Customer Reviews for

The Calm Before the Storm

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    To SEA

    Sounds cool! Um, but what is the series called, lm not sure where you post it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    To SEA

    Here's a quick one I came up with.

    Name: David Anderson

    Age: 15

    Godly parent: Ares

    Appearence: Short dark hair, blue eyes, a short scar from his lower eye to his nose, he's about 5' 9", and muscular.

    Bio: David grew up with two normal parents who were always peaceful and very seldom ever got mad. When he found out he was adopted he tried to find his birthparents. Sometime into his journey he got attacked by some gorgons and discovered he was a demigod. He eventually found camp and was claimed almost instantly. He didn't fit in with the Ares cabin though. He could fight, but he didn't have their drive for war and battle. This is why he hangs out with the other cabins.
    Hope you use him and good luck writing! - SK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    NRM @ SEA

    A bunch of character applications. Use what you please.
    <p>
    Name- Destin Rider // Age- 15 // Gender- Male // Appearance- Shaggy black hair with warm brown eyes and tan skin; tall and lanky // Persona- Shy, but warm. Hates to be laughed at // Godly Parent- Demeter // Weapon- Celestial bronze short sword // Crush- Phaux (See below) // Other- Ask me
    <p>
    Name- Phaux Feran // Age- 14 // Gender- Female // Appearance- Russet-bronze choppy, short hair with blonde streaks; Stormy sky blue eyes; lean build // Persona- Joker; sarcastic // Godly Parent- Zeus // Weapon- Celetial bronze double-sided spear // Crush- Destin (See above) // Other- Ask me
    <p>
    Name- Vinx Polk // Age- 17 // Gender- Male // Appearance- Long blond hair; dark grey eyes; pale skinned; tall // Persona- Bad boy; rebel // Godly Parent- Pluto // Weapon- Stygian iron knife // Crush- Pffffhhtt // Other- Ask me
    <p>
    Name- Feronica Cesil // Age- 13 // Gender- Female // Appearance- Long lush brown hair; teardrop face; amber eyes; tall and slender // Persona- Make it up // Godly Parent- Venus // Weapon- Imperial gold dagger // Crush- See above // Other- Ask me
    <p>
    MORE LATER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    To S.E.A.

    Here is a character for you!!!
    Name: Josh ( you can make you his last name )
    Age: 15 Height: 6'2"
    Parent: Apollo
    Weapons: bow and arrows in a quiver slung over his back and two hunting knives, one stowed in each one of his boots
    Looks: tall, has brown hair an hazel eyes, and an angular jaw
    Personality: kind, brave, daring, a runner, athletic, funny, and loyal to his friends
    Hope you use him!!! : ) CM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    To SEA

    Well here goes crap
    Name Viktor Parker Age 16 Weapons bow and a quiver that never runs out Looks olive skin with scars running down his arms (girls IQ drop about 100 when he passes)Wears leather jacket with jeans unless on a quest then a white tee with orange sport shorts that always clean and fit Height 6'0Weight 115 Personality funny,witty,smart,good at buliding things,daring,aggresive Godly Parent Athena Dating Edan James

    If you have any questions go to Frozen res 1 and if you want me to post Edan's bio just tell me but at Frozen res 1 bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    to SEA

    Character: Alison Holes
    Daughter of Athena
    weapons: bow and arrow sword dagger
    Looks: dark brown hair almost black eyes perfectly tan.
    Personality: Excellelent at everything loves to swim really well runnr brave kind.
    Works to make weapons.
    In the Athena cabin.
    I know this isnt much but think your a great writer and it would be awsome if you could put me in one of your stories!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    To SEA

    Good story. For your next story please go to Son of Sobek and look for the post tiltled characters for anyone to use names are cat and jonas pleas use. Im not sure if i got that right. You may have to scroll down a bit. I hope you use them. Ask me if you have any questions. ~ horsegirl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    To SEA

    // Name- Samuel Wolfleet // Looks- Brown Hair you come up with the rest // Persona- Good sense of Humor but can make Angry easily // Crush // doesn't have one //

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    SEA here!

    Okay so the story is going to be called' The Son of Fire'! Pretty awesome right! I've only came up with a couple characters names. You guys get to make up their bios. Here are the names: Chase McCain ( he's the main character, so I've already got his bio), Alana Rogers ( Chase's girlfriend), Skye Fergus ( she's Irish), and Wade Parrin. You guys give me any characters you want me to use and I'll use 'em. This story is the first story in the 'Children of the gods' series. I won't start writing them for a while. Probably until after 'The Calm Before the Storm'. I love you all. SEA!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great book bad ending

    I absolutely loved this book. I was hooked after a few chapters. The ending however is terrible. It would have been ok if there was going to be a sequel, but obvously it does not have one. It is a shame to get so close to the characters and then be left hanging. If I had known that I would not have bothered with the book. It's quite a shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Having not read very many 'fantasy' novels, I was skeptical whether or not this book would be an enjoyable read. By the end of the first chapter I was hooked. A brilliant story with fantastic characters, character development, plenty of action and suspense, twists & turns you just do not see coming, and a wonderfully unexpected ending. Quite simply, I am anxiously awaiting the sequel so I can pick 'The Calm Before the Storm' back up and read both, back to back. This is going to be a wonderful series to own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Worth your time

    I'm one of the lucky folks that have known the author, Joe Lawson, for several years. When I heard Joe was working on publishing his 1st book I was interested. When I heard that the book was becoming successful I knew I had to make time to read it and spread the word. Everything I had heard and read are true. You'll want to put life aside to read it from cover to cover. You'll be ready for the sequel and you'll find yourself imagining it as a movie. Hats off to Joe Lawson who continues to say the sequel is even better. His eyes say he's telling the truth, so hold on. In the meantime please pick up a copy (or 3) for stocking stuffers and spread the good word. Atta boy Joe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    Great Fantasy Reading

    Joe Lawson has started a series that could easily hit the mainstream. The settings, characters, and details of the rich world he has created grab you from the start. The imagery in the book is great, the people are easy to relate to, and the thematic concepts are welcoming and engrossing. I recommend this book to old school fantasy readers and newcomers to the genre alike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    A great series is on the way

    I'm positive you'll be just as engrossed in the story as I was from the start. He paints a colorful world with great character descriptions, but keeps the story interesting too. From someone that has read all of the Harry Potter books, all of the Lord of the Rings books, all of the current Wheel of Time books, and many Forgotten Realm books including the Drizzt Do'urden Series, and many more books that I don't have the time to list or the need too, I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in fantasy reading. You won't be dissapointed. a $15 dollars well spent. Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Great Fantasy Epic.

    Joe Lawson has started something special here. I have read a few Fantacy Epics and this one has a great story you get pulled right into. It is well written and very interesting. I cannot wait for the second book in this line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    While everyone is entitled to their own opinion, Mrs. Hernandez is just plain wrong about this book. It is NOT a two star book She said something about 'six word sentences'... that's just not true. I've read this book, twice, and I can tell you that it is hands down the best fantasy novel to come along in many many years (and just for the record, I do a LOT of fantasy reading). My wife, kids, and myself all really enjoyed it. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    Awesome Book!

    Smooth plot and a great flow. The characters were real and vivid. The Fantasy world needed a new author, well done Joe Lawson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was an amazing book that was so well written it stands head and shoulders ahead of other fantasy novels. Joe introduces several original races and cultures in a fast paced action packed story with a surprise twist ending that will leave you hungry for more! Teamed with a great cast of editors and artists, Joe has surrounded himself with the tools needed for success. As a writer, I can recognize great talent when I read it and Joe is on pace to be one the great fantasy writers of our generation. This is a must read for 2007!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Glad that I read this one

    I don't normaly read fantasy but a friend of mine finished the book and told me to read it. Took it on the plane with me and I couldn't put the book down. Guess that I am gooing to be reading more fantasy from this author. Keep it up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book on a recommendation from a friend. I have read a lot of fantasy books before and expected the same old stories but after reading a couple of chapters I found myself not wanting to put it down. I had to see what was going to happen next and what the fate of the characters was going to be. This book kept me up way too late for a few nights because I just kept reading until I willed myself to put the book away for the night. This is one you have to have.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2