to donate to the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1