Customer Reviews for

A Camping Spree with Mr. Magee

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

highly recommend.

My granddaughter loved this book. It is just long enough to keep the attention of a 2 yr old.

posted by dittoMY on December 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too dark to read

I have the Nook Tablet and this book is so dark it is just too hard to read. I also had hoped my grandaughter could read it on my old iPad instead of using my Nook but it doesn't work on the iPad, wish I had known that before I bought it. Story is really cute.

posted by 10925310 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend.

    My granddaughter loved this book. It is just long enough to keep the attention of a 2 yr old.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    another favorite by Van Dusen

    My 3 year-old daughter loves the Van Dusen books, and "A Camping Spree" is no exception. Wonderful illustrations, magical prose, and a funny story that is just the right length for her. I also highly recommend "The Circus Ship" and "If I Built a Car" by the same author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Too dark to read

    I have the Nook Tablet and this book is so dark it is just too hard to read. I also had hoped my grandaughter could read it on my old iPad instead of using my Nook but it doesn't work on the iPad, wish I had known that before I bought it.

    Story is really cute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Rhyming, rhythmic, easy to ready, and a great adventure

    This book, like the other Magee stories, is a great one to add to your library. A simple camping trip gone awry. Great bedtime story. Keeps their attention and the rhyming keeps them thinking ahead for the rhyming word. Mr. Magee is just your good ole boy who finds himself, along with his dog, Dee, in a camping mishap. Never a dull moment and the story rolls along right until the ending. You will not be disappointed if you are looking for a fun, simple, story. This will be on our shelves forever.
    I don't think you can go wrong with Chris Van Dusen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Great

    My son and i love these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Fabulously Fun book for the whole family!

    I think I adore this book as much as my 3 year old son does! I feel that way about all Chris Van Dusen books, so I guess 'A Camping Spress with Mr. Magee' falls right in line with the rest. The writing is fresh, witty and rhythmic...so much fun to read and listen to. It puts you on the edge of your seat (bed, carseat...wherever you might be reading this adoreable book) as they go over waterfalls, escape from bears - a true camping adventure that children as young as 2, and probably as old as 10 or 11, can enjoy. My son's preschool has this book and it is a big hit with girls and boys alike, between the ages of 2 and 5. It is perfect for bedtime, roadtrips, anytime - I cannot say enough good things about this book and how much my family and I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun book to read

    Loved this book and had to buy it as well as Van Duesen's additional book Down to the Sea with Mr Magee. Both are fun to read again and again. Illustrations are cute as well. My child is 5 and she loves both books!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun with Mr. Magee

    Whether you are a fan of camping, dogs, kitzchy trailers...or not...you can't help but love this engaging story with it's retro-ish illustrations and clever prose. We also love "If I Built a Car" and hope Mr. Van Dusen will write and illustrate more books soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    A find for sure!

    I picked up this book by the title and my 3 year old twins love it. I really enjoy the illustrations and hope to see more works like this from this illustrator/author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Dee and Magee are Quite the Comical Team!

    We have owned this book for a few years now and it's definitely gotten it use! As a Mother, I picked out this book because it caught my eye. It is the only book in my kids' library that I consider my very own! I read it to my girls' classes at school and everyone enjoys it year after year! :'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Great Book!

    My 3 1/2 year old son (who has a love for adventure) asks to hear this story over and over. The pictures are wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2003

    Magnificent Magee!

    I am a third grade teacher in Maine and Chris Van Dusen came to our town to talk with my students about his newest Mr. Magee book. He is as great as his books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    Irresistable!

    This is our new favorite book! Coloful, vivid, hillarious illustrations paired with an exciting adventure make this the perfect kid's book. Mr. Magee and Dee are endearing characters who can't seem to stay our of trouble! My kids love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Highly recommend

    We have four books written by Chris Van Dusen and they are my grandson's favorite books. This book is especially his favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    highly recommended

    This book has a camping theme with a rhyming pattern. We used it to tie in with a camping theme reading night at our elementary school. Illustrations are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    We love Chris Van Dusen! This and all his books are fun to read

    We love Chris Van Dusen! This and all his books are fun to read and the art work is fantastic. We love them as much as our kids do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Love this one, too!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2