Customer Reviews for

The Camel Club (Camel Club Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 355 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling and entertaining

This book was such a great read. The characters were so developed and interesting and the story was full of twists and turns. David Baldacci never disappoints with his writing. "The Camel Club" was an 'edge-of-your-seat' novel. It was great for an escape.

posted by sharonfgraves on November 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Poliitcal correctness gone wild

An absolutely unbelievable plot with characters more thinly cartoonish than Disney's Cars. I actually like conspiracy theory books whether they're destined to paint the left or the right as nutbars. This book, which clearly puts the neocons in the crosshairs, rings so h...
An absolutely unbelievable plot with characters more thinly cartoonish than Disney's Cars. I actually like conspiracy theory books whether they're destined to paint the left or the right as nutbars. This book, which clearly puts the neocons in the crosshairs, rings so hollow that it may have broken bells for miles around. Painting the Secret Service as a collective group of inattentive and incompetent morons just doesn't work. Throw in a crew of Islamic idealists (not terrorists) with the skills of the Mossad, technology of the US, and precision execution of timetables that would make Mussolini proud and you have one very silly book. BUT THERE'S MORE (as they say on TV)....a group of lefty DC-perma-protesters who turn out to be the brightest and the bravest of the bunch. Get outta here! You want GOOD political spy/conspiracy from the left-hand viewpoint? Read anything by John LeCarre. Baldacci should be ashamed of this effort.

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling and entertaining

    This book was such a great read. The characters were so developed and interesting and the story was full of twists and turns. David Baldacci never disappoints with his writing. "The Camel Club" was an 'edge-of-your-seat' novel. It was great for an escape.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    exciting and current

    The story moved rapidly and caught me up in the intracacies of the plot.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THRILLER

    Very good book to read. Kept me on edge of seat!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Poliitcal correctness gone wild

    An absolutely unbelievable plot with characters more thinly cartoonish than Disney's Cars. I actually like conspiracy theory books whether they're destined to paint the left or the right as nutbars. This book, which clearly puts the neocons in the crosshairs, rings so hollow that it may have broken bells for miles around. Painting the Secret Service as a collective group of inattentive and incompetent morons just doesn't work. Throw in a crew of Islamic idealists (not terrorists) with the skills of the Mossad, technology of the US, and precision execution of timetables that would make Mussolini proud and you have one very silly book. BUT THERE'S MORE (as they say on TV)....a group of lefty DC-perma-protesters who turn out to be the brightest and the bravest of the bunch. Get outta here! You want GOOD political spy/conspiracy from the left-hand viewpoint? Read anything by John LeCarre. Baldacci should be ashamed of this effort.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    LOVE!

    I love David Baldacci, always a good captivating read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    A Good Read so far

    I haven't quite finished it yet, but from what I am reading of it so far it is really good. I will give a more elaborate review when I am done reading it. I can tell you I went to go hear David Baldacci speak and I was highly impressed. He was a good, humorous speaker :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Great Read!!

    The characters in "The Camel Club" kept me guessing-are they really who I think they are? I am a fan of David Baldacci and he didn't let me down in this book. He writes this book with many ups and downs and twists and turns and many surprises concerning the characters. This is an "I can't put it down" book. Loved it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2006

    Save Your Money

    This book reeks of antiamerican sentiment. I found it a waste of time. I know I will not waste any money purchasing another book by this author.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Excellent book

    You will not be able to put it down

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Great book.

    David Baldacci is true to form - great read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Could not put down.

    Filled with action, suspense, and intrigue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Too many unbelievable moments to be good!

    This was my second attempt at a book by David Baldacci, who I know is very popular. Sadly, I still don't know why that is. This novel, while interesting in its many sides of American/Muslim relations has so many impossible to believe moments and coincidental happenings that belief is totally suspended. The climatic ending actual reads like '80s GI Joe cartoon. That's probably too harsh but that's the first thing I thought. Another problem was the title/series itself is the "Camel Club" although the members save one are almost purposeless. So, I'm glad I read a novel by a popular author to see if I agreed and I simply don't. Skip it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    The Camel Club

    Baldacci is never, never disappointing. This has been one of my very favorite series. I just love the characters. This one's a keeper!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Band of Misfits

    It's hard to imagine the characters Baldacci creates actually existing much less getting together in the fashion so described and forming a club. Given that, the setting is Washington, D. C., which means anything is possible.

    The premise is farfetched but plausible for the D. C. espionage genre. The characters could have used a little more warming up at the first, but they each hit their stride as the mysterious Oliver Stone leads the way.

    This one will take you away to a scary place you hope doesn't really exist and have you cheering for the underdogs.

    If you enjoyed this introduction to the series, you'll really enjoy the next two as they flow better and you're familiar with the players. Keep reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    easy reading

    I loved this book. I sent this book to my G'son and he can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Babs, an avid reader

    I read this book for my discussion group and while it may seem far-fetched it scared me to death regarding the possibilities. I saw Seven Days in May when it first came out and had the exact same feeling then, just recently watched Enemy of the State which brought technology into a really scary realm of possibility! I hope we have real 'watch dogs' out there. But since our government is now in the hads of of 'haves' it doesn't seem that any of these fictional stories couldn't end up a reality! I totally enjoyed the book, even though it scared the bejabbers out of me. I don't know why I keep reading and watching these things.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Big fan

    Love this series love the complexity of the main character

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    I want to belong!

    What a great story. You will not be disappointed in reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Classic Baldacci

    Multiple interesting characters with plenty of action and plot twists

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Great book!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18