BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Camilla and Charles: The Love Story

Average Rating 1.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Is It Love or Good PR?

    We must remeber that everything connected to the Monarchy has been painted over, cleaned and white-washed. There are courtiers who do this for a living. There is no limit to how far they will go or suggest to the Queen to preserve the image of precious Monarchy. So with this in mind, I can't be certain Charles really married CAmilla for love. Don't forget this is the same guy who married Lady Diana Spencer! And later we learn it was a farce. So I am not willing to buy this sugar-coated stuff about Charles marrying his lady love. We also know Charles even cheated on Camilla(his lover) while still married to Diana! So love rarely is the motive for royal marriages. Personally I think this Charles-Camilla marriage is Palace PR to restore Charles' tainted image.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Not On My Christmas List

    Books written about Charles and Camilla's love story are not worth reading, but if you are tempted, check it out from your library. Don't w-a-s-t-e good money. I am a Diana fan. I always have been and always will be. This book only confirmed my conviction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Any Way You Slice It....

    Anytime a book is written about Prince Charles it is a sure bet, Diana, Princess of Wales will be cast as the villain. It seems to go together like bacon and eggs. In this book the world is expected to come to their senses and accept that Charles and Camilla are in love and nothing else matters. To me marriage is sacred and Charles should have kept his marriage vows he made before God, Diana and the world on his wedding day July 29, 1981. Charles had already established himself as a cade by lusting and fulfilling his desires with another man's(his friend's) wife. Such a princely act! Even Charles' father did a far better job of being a husband and giving his wife the Queen support. The Queen and Phillip's marriage may not be the best ever but it has survived and it did not taint the Crown. I will never support Charles or Camilla.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    The Two C's And D

    Romeo and Juliet. Tristan and Isolde. Samson and Delilah. Couples who were famously decorated with `passion¿, `romance¿ and `glorious saga.¿ Names that were forever entwined as proof that two people had loved resplendently, even through tragic circumstances. Now, there is Camilla and Charles. Would the same be said about the two C¿s? Well, according to author Caroline Graham, the answer is yes. The world should gaze in awe at the Prince of Wales and the woman he loved for decades and applaud them for their love that had stood the test of time. The book opens with Prince Charles on bended knee proposing to Camilla Parker Bowles, comparing this heartfelt proposal to the half hearted one he had done twenty years ago with a young and blushing Diana Spencer. Charles and Camilla first met in the early 1970¿s at a polo race and since then, the Prince has described her as his `confidante, best friend, soul mate and lover¿. His marriage to Diana did not emasculate his love and devotion for Camilla one bit, and pretty soon the Princess of Wales became more and more aware of a `third¿ person in her marriage. The writer depicts Diana as a troubled and unstable woman whose paranoia eventually chased the Prince into Camilla¿s arms. One cannot help but turn the pages in distaste at the sheer prejudices against Diana, who, as it turns out, is not alive to defend herself. The repetitions about how selfless and loving Camilla is, about how she loved the Prince unconditionally and how the Prince could love no one but her can turn the stomach. Anyone reading the book with an open heart would eventually have the suspicion that the writer is either Camilla¿s best friend, or has been paid by Camilla to pen down such glowing review about the dowdy blonde. It is, of course, admirable that Charles and Camilla¿s love stood true all these years, but it was a love that had caused much unhappiness and destruction to those around them, even to those they claim to love. The book ends with Charles and Camilla¿s April 2005 wedding and although the author insists that everyone supports the royal couple, one cannot help but wonder whether the fate of Diana and Charles would have turned out differently if the `rottweiler¿ did not exist. This book was probably hoping that Charles and Camilla would gain sympathy by the revelations herein, but what it has really done is convey a one sided story by smearing a demised woman¿s name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Should Not Be Heralded

    The 'Love' history of Camilla and Charles should not be heralded. Charles' uncle The Duke of Windsor was man enough to give up the throne for the woman he loved. It appears Charles will manage to have his cake and eat it too. While his and her friends may be tickled pink to see the couple together at last, what price had to be paid? Look at the lives effected by their actions. Two families were torn apart by divorce. The children on both sides suffered. Diana, Princess of Wales was subjected to public rejection as was Andrew Parker-Bowles. Knowing Camilla and Charles ignored all this is bad enough, but for their 'love' story to be written up in history as a 'victory' is ridiculous. It appears Camilla and Charles are two very selfish people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    No Respect For a Dead Woman

    I'm not familiar with Caroline Graham. Perhaps the regular royal gaffes Penny Junor and Ingrid Seward are too well known for their pro-Charles publications. That aside, I'm tired of a dead woman being trashed. This book makes me question Charles' sincerity following Diana's death. Was he really broken up by her death or was it self-preservation in light of the public's reaction to the Monarchy? This book's goal is to win sympathy for Charles' plan to marry Camilla. There is not much the British public can do. Even if they are opposed to the idea of Camilla and Charles 'making it legal' they can't stop the marriage. I would not object to Charles re-marrying. Afterall he is a widower now, but Queen Camilla? Give me a Break! Note: Since this publication, Charles and Camilla have married. Whether anyone from the palace wants to admit it, Camilla now is the Princess of Wales and will be 'Queen consort' once Charles is King. It is amazing Charles couldn't defy the Queen and everyone else in 1973 and marry Camilla back then. I know one young Lady Di who would have been much happier if he had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Let's be hones!!!

    I found it really hard to read, when we are all aware of how C and C tried to manipulate Diana for most of her married life. Yes C and C are obviously in love, but as the previous poster wrote...at what expense? How cruel to use a young woman for their purpose. I'm sure Diana wasn't the easist person to live with, but we all know why. Each side claim the other was at fault for the breakdown of the marriage. However C admits he always loved Camilla. In this day and age how many wives would sit back and live under those circumstances. I wish that someone would pen a book and call a spade a spade, C and C acted disgracefully, but now that Diana is dead they don't want to upset the POW. Now the public is suppose to accept that they...Love each other..so all is well? Camilla to become Queen, it is a disgrace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    dumping on diana

    the book was interesting and yes it was a love story. both charles and camilla do belong together. but, at what cost. the book was full of dislike for diana. so she seemed to be not the easiest person to live with, but then what about charles? he always said that he would never dump on the mother of his children and that is exactly what he has done in this book,so as camilla.it was alright for him to give an interview and admit to adultery with camilla,but it wasn't right for diana. she deserved love and she wasn't getting it from charles,he was preoccupied with camilla. so she did the same as charles. the firm didn't really know what they had while she was alive. things may have been different if charles had given her the loyalty that she deserved,instead he gave his everything to camilla. this book must have been hard for his two sons as well. they knew what she was like,but, to see their father put in writing and admit he never loved her, How do they feel about that. I am in favor of the monarchy, but if camilla is to become queen then i will switch to republic like a lot of other people will. Why didn't they release this book when she was alive and, not wait until she had died.i do hope that they are happy but the people will always remember diana. it is really true love to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1