Customer Reviews for

The Camel Club (Camel Club Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling and entertaining

This book was such a great read. The characters were so developed and interesting and the story was full of twists and turns. David Baldacci never disappoints with his writing. "The Camel Club" was an 'edge-of-your-seat' novel. It was great for an escape.

posted by sharonfgraves on November 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Poliitcal correctness gone wild

An absolutely unbelievable plot with characters more thinly cartoonish than Disney's Cars. I actually like conspiracy theory books whether they're destined to paint the left or the right as nutbars. This book, which clearly puts the neocons in the crosshairs, rings so h...
An absolutely unbelievable plot with characters more thinly cartoonish than Disney's Cars. I actually like conspiracy theory books whether they're destined to paint the left or the right as nutbars. This book, which clearly puts the neocons in the crosshairs, rings so hollow that it may have broken bells for miles around. Painting the Secret Service as a collective group of inattentive and incompetent morons just doesn't work. Throw in a crew of Islamic idealists (not terrorists) with the skills of the Mossad, technology of the US, and precision execution of timetables that would make Mussolini proud and you have one very silly book. BUT THERE'S MORE (as they say on TV)....a group of lefty DC-perma-protesters who turn out to be the brightest and the bravest of the bunch. Get outta here! You want GOOD political spy/conspiracy from the left-hand viewpoint? Read anything by John LeCarre. Baldacci should be ashamed of this effort.

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    A Good Read so far

    I haven't quite finished it yet, but from what I am reading of it so far it is really good. I will give a more elaborate review when I am done reading it. I can tell you I went to go hear David Baldacci speak and I was highly impressed. He was a good, humorous speaker :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Band of Misfits

    It's hard to imagine the characters Baldacci creates actually existing much less getting together in the fashion so described and forming a club. Given that, the setting is Washington, D. C., which means anything is possible.

    The premise is farfetched but plausible for the D. C. espionage genre. The characters could have used a little more warming up at the first, but they each hit their stride as the mysterious Oliver Stone leads the way.

    This one will take you away to a scary place you hope doesn't really exist and have you cheering for the underdogs.

    If you enjoyed this introduction to the series, you'll really enjoy the next two as they flow better and you're familiar with the players. Keep reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Babs, an avid reader

    I read this book for my discussion group and while it may seem far-fetched it scared me to death regarding the possibilities. I saw Seven Days in May when it first came out and had the exact same feeling then, just recently watched Enemy of the State which brought technology into a really scary realm of possibility! I hope we have real 'watch dogs' out there. But since our government is now in the hads of of 'haves' it doesn't seem that any of these fictional stories couldn't end up a reality! I totally enjoyed the book, even though it scared the bejabbers out of me. I don't know why I keep reading and watching these things.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Classic Baldacci

    Multiple interesting characters with plenty of action and plot twists

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Camel Club is Awesome!

    David Baldacci has created a great relational story. Each character has their own unique personality. As the story progresses, each character has their part in makking the story line more interesting.
    I reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Very good read. Fast pace, good characters.

    Really enjoyed reading. Found the characters intriguing and believable. Action was well paced. Starting another in the series and finding it the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Good read

    I liked it. It's a stretch is some areas, but always intertaining and fun to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Read the first one and be addicted to the rest !

    Lots of twists and turns but easy to follow.Each character has peculiar distinctive qualities that make the story enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    An Excellent Series

    A friend had lent me #3 in the Camel Club series and I so enjoyed it I immediately purchased #1-2 & #4-5 of the series. A tremendously readable series with very engaging characters and complex plots. David Baldacci has written a thoroughly enjoyable series of books. This was my first exposure to the author, but I enjoyed the books so much I will definitely check out some of his others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    a good read, good story, however you don't find out the meaning of the Camel Club until very late in the book...take a chance, you'll enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Camel Club: Good Story, but a little too long.

    The Camel Club is a very well-written story. The characters are very well-developed, as is the plot. Even though this is fiction, I believe it does show some of what actually goes on behind the scenes in Washington. The only two negative comments I have are that (1) it was a bit too long for my taste. (I could put the book down; but then, I can put ANY book down, including the one I wrote.) (2) In some spots, it reminded me a bit of the old Batman TV series. Robin: "Holy numerology, Batman, there are 15 of them and 2 of us." Batman: "I know, Boy Wonder, it's really not fair that we have this advantage, but we have to save the good guys." (If you're not old enough to remember that, ask your parents.) It wasn't quite that bad in spots in the book, but it was close. Overall, this is a very well-written book, and I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a good read

    this is a must read if you are a David Baldacci fan, it is book 1 in the camel club series, I started with book 2, started reading book 4 then stopped and got book 1. Need a road map? Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Looking for a fun series to get into?

    Great read, this is book one of a series that deals with a group called The Camel Club. These four men look to bring forth things that get "swept underneath the rug" in Washington DC. In this book, there is an assassination attempt on the president of the US. and the Camel Club, though they do not fully realize it, are right in the middle of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Entertaining....

    ....even if it did seem a bit far-fetched. I have read every Baldacci book up to this one and found it to be an interesting, 'and somewhat scary' story with some of the most interesting characters I've read in awhile. I will definitely read the other 'Camel Club' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    First David Baldacci Experience

    Entertaining read. Baldacci bounces around and keeps you on your toes throughout the book's entirety. I thought of it as a cross between John Grisham and Dan Brown. It does take a little while to introduce all the characters and get a good grasp, but in the end, it was definitely worth it. It has inspired me to read the rest of the Camel Club series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    Fast paced

    This is a good effort from David Baldacci. It takes some time to introduce all the characters. Once it is done, the story goes really fast. There are 2 to 3 stories running together and they all merge at one point'at the main plot'. Only the last 30-40 pages become cinematic. The book keeps you interesting till the end. People may agree with the author's views or not. However, some of them are good. Keep it up DB!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    Great book - I really can not understand any rating below three and a half stars. Yes, lots of characters, plot is a bit packed with various angles, heavy on political commentary....but those things add to the excitement and the 'urgency' to keep reading. I've read Last Man Standing and Total Control...I think this one surpasses both of those.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    Fast Burning Ending

    The book started out slow but by midway through, I couldn't put it down. The book brings up some good points and it is your choice to agree or disagree with him. This book was definitely worth the effort in reading. He is now on my must read author's list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    Eventually an excellent read

    Although the book started out slow and a bit confusing with the large number of characters, by midway through, I couldn't put it down. Definitely worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Political Platform?

    I enjoy all of David Baldacci's books and have them all. This seems to be a departure from his usual form and, at times, seems more of a personal political statement, belonging on the editorial page, than a work of fiction to be enjoyed. I would recommend this book I like the characters forming the Camel Club, but at times got bogged down in the tutorials on the Muslim religion and the functions of the various government agencies. I did, however, enjoy it -- just a little different from my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6