Customer Reviews for

Can You Keep a Secret?

Average Rating 4.5
( 1297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(713)

4 Star

(379)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

One advice: Don't read the book outdoors.

Like my headline: Don't read the book outdoors(Although I enjoyed reading it outside). I am a student. I bring my book to park, library, and of course to school. I always laugh out loud. People will turn their heads and will give me a this-kid-is-really-crazy-so-we-must...
Like my headline: Don't read the book outdoors(Although I enjoyed reading it outside). I am a student. I bring my book to park, library, and of course to school. I always laugh out loud. People will turn their heads and will give me a this-kid-is-really-crazy-so-we-must-stay-away-from-him look. now you know why I said don't bring it outside! This book is not just a book written to make someone happy. This book is a perfect entertainment in a bind form. This is my very first book from Sophie Kinsella, Since then, I've started loving her books. Every time I see her books on Barnes and Noble, I totally go "I must have a copy". And now that I'm in book 3 of the shopaholic series, I have a faith in every Sophie Kinsella's book that it will never ever disappoint me.

posted by bczwr2 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great start, slow middle, and fairly good ending

This book had a great start. It was funny and set the stage for a really good story. As my anticipation grew, I found myself a little disappointed with the development of the story. It slowed down, not quite as hilarious, almost whinny. Where I initially liked the m...
This book had a great start. It was funny and set the stage for a really good story. As my anticipation grew, I found myself a little disappointed with the development of the story. It slowed down, not quite as hilarious, almost whinny. Where I initially liked the main characters, I kind of didn't care as much about them halfway through. Instead of the main character growing up on her own, she needed Jack's push and shove. I liked flaws in characters, but this one was too weak and her turning point just didin't satisfy me. Jack's obsure background until near the end of the book didn't help in getting me to like him because I didn't know him (which was probably the point). Their romance didn't affect me; the ending was a good closure to highlight the author's message about honesty. Overall, it had laugh out loud moments and a good message, but the characters and their romance were just okay.

posted by risuena on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 139 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Don't buy the audio book

    The story was good but the reader's voice drove me up the wall! It was so whiny and nasal-y. I'm getting chills just thinking about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but not Kinsella's best

    This was a really quick read for me.
    I love Kinsella's writing style but this one was just a little boring for my taste. It didn't really get good until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    relateable

    I bought this book on CD because I'm taking grad courses and I have a long commute to classes. It was really good to listen to. The story line has been done before, but there are humorous aspects all over the book. It is pretty predictable but I enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Not a great book

    This book is good if you're looking to read something light and not so serious. I found the characters to be quite immature and annoying. The story did not have as much substance, quality and meaning to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Very Average Chick Lit

    I have just been introduced to 'chick lit' and thought that this one might be enjoyable, reading all the numerous 5 star reviews however, while it was cute, it wasn't by any means 5 star material! I think that pretty much ALL the characters were under developed. The reader doesn't get a real sense of who any of these character are. I also think that the relationship between Emma and Jack is also VERY under developed. So they have two horrible dates and suddenly they are madly in love?? Give me a break. I also found myself saying many times throughout the book, yeah, right, like that would really happen. Some times her writing went a bit over board and like someone else mentioned in their review, why would you tell a complete stranger all the little, embarassing details about yourself just because you think that your plane is going down. And who would sit there and listen to all of it, not saying a word??? A bit farfetched, ya know? All and all, it was a quick, light read that consumed my time when I had nothing better to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Light-hearted read

    I liked this book okay, in the sense that I finished it. But after I read it, I realized there was a lot about the book that didn't fit together or that was unbelievable. Anyway, it's a light-hearted whimsical read. Don't expect too much out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Fun Light Read

    I loved this funny and witty book. I hope someone will turn it into a chic flic. This is a fun light read for when you need a break from serious literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Just Okay

    This book was good. But not as good as the shopoholic sereis. In addition, the author did not have to use volgar language to write the story. It just was not appropriate. I am disappointed. I looked forward to this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    Becky Bloomwood wanna be at best

    I loved Becky Bloomwood in the Shopaholic Series as everyone else has stated before me. However this is a thinly veiled alternate plot for Becky Bloomwood that she probably scrapped in the begininng. Im not being a harsh critic, Im just calling it like I see it. Very funny book by the way--but too many similarities: does every British woman get involved with her boss? Have financial issues? Have a roommate for God's sake? Probably not, so if Ms Kinsella reads this: advice--dont cubby hole your characters, you're sure to alienate your fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Fizzled out

    I loved the shopoholic series and eagerly awaited this book's release. It started out great, but about 2/3 through it started to fizzle out, which was a little disappointing. Still a good read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    Predictable

    I have read all three Shopaholic books (the first one was definitely my favorite), and was thrilled to read Kinsella's latest novel with a new heroine, Can You Keep a Secret? It was alright for me. Emma was a lot like Becky, in my opinion: a little juvenile, somewhat immature, impulsive, silly, etc. She also had a best friend who was like Becky's best friend. Jack mirrored Luke. Also, I felt the story was very predictable. Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy this book nearly so much as I enjoyed the Shopaholic books. Oh, well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 139 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7