Customer Reviews for

The Camel Club (Camel Club Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling and entertaining

This book was such a great read. The characters were so developed and interesting and the story was full of twists and turns. David Baldacci never disappoints with his writing. "The Camel Club" was an 'edge-of-your-seat' novel. It was great for an escape.

posted by sharonfgraves on November 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Poliitcal correctness gone wild

An absolutely unbelievable plot with characters more thinly cartoonish than Disney's Cars. I actually like conspiracy theory books whether they're destined to paint the left or the right as nutbars. This book, which clearly puts the neocons in the crosshairs, rings so h...
An absolutely unbelievable plot with characters more thinly cartoonish than Disney's Cars. I actually like conspiracy theory books whether they're destined to paint the left or the right as nutbars. This book, which clearly puts the neocons in the crosshairs, rings so hollow that it may have broken bells for miles around. Painting the Secret Service as a collective group of inattentive and incompetent morons just doesn't work. Throw in a crew of Islamic idealists (not terrorists) with the skills of the Mossad, technology of the US, and precision execution of timetables that would make Mussolini proud and you have one very silly book. BUT THERE'S MORE (as they say on TV)....a group of lefty DC-perma-protesters who turn out to be the brightest and the bravest of the bunch. Get outta here! You want GOOD political spy/conspiracy from the left-hand viewpoint? Read anything by John LeCarre. Baldacci should be ashamed of this effort.

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Too many unbelievable moments to be good!

    This was my second attempt at a book by David Baldacci, who I know is very popular. Sadly, I still don't know why that is. This novel, while interesting in its many sides of American/Muslim relations has so many impossible to believe moments and coincidental happenings that belief is totally suspended. The climatic ending actual reads like '80s GI Joe cartoon. That's probably too harsh but that's the first thing I thought. Another problem was the title/series itself is the "Camel Club" although the members save one are almost purposeless. So, I'm glad I read a novel by a popular author to see if I agreed and I simply don't. Skip it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Implausible and the narrator doesn't know how to read an audiobook

    David Baldacci's newest so-called thriller is not much better than his first. I got into the plot at first, but the story kept jumping all over the place and I was wondering if he was ever going to return to the characters he introduced in the prologue (he finally did, but not until about halfway through the book). <BR/><BR/>Eventually the story became more and more implausible, bordering on unbelievable, and I only kept listening to the audiobook because I wanted to see how it would end. I needn't have bothered; the climax is really more of an anticlimax, and while Baldacci builds up the character of the heavy (Tom Hemingway) to a point where you expect him to reveal that he's a super-villain, he doesn't really get anything to do. There's no climactic fight between Hemingway and the heroes of the story; what conflict there is is extremely disappointing. <BR/><BR/>Finally, the guy who narrated this audiobook apparently doesn't know the first thing about how to do it. He needs to listen to some professionals (like the people who do Recorded Books) read a book before his bosses let him back in front of a microphone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    Slow! Slow! Slow! Fast!!!!

    If you can get through the first 3/4 of the book the end is great. After reading other Baldacci novels I was very dissappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Preposterous

    Baldacci has never measured up to his first novel. But this one is utterly absurd. Conspiracies galore, quirky and unbelievable people, and a plot that is so far over the top that it is preposterous. The main problem, as I see it, is the fact that so many of our otherwise excellent authors feel compelled to outdo themselves every time they write. But, then again, we live in a world of excesses, so why expect otherwise?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    Too much looney left

    No doubt this is the worst from Baldachi...his personal paranoia has really spilled over into his this book where he obviously considers the US to be the world's new 'evil empire'. This book is filled with Cardboard and cliched characters, frequent interspersal of Baldachi's apparent personal/political opinions and a bleak world view make this a disappointing book. Too bad....Baldachi's early books were enjoyable reading/listening but he's tipped over the political edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    He ain't what he used to be

    Having read all his books, I have to say that his last three have been big dissapointments. I don't know if this is the worst of the bunch, but it certainly doesn't stack up to the earlier books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Thank goodness for the library

    Let me sum it up for you. Every evil,pain and suffering the world has seen since 1776 is the fault of the USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    No, this one wasn't very good

    Oliver Stone should sue for slander. I've read a couple Baldacci books and usually they are somewhat enjoyable, but this one was essentially unreadable. Silly, goofball conspiracy theorists fall into a real-life conspiracy...let's see, wasn't that a Mel Gibson movie or something? I found this predictable and unmoving. It tries to capitalize on the terrorism craze about a year or two too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Not Up To His Other Novels

    Much of this novel would have been better served up on the editorial pages or perhaps a nonfiction book about the Muslim world and the current war on terror. Weak characters. One more like this and he goes the way of P Cornwell, I'll wait and read them from the library if they turn out to be any good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Don't bother

    This book is a huge disappointment. The characters are dull, shallow and predictable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1