BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Can We Live 150 Years?: Your Body Maintenance Handbook

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

This book is a treasure

I bought this book following the advice of a friend of mine. I was complaining about constant pain below my right shoulder-blade. It was bothering me for months and it got to the point that even such simple task as combing my hair could not be done without a pain. Follo...
I bought this book following the advice of a friend of mine. I was complaining about constant pain below my right shoulder-blade. It was bothering me for months and it got to the point that even such simple task as combing my hair could not be done without a pain. Following my friend's suggestion I used liver cleansing therapy as described in Chapter Six with the use of lemon juice and olive oil. It wasn't a pleasant procedure but very rewarding. I was surprised by the amount of 'sand' that came out when I went to the bathroom the next morning. I gained a lot of energy and the pain under mine arm miraculously disappeared(!) Although I am 52, but I feel again young and vigorous. Last winter the skin on my hands started braking. The healing process took weeks whenever it happened. As suggested by the author, I drank a remedy of boiled flax seeds for two weeks. The wounds healed and my hands are clean and painless... My husband loves me the way I am, and I am not very much concerned about losing weight. However I followed the author's advice about proper food combination. It wasn't easy to get rid of French fries that usually accompanied my meat dishes. But for the health sake I replaced them with variety of salads. I lost over 10 pounds within a few weeks without ever trying to do so. I guess it is the result of my new eating habits and proper food combination. I do visit my doctor for the occasional check up, and I find it a very important and useful part of my healthy lifestyle that I have adopted. But I did learn from this book that to be healthy means for me first of all to maintain my body on my own. My doctor is a good friend of mine. He also became interested in this book once I told him the story about curing the pain below my right shoulder-blade. The author puts a lot of emphasis on body cleansing, especially the liver cleansing. He presents a few methods of liver cleansing - from the most radical one to a few easy ones. I chose the most radical but fast one (two days). It was uncomfortable but worked amazingly well.

posted by Anonymous on October 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Difficult to Separate Fact and Fiction...It is ridiculous

There are several sections in this book, which just undermined the entire message: APPENDIX E: 'The health of our skin is influenced by zodiac signs....' Dr. Tomba then goes on to discuss the various signs such as, ' ARIES - The skin of an Aries is predisposed to inflam...
There are several sections in this book, which just undermined the entire message: APPENDIX E: 'The health of our skin is influenced by zodiac signs....' Dr. Tomba then goes on to discuss the various signs such as, ' ARIES - The skin of an Aries is predisposed to inflammations and pus formation. Being impatient, people born under this sign damage the skin on their faces while trying to remove every new little pimple...' It is ridiculous to believe that every Aries is impatient or damages their skin! Appendix D states that 'small ears' are an external warning sign of 'to (misspelled) much tension on the body and fatigue.' Small ears are a genetic trait. Period. Another section on page 145 states that, 'Our appearance is a reflection of our health, ' which sounded reasonable to me UNTIL I read that ' our eyes are not only a reflection of our physical health they also indicate certain traits of our character.' 'GREEN EYES indicate a sensitive and vulnerable personality. People with green eyes are highly dependable. They always crave for love and return love with unconditional dedication.' So now we are using EYE COLOR to predict the character traits of individuals?? Statements such as the above are simply not rational. Although many of his statements seemed to be 'folk remedies' Quite frankly, I couldn't separate 'fact from fiction'

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    This book is a treasure

    I bought this book following the advice of a friend of mine. I was complaining about constant pain below my right shoulder-blade. It was bothering me for months and it got to the point that even such simple task as combing my hair could not be done without a pain. Following my friend's suggestion I used liver cleansing therapy as described in Chapter Six with the use of lemon juice and olive oil. It wasn't a pleasant procedure but very rewarding. I was surprised by the amount of 'sand' that came out when I went to the bathroom the next morning. I gained a lot of energy and the pain under mine arm miraculously disappeared(!) Although I am 52, but I feel again young and vigorous. Last winter the skin on my hands started braking. The healing process took weeks whenever it happened. As suggested by the author, I drank a remedy of boiled flax seeds for two weeks. The wounds healed and my hands are clean and painless... My husband loves me the way I am, and I am not very much concerned about losing weight. However I followed the author's advice about proper food combination. It wasn't easy to get rid of French fries that usually accompanied my meat dishes. But for the health sake I replaced them with variety of salads. I lost over 10 pounds within a few weeks without ever trying to do so. I guess it is the result of my new eating habits and proper food combination. I do visit my doctor for the occasional check up, and I find it a very important and useful part of my healthy lifestyle that I have adopted. But I did learn from this book that to be healthy means for me first of all to maintain my body on my own. My doctor is a good friend of mine. He also became interested in this book once I told him the story about curing the pain below my right shoulder-blade. The author puts a lot of emphasis on body cleansing, especially the liver cleansing. He presents a few methods of liver cleansing - from the most radical one to a few easy ones. I chose the most radical but fast one (two days). It was uncomfortable but worked amazingly well.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Something for Everyone

    There is something for everyone in this book. It is packed with information about body cleansing, treatment of obesity and other common ailments, proper nutrition, proper breathing techniques, taking care of your back, and much more. It is very comprehensive and compact. In fact a little too compact for my eyes - it would be easier to read if the letters were bigger. I wouldn't mind if it was published in four or five hundred pages, or even in two different volumes. <BR/><BR/>You will find in the book many good alternatives to visiting your physician with a small disorder or inconvenience as we often tend to do. An example -- drink a raspberry tea, instead of taking aspirin. Among all the plentiful advice you will also come across some that you might want to take with a grain of salt, but if you approach it with an open mind you will certainly find a lot of useful recommendations. <BR/><BR/>I happen to disagree with the author on some issues. Specifically, in my opinion the calculation of life expectancy seems to be based on some wrong assumption, but my goal is not to live 150 years anyway... However, after you separate the grain from chaff and ignore all the elements that you consider too difficult or impractical, you will still be left with a lot of useful guidance that will help you lead healthier life. <BR/><BR/>The liver cleansing routine does require two full days of total devotion to your own self. It is not pleasant, either, as you first need to fasten for over a day, and then you need to drink alternatively olive oil and lemon juice. It is not easy, but it is very rewarding. I felt very much rejuvenated after cleansing of my liver. The good news is that you do not need to do it more often than twice a year. <BR/><BR/>The author also suggests fasting at least a few days a month. Not as a means to losing weight, but as a self-cleansing routine. Alternatively, if you prefer the easy way, take sauna each few days... By the way, the author also suggest an alternative, easy way of liver cleansing with the help of apple juice, but my experience tells me that "the easy solutions" most of the time don't bring about as good results as "doing it the hard way". And so on, and so forth... <BR/><BR/>To summarize: It is a good book, just pick up what you find useful and ignore the stuff that does not suit you. There is something for everyone. It's a very much recommended title.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Can We Live 150 Years?: Your Body Maintenance Handbook

    This book change my life. I was trouble sleeping, I was sweating a lot at night and I was getting up a few times each night to go to the washroom. I was getting up very tired and my energy level was very low. A friend of mine suggested reading the book. After I got hold of it I performed my liver cleansing and I started applying the food combination rules as outlined by the author of the book. I also did one week fasting, got rid of my overeating routine and of my cravings for coffee and the unhealthy fried foods. I also cut on my sugar intake. All that thanks to the simple advice I found in that book. I feel like I am 20 years younger. I have a lot of energy and I am again getting excited about new projects that I am going to do in my life. All that was lost to me before reading the book. Thank you Dr. Tombak for your simple but yet so great advice. This book should be in each home! It is the health bible.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Can We Live 150 Years?: Your Body Maintenance Handbook

    This book is excellent! I found especially helpful the chapter about Obesity - its common causes and the ways of dealing with it. I also liked the chapters about spine and cleansing. The remedies are great, cheap and easy to prepare. A lot of excellent health advice comes from the old remedies from the East. My husband, who works as a nurse for over twenty years, fully supports my opinion about this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Can We Live 150 Years?: Your Body Maintenance Handbook

    If you care about your health and longevity this book is for you. The author provides a number of simple solutions for body cleansing, proper food combination, changing eating habits and a lot more. All of that results in losing weight and rejuvenating your body. This is probably the best body manual I have ever come across.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Can We Live 150 Years?: Your Body Maintenance Handbook

    This is a perfect guide to keeping yourself in the best condition and health. Simple but GREAT advice on losing weight and keeping it off. Everyone must read this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Simple and Effective Solutions

    If you are looking for a simple and effective solutions to your health problems look no more! This is the ultimate holistic living guide. From correct breathing, through taking care of your back, to proper food combination, the author provides natural recipes for everyday living. The words are direct, awakening and motivating, causing you to start taking care of yourself. <BR/><BR/>Very important for me was chapter six - Complete Body Cleansing. The liver cleansing is really very rejuvenating. You have to prepare for the procedure a few days earlier by appropriately changing your diet. The liver cleansing itself takes two full days of total concentration on your own body. It is not pleasant but it is very rewarding. After it was over I felt like a newborn. Somehow it also pushed me to improve my eating habits. <BR/><BR/>Also very good is the chapter about obesity. Without complicating the matter, like many other authors tend to do, the author very effectively deals with the subject in one short chapter. He explains the reasons behind ineffectiveness of most popular dieting programs and suggests simple ways for dealing with the most common habits that lead us to gaining weight. PAINLESS AND EFFECTIVE! <BR/><BR/>Very helpful is also the chart on proper food combination. Applying the simple rules from the chart after my liver cleansing keeps me feel youthful and energetic, and I keep losing weight week after week. <BR/><BR/>No one before has motivated me so well. Just follow the simple advice for a month or two and you will see the difference. You will feel better and you will look better. What else do you need?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Can We Live 150 Years?: Your Body Maintenance Handbook

    This is a book for open minded people who are willing to take care of their bodies and be responsible for their own health. The amount of information for treating oneself right is just overwhelming. The author provides sound solutions for improving one's health and longevity. This is truly a Body Manual. Try it for yourself!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Almost Perfect How-to Book

    I think the main value of this book is that it will help people to wake up and take charge of their health. Research the things the author mentions that resonate with you. Add some regular exercise and healthy foods. Eliminate fast food, all sodas, refined sugars, microwave dinners, artificially sweeteners, hormone milk, potato chips, cheap bread, anything fried, etc. You have more control over your health than you realize. Compare the cost of changing some of your habits to how expensive a trip to the hospital is, or lost wages due to being sick and not being able to work. Maybe it's not a perfect how-to book, but it's close to it. It is a start, and a start is all you need. If you get this book (or similar), may it start you on a healthier and happier life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    One of the greatest books I have ever read

    This book contains probably the most comprehensive collection of health recommendations I have ever come across. From proper nutrition, via proper breathing and exercising, to home made health recipes. It is especially helpful for all those trying to lose weight and keep it off. I highly recommend it to everyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am usually very skeptical about various claims that can be found in the books written by many 'self-healers' and other gurus. The author however, does not over-promise in any chapter of his book, in spite of its catchy title. It is a good compilation of safe-and-sound recommendations for longevity and healthy living. I did smile at some of them (walking bare footed, etc.) but even if I do not believe in their direct benefits, they might still bring about good results for those who do believe (placebo effect). In any case, none of the recommendations can in any way be harmful as most of the remedies contain products used by many of us on a daily basis. Other advice, like proper food combination, periodic fasting, taking hot and cold baths, using sauna, drinking pure mineral water, taking daily walks, etc, are just common sense and indeed very beneficial for our mental and physical conditions. By the way, the author clearly states that he is not a medical doctor himself but that he just compiled the wisdom of many nations - from Europe, via Tibet, to old China. As a result, some of the ingredients suggested in certain remedies can be difficult to obtain in North America. For example kefir. It is a dairy product, with well known health benefits, that is very popular in Europe but hardly ever obtainable in the US, except for specialty organic food shops. [...] There are a few Apendices at the end of the book. Some of them are too much on the side of 'New Age' and does not really fit my analitical mind. However it might be of some interest for those who like to believe in astrology, Horoscope etc. I think it is fine to read it as an interesting trivia, especially since this is presented in the Apendices -- clearly outside of the main body of the book. The author was educated as a biologist and chemist, but he devoted his life to studying human body and he is a well known authority on healthy living documented by the fact the he was the head of Center of Health Sciences in Moscow. I do believe that this book will be very beneficial for many people, especially for those jumping from one fad diet to another. As the author rightly pointed out - your health and wellbeing are in your own hands. Many methods and remedies suggested by the author are indeed valuable and effective. They are presented for the reader to explore. Please use them wisely! On the scale of 0 to 10 I give the book 9 points. Highly recommended reading!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Your health and wellbeing are in your own hands

    I am usually very skeptical about various claims that can be found in the books written by many "self-healers" and other gurus. The author however, does not over-promise in any chapter of his book, in spite of its catchy title. <BR/><BR/>It is a good compilation of safe-and-sound recommendations for longevity and healthy living. I did smile at some of them (walking bare footed, etc.) but even if I do not believe in their direct benefits, they might still bring about good results for those who do believe (placebo effect). In any case, none of the recommendations can in any way be harmful as most of the remedies contain products used by many of us on a daily basis. <BR/><BR/>Other advice, like proper food combination, periodic fasting, taking hot and cold baths, using sauna, drinking pure mineral water, taking daily walks, etc, are just common sense and indeed very beneficial for our mental and physical conditions. By the way, the author clearly states that he is not a medical doctor himself but that he just compiled the wisdom of many nations - from Europe, via Tibet, to old China. As a result, some of the ingredients suggested in certain remedies can be difficult to obtain in North America. For example kefir. It is a dairy product, with well known health benefits, that is very popular in Europe but hardly ever obtainable in the US, except for specialty organic food shops. <BR/><BR/>There are a few Apendices at the end of the book. Some of them are too much on the side of "New Age" and does not really fit my analitical mind. However it might be of some interest for those who like to believe in astrology, Horoscope etc. I think it is fine to read it as an interesting trivia, especially since this is presented in the Apendices -- clearly outside of the main body of the book. <BR/><BR/>The author was educated as a biologist and chemist, but he devoted his life to studying human body and he is a well known authority on healthy living documented by the fact the he was the head of Center of Health Sciences in Moscow. I do believe that this book will be very beneficial for many people, especially for those jumping from one fad diet to another. As the author rightly pointed out - your health and wellbeing are in your own hands. <BR/><BR/>Many methods and remedies suggested by the author are indeed valuable and effective. They are presented for the reader to explore. Please use them wisely! On the scale of 0 to 10 I give the book 9 points. Highly recommended reading! Another great book by this author that I also highly recommend is Cure the Incurable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    Get it if you care about your health

    This is a very useful and practical guide to healthy living. If you desire to live healthy get this book, read it and put it into practice. You will be glad you did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Difficult to Separate Fact and Fiction...It is ridiculous

    There are several sections in this book, which just undermined the entire message: APPENDIX E: 'The health of our skin is influenced by zodiac signs....' Dr. Tomba then goes on to discuss the various signs such as, ' ARIES - The skin of an Aries is predisposed to inflammations and pus formation. Being impatient, people born under this sign damage the skin on their faces while trying to remove every new little pimple...' It is ridiculous to believe that every Aries is impatient or damages their skin! Appendix D states that 'small ears' are an external warning sign of 'to (misspelled) much tension on the body and fatigue.' Small ears are a genetic trait. Period. Another section on page 145 states that, 'Our appearance is a reflection of our health, ' which sounded reasonable to me UNTIL I read that ' our eyes are not only a reflection of our physical health they also indicate certain traits of our character.' 'GREEN EYES indicate a sensitive and vulnerable personality. People with green eyes are highly dependable. They always crave for love and return love with unconditional dedication.' So now we are using EYE COLOR to predict the character traits of individuals?? Statements such as the above are simply not rational. Although many of his statements seemed to be 'folk remedies' Quite frankly, I couldn't separate 'fact from fiction'

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    A Book Everyone Should Own

    Very informative, common sense approach, easy to comprehend. I found the book so interesting that I had to finish the same day.I found the recipes for body cleansing especially helpful. Next day I bought 3 books for my friends. I recommended this book to everybody who cares about their health.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    Absolutely the BEST!!

    Tombaks books are an easy read with an easy understanding of how our body works and how to care for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    Can We Live 150 Years

    Very usefull

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is filled with some of the silliest remedies I have ever seen. The color of your eyes means this, The diameter of your ears means that. This is just plain silly. I wonder if the people who wrote these pos. revies read the same book I did. This is nothing but snake oil and carnival tricks. AVOID!!AVOID!!AVOID!!x150

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2