BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Can You Get Hooked on Lip Balm?

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Violet

You judt scarred me... is it THE grumpy cat? The cat with de smooshed fce?

posted by 3599769 on January 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

interesting title

Of all the products we use on a daily basis, the ones with the most chemicals tend to be the ones we place on our bodies. Companies have marketed all sorts of products to help us not to sweat, hide or lose wrinkles, clean our teeth, and improve our view of our appearanc...
Of all the products we use on a daily basis, the ones with the most chemicals tend to be the ones we place on our bodies. Companies have marketed all sorts of products to help us not to sweat, hide or lose wrinkles, clean our teeth, and improve our view of our appearance. Many Americans never spend a moment wondering about how those products may affect their health. However, most potential customers will have at least contemplated whether those products will actually deliver what they say and whether the more costly products are worth the extra expense.

Perry Romanowski's new book, Can You Get Hooked on Lip Balm? strives to answer some of those questions. A quick and easy read, the book successfully manages to take a critical look as to whether or not products deliver what they claim: a yes and no answer. They deliver what they claim. However, their careful words don't claim to do what most consumers believe.

Initially intrigued by the title of the book, I was disappointed that the book had very little science in it. Concerns about what chemicals we place on our body were pushed to the side, with a wave of the hand and a claim that obviously all of these products have been tested and are therefore safe.

I recommend the book for those curious about whether or not to purchase name brand or store brand products. However, if you are looking for a more informed consumer knowledge base of what you place on yoru body, this isn't the book.

Disclaimer: A complimentray copy of the book was provided by Harlequin

posted by LivingPeacefully on March 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    HI.

    ADD AN ARMY OF CATES I WILL DIE IF THIS DOESNT HAPPEN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Zack

    What about total drama??? Oh yeah add bart and homer from the simpsons and add stewie brian and peter from family guy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Violet

    You judt scarred me... is it THE grumpy cat? The cat with de smooshed fce?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    interesting title

    Of all the products we use on a daily basis, the ones with the most chemicals tend to be the ones we place on our bodies. Companies have marketed all sorts of products to help us not to sweat, hide or lose wrinkles, clean our teeth, and improve our view of our appearance. Many Americans never spend a moment wondering about how those products may affect their health. However, most potential customers will have at least contemplated whether those products will actually deliver what they say and whether the more costly products are worth the extra expense.

    Perry Romanowski's new book, Can You Get Hooked on Lip Balm? strives to answer some of those questions. A quick and easy read, the book successfully manages to take a critical look as to whether or not products deliver what they claim: a yes and no answer. They deliver what they claim. However, their careful words don't claim to do what most consumers believe.

    Initially intrigued by the title of the book, I was disappointed that the book had very little science in it. Concerns about what chemicals we place on our body were pushed to the side, with a wave of the hand and a claim that obviously all of these products have been tested and are therefore safe.

    I recommend the book for those curious about whether or not to purchase name brand or store brand products. However, if you are looking for a more informed consumer knowledge base of what you place on yoru body, this isn't the book.

    Disclaimer: A complimentray copy of the book was provided by Harlequin

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    The Whisperer

    Yay!!!! More ATLA! Toph is my fave character!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Operation: Crossover 3-- Chapter 6

    ((Yeah...why Isn't there a roleplay?? Da<_>mmit, I intend start one! After I'm done with this series, of course.))<p>Vanellope motioned silently for her friends to follow her behind a small shrubbery. One by one, Yu, Finn, Jake, Patomon, Spike and Robyn crawled after her.<p>The team had opted to go after Pe<_>dobear's secret headquarters, while the Misfit Memes took on Nyan Cat. If both squads did their job well, then Grumpy Cat would be a piece of cake to finish.<p>Pe<_>dobear's HQ was a large, white building on the side of a mountain, lush with vegetation. The sun glared off of the tinted glass windows with unnatural intensity.<p>The team silently slipped through the revolving door, and into the lobby. It was an antique affair, with a rich green carpet on the floor, marble walls, and gorgeous antique busts everywhere. The team snuck through the fancy room silently, and made their way to the back.<p>Through a pair of unthematic double doors was a long, dimly-lit hallway. Before Vanellope could go trapsing down the empty hall, Spike stopped her. He motioned to the two sets of security cameras, scanning the hall for intuders.<p>Spike moved in front of Vanellope, and before the security cam could turn to see him, he melted it with a bst of his green fire. He repeated the process with the other cameras, and the whole team continued as before, albeit more cautiously.<p>Once they were through a few other dimly-lit rooms with various types of security, from motion-sensors to robot guards, the Team emerged in a much larger room, filled with cages. In each cage resided either a various meme, or a little girl under the age of 10. One meme, a chubby looking toddler with a yellow jacket and a bottle of bubbles, took one look at the crew and smiled. Other girls began to shake the bars of their cages, demanding release.<p>"Please, quiet down!! I promise we'll release you all!!" Jake said as he shifted into a stairwell for Finn to climb. One by one, each padlocked cage was opened with a swift slice of Finn's sword.<p>Once all the girls and memes had quieted down a little, Vanellope asked Patomon. "Is that everyone?" On little girl shook her head. "Nope. There's one more girl in the back. She got a special cage. I don't know why, though." The little girl pointed towards a single wooden door all the way in the back. Finn nodded. "I'll get her. Come on, Jake." And they ran through the door together.<p>Inside the door was a massive room, twice as big as the last room. Most of the room was a large, indented lake, filled with water. All the way in the middle of the room, was a wooden cage that dangled low from the celing on a wooden chain. In the cage sat a furious looking girl.<p>She wore a rather fancy looking green shirt with a cream shirt ontop, and green silk pants. She had her raven-black hair up in a large bun on the back of her head, held there by a green beret. She had very pale skin, and for some reason, wore no shoes at all. Her face was hidden from Finn and Jake, as she was facing the other way.<p>Jake shrugged and waved his hand. "Hey girl! Come on, let's go!!" The girl jumped at Jake's voice and turned around. Her eyes were a very pale grey. "Sure, let me just walk out of my cage here..." she said, voice dripping with sarcasm. <p>"Oh yeah. Mybad." Finn said, hopping onto Jake's back as he elongated to reach the cage. Once the lock had been slashed and the girl brought back to land, the girl grinned.<p>"Finally!! Sweet earth! My name's Toph."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Silber

    Wha--+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Cold~Fusion

    Dibs on Pedobear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Epicness

    Keep going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Yellowstar

    I wonder why we are yelling at he poor man to add characters instead of yelling at him to continue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Informative

    Very informative in an easy to read format.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1